The Cloths of Heaven 11: silvery moonlight

I’ve nearly done with the silver thread.

Loud hurrahs all round, it’s a beast to use, very slippery, easily tangled, with a mind of its own and strongly inclined to stretch and fray. But: the effect is really quite lovely.

Quilting the circlesilvery moon moonlight on mountainsThe following photos simply don’t do justice to the pretty twinkle of the informal spiral stitching on the moon and around the edges of the clouds. The same stitching along the tops of the mountains is meant to suggest moonlit silhouettes, not entirely successfully, but still, pretty…

Sadly, the very light that makes the thread shine is what makes the images blow out in the photos. What you see is the best I can manage for the close-ups.

quilting threadsI’ll have the silver outlining finished probably by the end of tonight. After that I’ll be doing the filling in for the clouds in variegated grey, the sky and mountains in dark blue, and the quilting for the blue- green poem circle in a nice dark teal.

It’ll look a lot better when I’ve got the centre quilted and I can take out all the safety pins. Give me a couple of days…

34 thoughts on “The Cloths of Heaven 11: silvery moonlight

  1. This is going to be a championship level quilt when it’s finished.

    • katechiconi says:

      I hope it will be a good quilt for the niece. It has just occurred to me that another of her sisters is visiting Australia in 3 months, and could carry it back for me… I’m going to see if I can ramp up the speed a bit. It would save all that nerve wracking that follows mailing the thing…

  2. I did not realize you were having difficulty with the silver thread. A quilting friend was using some and also struggling. I offered her the use of a product I just bought for use with my embroidery thread called Thread Magic. She shrugged and gave me that look but when she re-threaded the needle, made use of it. The rest of the day was easy sailing and she went to get some of her own before our next meeting. It was my first try at it since my bees wax had all dried out. I think it actually works better. I know it’s too late now but maybe if you try it again. Your work is so stunning that I couldn’t tell you were having any problems.

    • Grannymar says:

      I never heard of Thread Magic, thanks for the tip, I must watch out for it. My bees wax has dried more than my face and needs to dumped – the thread and not the face 😆

    • katechiconi says:

      I have it, thank you! The trouble is, the silver thread is wrapped around a central core, and develops ‘edges’ which seem to dig in and scoop up blobs of the Thread Magic. These are then deposited on the surface of the fabric, which is not a great effect with the dark blue… I tested it, and had to stop. Hence the grump!

  3. Oh that moon! This not-quite-finished quilt is already stunning. I would imagine that the outline on the peaks will be just what you’re hoping for when it’s all completed. Gorgeous.

  4. Grannymar says:

    I see the moon and the moon sees me! The sky is looking fantastic and I have learned something new… Thread Magic.

  5. EllaDee says:

    I think you silver thread efforts will be wonderful in effect when the quilt is in use and the light catches it 🙂

  6. Love seeing the proces of this pretty project. Learning a lot too! 😃 Thank you for describing and discussing the products that you use.
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      I often look at quilts made by other people, and wonder how they were achieved, or how come they could get it right and I couldn’t? So as I was tackling problems along the way, I thought it might be helpful to discuss the problems and how I got past them. It’s good to share!

  7. I imagine the sparkly thread would be hard to photograph. Don’t fret. It is always more important that things look good in real life than in photos.
    (Or so I say, as I always look like a cross-eyed twit in photos.)

  8. tialys says:

    I haven’t used metallic thread very much with hand sewing but I know I found it a complete pain in the sewing machine. It does look lovely though. I didn’t even notice the pins until you said it – at first glance I thought you’d done something tricksy with 3D effects. It’s early…..

  9. katechiconi says:

    It’s not quite as painful by hand, but there’s not a lot in it… Didn’t notice the pins… oh dear, back to bed until you’re fully awake!

  10. Lynda says:

    You’ve made me smile, Kate. I clicked on each picture for a better view, and it was so lovely!

  11. katechiconi says:

    It’s frustrating that it’s so much prettier in real life and I can’t show it to good effect! Perhaps it will behave better when I’m photographing it hung on the design wall…

  12. Oh my, this is gorgeous.

    • katechiconi says:

      Not long now till I have the landscape finished. After that, I have to quilt the poetry circle, then fix down the stems and do the tendrils, stitch on the leaves, and the work is half done! The panels round the outside will be much quicker… except, perhaps, for making dozens and dozens of yoyos!

  13. Lorij says:

    Kate is lovely. Your niece is going to be so proud. It’s so pretty she may not sleep under it and only use it for decoration! I hope you’re well.

  14. Lorij says:

    Should say it is lovely

  15. Kirsten says:

    Twinkle, twinkle, little stars, how pretty you are!
    I know what you mean about metallic thread, nightmare of a thing!

Leave a Reply

