Christmas decorations

Not the tinsel, baubles, angels, wreaths and stars you might be expecting.

My backyard is slowly hanging out its seasonal array. Most gorgeous of all is the lavish scarlet blooming of the poinciana (Delonix regia), which hangs out its starry red pompoms in good time for Christmas. It really is as bright as it seems in the photo below, almost glowing in the sunshine.

I love these decorations. I didn’t have to buy them, or hang them, and I won’t have to take them down when Christmas is over! I don’t have to worry about colour co-ordinating, or arranging them nicely. Nature takes care of Christmas in my backyard…

Poinciana blooming

Decorations 2 Decorations 1

 

 

46 thoughts on “Christmas decorations

  1. nettyg says:

    Here too, the colours are so vivid they almost hurt your eyes. I’m waiting impatiently for my fruit salad frangipanni to bloom, I took it out of it’s big pot and planted it out at the end of last summer, it’s getting lots of leaves so I expect flowers any time soon.

  2. tialys says:

    Off to Lidl to buy my Christmas poinsettia 😉

  3. Oh memories! Flamboyant trees down the middle of the avenue 5th June, frangipannis and poinsettias just about everywhere. Thank you for these lovely pictures.

  4. claire93 says:

    nature has a way of balancing colours so beautifully ^^

  5. anne54 says:

    Here it is the jacaranda that are spectacular. The fallen blossoms look like blue snow — the closest we will get to a white Christmas. I love the vibrant red of your poinciana, and that sweet little blue one.

  6. I think I just figured out why I have colored lights all over my house as long as possible during the holiday season. It is gloomy, rainy and stark outside. Our colored lights keep us from going into a deep funk before our spring returns. I like you decorations better and there is no taking it down and storing it for another year to do it all over again. Thanks for sharing the splendor.

  7. Wow lovely blossoms…….

  8. dayphoto says:

    I LOVE your decorations!!! I love them!

    Linda

  9. knitnkwilt says:

    Beautiful! The colors are a lovely contrast to the gray and rainy weather here in the Pacific NW (Portland OR). I’m not really complaining–I don’t have to shovel rain. I like both the brilliant colors and the left one in the second row.

    • katechiconi says:

      If you mean the pink and yellow one, that’s frangipani, and it smells delicious. If you mean the one below it, red bells on red stems, that’s flame tree. At first, I found Christmas in midsummer hard to accept, but these days I’m grateful for warmth, colour and no need to bundle up to go outside!

  10. Verrrry nice. Ever heard of a Congo Cockatoo? I discovered this today, apparently part of the impatiens family. The flower is just extraordinary, your colourful selection reminded me of it.

  11. I can not imagine what it must be like to celebrate Christmas when it is hot ! Your garden looks awesome !

  12. pattisj says:

    Nature does quite a good job all on her own!

  13. Oh, the poinciana is gorgeous!

    • katechiconi says:

      Mine is quite tame by comparison with some around here, which are huge and absolutely plastered with brilliant red gobs of blossom. I feel a trip round the neighbourhood with my camera coming on….

  14. rutigt says:

    Beautiful flowers! So far we have a green lawn, no snow in my parts of the country. It´s very warm outside, still autumn in December! Maybe Santa must change to a vehicle with wheels this Cristmas 🙂

  15. Grannymar says:

    I love your collection of colour, shape and texture in nature’s decorations. As I was driving across country this lunchtime, it was in a monotone of gloom and fog with large striking nude trees in the fields around with only sheep for company.

  16. Jen Gardener says:

    Lovely, Kate! What a clever garden, knowing Christmas is coming 😉

  17. EllaDee says:

    I love the summer colours of trees and blooms. I hadn’t thought of them though as Christmas decorations before but I will now forever more 🙂

  18. Gorgeous. I’m waiting for nature to decorate my yard too — with snow.

  19. Lorij says:

    Your yard looks absolutely happy. And, you sound happy as well. I hope you’re fully recovered and, that you will have a wonderful time with your family this Christmas season, as well as all of the people who read your blog.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m looking forward to the festive season, due in no small part to the fact that I won’t be stuck in the kitchen most of the time! A very happy Christmas to you and yours also.

Leave a Reply

