ScrapHappy December

Wow, I almost missed it!

I’ve been hard at work sewing (nothing I can show yet) and the 15th of the month has crept up without me noticing. Once again, it’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

Sewn

Finished – just in time!

Unsewn

Waiting to be sewn up

It’s another postage stamp block – there should have been two, but the secret sewing has gobbled up all my time and I only managed to get one finished and one placed and ready for sewing. I now have a purpose for all these fun blocks. They are going to become a lap quilt for my friend Dale of Ella Dee, who has just taken a courageous but empowering plunge into a quieter life in the country after years in the city. She and her other half are now living in a gorgeous old house with wide, gracious verandahs and a fabulous view, 30kms from the nearest shop, post office or other urban amenity. It’ll get a bit chilly in the winter in her new home, so I reckon a nice snuggly quilt will be a very necessary addition to her household.

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps – no new fabrics. It can be a random or formal quilt block, a pillow or pincushion, a bag or hat, a collage or rag rug. Anything made of scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address shown on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. You don’t have to worry about a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance whether you’ll have something to show.

Linking with

Gun at https://rutigt.wordpress.com (in Swedish and English)

Susan at https://desertskyquilts.wordpress.com (in English)

Titti at http://tittisquiltlek.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

Annett at https://knettycraft.wordpress.com (In German and English)

 

14 thoughts on “ScrapHappy December

  1. Your scrap quilts are nice and practical. I hope to make some scraps soon. 😉

  2. nettyg says:

    Darn, it snuck up on me, I thought I’d be ready to be scrap happy this month, had a project in my head and all….next month!

  3. tialys says:

    What gorgeous bright colours. I’m making a postage stamp block into a little cushion for my French sewing buddy who has a Christmas birthday – well, it’s in December anyway – but I’ve used some new fabrics so it wouldn’t count for scrap happy!

  4. rutigt says:

    I´m glad we remember the day finally 🙂 I´ve been sewing my postage stamps block since last scraphappy and now all my 1.5″ squares are used. Must make more!

  5. lucyannluna says:

    I love the colour combination you get in these strap postage stamp blocks

  6. knettycraft says:

    Love your poststamp blocks! I wouldn’t have been able to sew something this month… but then the little scrappy Santas came in my mind. I made them a few weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

