ScrapHappy November

Hello again!

Despite world events, life goes on. It’s the 15th of the month again, the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

IMG_3348Look at this piece of scrappy loveliness! The block is called ‘October Sky’, a new pattern designed by Esther of ipatchandquilt, and should now be available in her Craftsy store, in 10 and 12 inch finished sizes. I was lucky enough to get to test it for her, and this is the result, made entirely from scrap fabric – there’s fabrics from at least 5 different quilts, assorted pouches, a recent top and a pair of patchwork curtains in there! There’s an alternate version too, with an economy block centre, perfect for fussy cutting a favourite piece of fabric.

Esther's 6 inch blockThe pattern comes with a bonus 6 inch block as well, and having had a good poke around in my smallest red and blue scraps, I’ve made one of these too! Once it was done, I added a 2 inch white border all round because it made the block a more useful size for me – I don’t use small blocks very much in my quilts. I have yet to decide what to do with it, but it’s so cute and pretty, isn’t it?

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps – no new fabrics. It can be a random or formal quilt block, a pillow or pincushion, a bag or hat, a collage or rag rug. Anything made of scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address shown on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. You don’t have to worry about a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance whether you’ll have something to show.

Linking with

Gun at https://rutigt.wordpress.com (in Swedish and English)

Susan at https://desertskyquilts.wordpress.com (in English)

Titti at http://tittisquiltlek.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

Annett at https://knettycraft.wordpress.com (In German and English)

Sue at http://sewingmagpie.blogspot.com.au (in English)

If I learn of any other participants I will update this post as the information comes in!

 

35 thoughts on “ScrapHappy November

  1. knettycraft says:

    Whohoooo…. I already was keen to see what you would have made out of Esther’s wonderful pattern…. your scrappy version turned out really wonderful! And how clever to use scraps for that complex pattern!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve used some of my favourite tiny scraps, and I really love this block. I have no idea what it’s for, yet, but I think it’ll be a cushion, as it doesn’t go with anything else I’m working on. You should try the little 6″ one, it’s fun, and comes together a lot quicker than the big ones. Back to postage stamp blocks next month, though – I have a quilt to make!

  2. Grannymar says:

    I love the colours of ‘October Sky’, it would work in a frame on the wall!

  3. tialys says:

    You’ve done a great job with Esther’s pattern Kate and the purple, green and turquoise is an unusual but gorgeous combinatiuon.

    • katechiconi says:

      I like the effect – in real life, the green is quite bluish, so it blends quite well visually. The block is really very easy and straightforward to make, so I can see myself making a few more at some stage – they’d make great cushion covers!

  4. rutigt says:

    Your block is great! It´s a very nice design, never seen anything like it before. Now I´m gonna add your links to my post 🙂

  5. claire93 says:

    really gorgeous blocks and yes, the larger one would be great for a cushion!

  6. What a gorgeous block. I haven’t sewn for days, so now you’ve prodded me into going into the workroom to see what I can do with leftovers.

  7. what some people can do with just a few bits of fabric is just amazing !!

  8. Titti says:

    What lovely stare you´ve done. Very pretty!

  9. A gorgeous pattern beautifully executed 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Esther has created a beautiful design – I hope you’ve been over to her blog, she has a whole bunch of different ones by all her testers. The variety is amazing! My paper piecing is much better these days, thanks to all the practice.

  10. What a great idea to create linky party for scrap projects! Your stars are stunning!
    Hugs
    Esther

  11. Esther’s pattern turned out beautifully!

  12. nettyg says:

    Love your star, the dotty mauve is especially delightful. I was going to join in your scrappy day, not sure how it got to be the 15th already! I have been extra busy focusing on having everything spic and span for the pest and building tomorrow, and the “new” owner is coming too to do some measuring…..no pressure! Sigh! there’s always next month.

    • katechiconi says:

      I am reserving some dotty mauve especially for you when it’s your turn! As you say, there’s always next month, but at the rate things are moving with your house, you’ll be in mid-flit by then!

  13. dezertsuz says:

    Both blocks are so pretty, but I do love the one with the strips of fabric. It would be a great scrap buster with those small pieces. The small one reminds me of a block I’m making, too. Thanks for sharing such a happy quilt!

    • katechiconi says:

      The larger block with all the strips was great for using the thinner strips, but the little one, which is only half the size, made use of different small shapes, so it’s a win-win for scrap usage! I tried the larger one with all different fabrics, but it needs some structure and continuity to work well.

  14. Magpie Sue says:

    Wow, your scrappy version is really impressive! Of course, it’s an impressive block to begin with. ;- )

  15. I love that block! Do you link up to Scraptastic Tuesday (http://mrsssewandsow.blogspot.co.uk/p/welcome-to-scraptastic-tuesday-nicky.html – there are prizes!)?

    P.S. I left a comment on your most recent post (ear worm) but can’t see it. Thank you for your comments on my blog, I’m afraid I can’t reply at the moment as I don’t have your email address (dratted Blogger!) but if you reply to this comment then I’ll add your email to my address book and be able to reply now and in the future! Hope it’s okay to put this here!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a great block, isn’t it? Esther has designed some real beauties if you enjoy foundation paper piecing (as opposed to EPP). I haven’t been linking to Scraptastic Tuesday, but I shall take a look. Please feel free to leave a comment wherever you like! I’ve replied to your other one, so hopefully I will now be acceptable to Blogger! My email address can also be found on my Contact Me page.

  16. […] So that’s my creative space.  At present, it’s fully occupied with my latest project, the Cloths of Heaven quilt, which my followers know as a long term piece I’m hoping to have finished by the start of May next year. Around the margins of that I have three blocks a month for the F2F block swap, and also a ‘scrappy’ post on 15th of each month. […]

  17. […] ScrapHappy (too many posts to link to – search by ScrapHappy!) 3 patterns tested for Esther: October Sky (large and small versions) and […]

Leave a Reply

