The Cloths of Heaven 15: the centre completed

Yay! The hardest part is done.

Completed centre

Star brightI have got through all the hand stitching and quilting in one piece, a bit sore in the hands but hugely satisfied at how my internal vision of this quilt is being realised. So often my imagination outstrips my skills and results are clumsy or dull. This one is making me very happy – so far!

Fabrics for bordersThe next step is to cut all the squares for the panels that surround the central square. The colour scheme is going to be expanding, to incorporate eggplant, burgundy, dark cerise and purple into the existing green and blue colourway. The colours of the squares will be randomly distributed, but will tend to get darker towards the outer edge. On the outer edge of each surround panel will be the yoyo/suffolk puff borders. Quilting for these outer sections is going to be simple and quite plain. There is no image to enhance with the texture of hand quilting, and I don’t want it to distract from the colour work and image in the centre, so I’ll probably go with my favourite machine stitched cross hatching, or something equally plain.

Making the yoyos is going to be quite a labour. I have to make some samples to work out their coverage before I’ll know how many will be wanted, but the border is 6 inches wide all the way round, and I’m thinking that’s equivalent to 3 yoyos deep. I do have a clever plastic thingy made by Clover which is designed to make yoyo manufacturing a lot easier, so I look forward to testing it out.

Right, time to go and get pressing.  I may even need a couple more fabrics – oh no! what a tragedy: I’ll have to go shopping!

26 thoughts on “The Cloths of Heaven 15: the centre completed

  1. Fab-u-lous. Bon courage for the piecing. I’m looking forward to more progress reports!

  2. Really beautiful.
    An aside: looking at all the text reminded me of the chap who lives near Rob, who spent an entire day meticulously painting in bright yellow on the tar outside his driveway…”NO PAKING”.
    So glad that didn’t happen to you.

    • katechiconi says:

      Hee hee! I did everything I could to avoid that problem, writing it all out full size on a paper template before tracing it onto the fabric. Two opportunities to check and make sure I hadn’t made any mistakes.

  3. tialys says:

    I can’t remember seeing anything you’ve made that could be called clumsy or dull but I suppose you might keep some things hidden from us. I know I do!! Love the colours you’ve chosen for the surround – they’ll be making quite an impact.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s been a while since I was really disappointed with something, but often there’s just a little wish I could have done it better.
      There will still be a majority of blues and greens, but with pings of the brighter colours to make it sparkle a bit.

  4. rutigt says:

    You are really working hard on this one, aren´t you!! And it seems to have paid out. It is looking soooo great so far and I guess the borders are gonna look great as well 🙂

  5. knitnkwilt says:

    You do so much better at sticking to one project than I do! This one is looking good. I do like the sparkle you mentioned adding to the stars. Do you do real random or carefully planned “random”? I can’t give up control enough to do the real thing.

  6. claire93 says:

    I am loving watching this grow

  7. Grannymar says:

    I cannot wait to see the final finished work. It becomes more amazing with each new stage.

  8. anne54 says:

    Oh Kate, it is looking beautiful! And I can see all those ivy leaves peeking in too. Even though there are lots of yo yos they will be good to do as they will make a good change in skill. I have one of those gizmos and they make it quite easy. 🎄

  9. I like my clever plastic Clover thingamabobs, so I hope they work for you too. That is a lot of yo-yos!

  10. It’s magnificent!!! Bravo! (Can’t wait to see the next bit!)

    P.S. I saw your comment about snapping thread when pulling up the Suffolk Puff and wondered whether polyester thread would be better? That’s what I always use when something needs strong thread as it’s so much stronger than cotton.
    P.P.S. Happy Christmas!

  11. EllaDee says:

    Upon Google searching, quilting yoyos are what I thought they were. This quilt is amazing, and a lot of work. I’m very appreciative that you took time out to make a gift for me and the G.O. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Making it gave me a good reason for a time out. I have a strong tendency to mono-focus on things, and it’s not good to be so obsessive. Besides, I enjoy paper piecing and wanted to see if I could make the teapot and cups. Having found the patterns, you were the obvious recipients!

  12. […] Quilts completed in 2015: Worldwide Friends: hand stitched & quilted, queen size The AHQ Corporal’s Quilt: machine stitched & quilted, bunk size Aimée for my sister: machine stitched & quilted, lap size Truck Quilt for the Husband: machine stitched & quilted, large lap size Bookcase Quilt for my niece: machine stitched & quilted, lap size Bulldogs Quilt for a birthday: machine stitched & quilted, queen size The start of The Cloths of Heaven […]

Leave a Reply

