The Cloths of Heaven 13: the view from the other side

The hand quilting is finished.

I’m going to take a short break from the Cloths of Heaven for other sewing for a few days; the machine will take the strain instead of my hands, which is highly necessary right now.

The back

It’s interesting this way round, isn’t it?  Like a black and white sketch or study for the full colour illustration on the front.  The next thing I’ll post about is the leaves in the corners, but it’ll take a while to get something ready to show you.

Time for a few paper piecing blocks; I have four to get done in the next week…

19 thoughts on “The Cloths of Heaven 13: the view from the other side

  1. pattisj says:

    The back is interesting, too.

  2. I love that fabric, and your quilting is brilliant.

  3. tialys says:

    Well done for breaking through the pain barrier!!
    I’m going to give paper piecing another go now that I’m regaining confidence in my piecing due to the F2F swap. I’m going to volunteer to test one of Esther’s patterns but I will ask her which one is the easiest before I commit.

  4. rutigt says:

    Looking good!!!!!

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    It’s hard to think such beautiful work can cause you pain. Booo!

  6. Grannymar says:

    I love that backing fabric. It reminds me of the delicate floating patterns I saw in my vision during eye surgery a few months ago

  7. Looking gorgeous! I never thought I’d enjoy FPP but I do, all except for the copious amount of scraps it creates.

  8. EllaDee says:

    The back appears liquid like looking into the tropical sea with little eddies moving the surface 🙂

Leave a Reply

