The Cloths of Heaven 9: the ear-worm

All yesterday, this dratted song was playing in my head.

Corner templateTrimmed leaves on templateMy brain changed the words: brown became green, grey became blue.

I have 64 leaves to make, so a music track in my head was helpful to keep me going, but now I can’t get rid of it! Does anyone have any other leaf-making sound tracks to suggest?

Anyway, the template is done, about a third of the leaves are stitched and I’ve got a few cut out. The rest are drawn up, sandwiched and pinned, waiting for another mammoth bout at the sewing machine.

The Husband is off work for the next 4 days, so I’ll be spending most of my time with him instead of my sewing machine. We have a ‘fun’ project in mind: the block of land next door is vacant, owned by a construction company, and they have used it not only for the storage offered by the large shed on site, but also to dump all sorts of oddments of construction material, leftovers, and bits and pieces that make my recycling heart glad and my acquisitive eye gleam. I have sought and received permission from the owners to go in and help myself to whatever I fancy, since it will save him having to cart it away! Woo hoo! Chook house and chook yard fencing, here we come.

It’s quite a labour; much of the stuff is overgrown and tangled, and naturally, we’re doing this in snake season, so despite the soaring temperatures and humidity, we’ll be fully swaddled in heavy duty work clothes, boots, gloves, sunnies and hats. But almost everything we need is there, and I’m sure there’ll be one or two things we don’t actually ‘need’ but which I will grab because I’m sure I’ll be able to think of something to do with them down the track.

Time to go and trim a few more leaves. (Nooooo! not that song again!)

52 thoughts on “The Cloths of Heaven 9: the ear-worm

  1. pattisj says:

    Haha–I wondered what song you were referring to! The only way I’ve found to get rid of an ear worm is to listen to a different song. Hope that works out for you as well as recycling the materials from the lot next door!

  2. Debbierose says:

    Lovely leaves, which song ? Not Simon & Garfunkel sll the leaves are brown 😆😆😆

  3. tialys says:

    ‘Don’t Leave Me This Way’, The Communards – ‘If You Leave Me Now’, Chicago or, more seriously but not exactly ear worm material, ‘Autumn Leaves’, Nat King Cole. Drat, now I’m going to have one of those in my head 😉

  4. I wouldn’t mind that song for a while. I usually find I can get rid of earworms simply be leaving the radio on. The leaves are looking god. Don’t forget to give us photos of the booty…
    love,
    ViV

  5. Leaving on a jet plain
    Maple leaf rag
    … no, that’s it… can’t think of any others that haven’t been mentioned.
    No leaves left on the trees here Storm Barney has blown them all away.

  6. Be careful out there, and don’t overdo. No one needs you worn out and injured, least of all you!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m being cautious; just now I’m having a bit of an arthritis flare up. We’re currently assessing what’s there and what we want, rather than doing the actual hauling.

  7. How about The Holly and The Ivy

  8. Magpie Sue says:

    Do you have poisonous snakes you have to beware of? Or is it just snakes on principle? How wonderful that you’ve been given free access to reusable materials. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      We have several extremely poisonous snakes to worry about, and it’s the season when they’re more active than usual. However, taking sensible precautions as to dress helps, as does making plenty of noise in advance to give them notice. We’re not proposing to destroy their hiding place completely, just remove the most viable construction material. It’s a matter of mutual respect!

  9. Grannymar says:

    I have never seen a snake. Good old St Patrick is supposed to have driven them out of Ireland… the only ones left are a few politicians! 😛 Please may I come and rummage in your neighbour’s field? Your leaves are looking well, kate.

    • katechiconi says:

      Snakes are not fun, especially since there are so many very poisonous ones here. We have municipal snake catchers/relocaters, and if you find one in your house or yard, you can call them to come and take care of the problem.
      I’m happy with those leaves too, they’re more interesting than flat ones, aren’t they?

      • Grannymar says:

        Years ago I made a macramé hanging basket and you guessed it, I made individual ivy leaves which I attached to fine i-cords and trailed them out over the basket, colourful fabric flowers were grouped in the actual basket area. The ivy leaves were my favourite feature of the whole thing.

      • katechiconi says:

        They are elegantly geometric and un-floppy, I love them. I just wish the plant was a little less invasive and destructive.

  10. EllaDee says:

    Has it gone? I don’t want to catch it!
    Notwithstanding the risk of encountering a snake… how wonderful is it that you have a junk heap next door and free range to forage. I’m kermit-like with envy 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      We have done an initial recce and have discovered treasure! Loads of steel roofing, a roll of heavy duty fencing wire, bricks, concrete blocks, fence posts, lengths of guttering, construction timber, poly pipe… the only problem is, the most useful stuff is bang in the middle of Snake Central! We cautiously took photos and retreated till we need to go back in.

  11. Lorij says:

    I know that there’s nothing like good stuff that’s free but, if snakes are involved it would stay there. If you can be sure that none of them are in what you move thenthat might be okay. You and hubby be VERY CAREFUL

  12. have fun with your project !

  13. I cannot think of a suitable leaf-themed ear song to replace your ear worm. Perhaps you can put the ear worm to good use. Sing it aloud when next door. Noise is supposed to scare the snakes away. 🙂

  14. Lynda says:

    OK, now for the technical questions. I keep coming back to look at all those leaves! Did you satin stitch all the borders? I see the white material you are using as your design map. Will it be torn away or washed away? Neither?

    • katechiconi says:

      I traced round card templates of the 4 leaf shapes onto the green shot cotton fabric. I then sandwiched that together with batting and more green fabric for the back, and pinned it. I satin stitched closely round each leaf shape and added a vein or two. After that, I trimmed out close to the stitching line, and put a drop of Fray Stoppa on the start and finish of stitching to hold it all together. The white template is paper, which I placed under the corner sections and on top of my light box, and traced through onto the top fabric to show where the tendrils (in blue) and leaves (in green) are to go. It’s not completely symmetrical, and I have alternated directions around the quilt to avoid making it look a bit samey. The template is marked with Sharpies, so the ink comes through clearly on the back and can be traced on either side.

  15. I nearly caught your ear worm, just from clicking the link (didn’t even press play on the song so it’s obviously very infectious!) – I hope you’ve got rid of it now!

    P.S. I’m afraid I can’t reply to your lovely comments on my blog as Blogger has, in its wisdom, decided to make you a no-reply blogger. If you reply to this comment then I can reply to yours! Hope that’s okay!

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh good! I wondered if Blogger had consigned me to the outer darkness for not belonging. I find I can comment on some using my WordPress ID, but others won’t take the comment unless I used my Gmail ID. It’s all very silly…
      Glad you avoided the earworm plague, I’ve finally got rid of it!

  16. rutigt says:

    Of course it is snake season………I wouldn´t go near the place 🙂 No, I would stick to that leafsewing instead, LOL

Leave a Reply

