The Cloths of Heaven 7: squared away

I am, I confess, very tired.

centre with cornersI pushed myself a thought too hard today, but I wanted so much to get the lettering done, and having finished that, adding the corners seemed like a minor add-on. Only of course, it wasn’t. But it is now done, and the centre is square(ish), ready for ivy wreaths in the 4 corners.

The more I have added, the more the bias edges have mounted up, and I now have some quite noticeable bagging and sagging. However, that will be taken care of in due course. A multitude of sins can be hidden in the lovely puffiness of hand quilting, and indeed, I propose that they should!

lettering detailI’m pleased with the hand lettering, not too many blobby bits, and all the interminable prep work has paid off. Silver was so much the right choice, rather than gold.

OK, enough typing. I’m off to soak my aching hands in hot water and then smother them in Aspirin & Arnica cream…

55 thoughts on “The Cloths of Heaven 7: squared away

  1. manicmumdays says:

    It’s gorgeous Kate!!

  2. Magical effect, and wonderful fabric choices. Don’t push yourself so hard. I’m old enough to know that there’s always (up to now) another day to finish what I can’t do today. And if there isn’t, so what…

    • katechiconi says:

      I know, I know, but I was on a roll, and the lettering was so much better once I’d warmed up that I didn’t want to stop. The corners were, I admit, too much for me today…

  3. tialys says:

    You should rest those hands today and do some less physical thing like planning one of the next stages or eating cake. It’s looking amazing – I like the green corners it makes the centre really stand out – those curves must have been fun though 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      The curves weren’t as bad as I feared. The circles are very large, the curves are fairly gradual, and the edges are on the bias so easing it all together wasn’t too painful. The next stage is making up ivy leaves to apply in the corners, so I can take it nice and slowly.

  4. claire93 says:

    beautiful ^^
    but have to agree with Viv, rest those hands!!!!

  5. Grannymar says:

    An early night and a long sleep is called for to ease the over worked hands, eyes and brain! it looks amazing so far and the silver lettering is just right for the project.

  6. I have a new handcream by the Aromatic Apothecary. Definitely seems to soothe the more painful of the joints. I’ll message you the details. If you’re interested, I’ll send you a bottle 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      The stuff I use actually does kill the pain because of the aspirin component and the arnica reduces inflammation. Your cream does sound good, though. Do send the details; is there a website? But please don’t go to the expense of sending it – I’m still working my way through several jars of A&A!

  7. This is so beautiful and joyous! I love it! xo Johanna

  8. rutigt says:

    It´s soooo beautiful!!

  9. You always make interesting and delightful projects, but this is my favorite by far. The color combination, the silver lettering, the clouds and constellations — it looks ethereal but still substantial, which I think is contradictory!

    To help flatten it and prep it for things to come, it may help to make the next edge exactly the length it’s supposed to be, and also matching left/right and top/bottom (instead of matching the edge to the center’s length on each side). Then you can ease or stretch the center as needed to the next edge. That also will give you a good platform for whatever comes after. (Of course I am saying this as if it will be multiple borders as a medallion. But I don’t know how you intend to go from here. If I can help at all, please let me know.)

    BEAUTIFUL.

    • katechiconi says:

      We are definitely on the same page here! The units that attach to each side of the new square need to be 44 inches long exactly, and that’s how long I shall make them. I have made extra on the central panel because I anticipate that the hand quilting I need to do before joining the panels will cause contracture and I don’t want to lose so much that it will no longer fit. I could always add a small sashing strip, but would infinitely prefer not to! The plan was to ensure it is square by folding the circle into quarters so that I only have to deal with squaring one section in 4 layers. If I stuff it up (not impossible!) I have the reassurance of knowing all the sins will be hidden by the corner appliqué.
      I’m so glad you’re enjoying how this quilt is going; I really value your good opinion!

      • You’re quilting the center before adding? That makes sense, and yes then you’ll have proportions that won’t change more.

      • katechiconi says:

        Exactly! I couldn’t face the idea of quilting the thing once it was all in one piece, since all my quilting is done at home on my fairly small domestic machine or by hand. Doing it as a QAYG project in substantial but still manageable sections seemed to be the answer, and the design broke down well once the principle had been established.

  10. absolutely stunning !!! but your poor hands !!!!

  11. knettycraft says:

    It is really wonderful. … but as it was said: be careful with your hands!

  12. EllaDee says:

    The centre looks lovely, like an illustration from an ancient manuscript. The A&A cream works wonders on overworked body parts. There is also a beautifully aromatic L’Occitane Shea Butter foot cream with arnica and lavender which after the G.O. rubs it into his feet benefits his hands as well.

  13. No doubt you’ll have had a couple of hours off by now and you’ll be working those hands again 🙂 Your latest creation is fabulous! I take it those constellations are in the southern hemisphere.

    • katechiconi says:

      A night’s sleep has restored the hands. The constellations are a mixture: Aquarius (at the top) is visible in both north and south, Aries and Gemini (middle) are northern hemisphere, and Crux – the Southern Cross – is only in the southern hemisphere. Which is as it should be, given who and what they represent!

  14. Lynda says:

    This is so very beautiful, Kate! I empathize with joint pain. I’m afraid I’ve over done it too this week. We’ll mend and be right back at it though; won’t we?

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, thank you! I’m so glad you like it. I’m still a bit sore today, so I’m giving myself a day off handwork, to let it all calm down. Baking day tomorrow, and then back to stitching on Monday…

  15. Lorij says:

    Beautiful, Kate, it’s beautiful.
    I’m hemming the binding on the Teddy bear quilt. I’m going to put it in the mail on Monday so it will get there before Thanksgiving when the birthday is. Take care of your hands.

  16. katechiconi says:

    Thank you, that’s very kind. I hope the Teddy bear quilt gets there on time. What’s next?

    • Lorij says:

      That’s a million dollar question. …. I’m really
      Trying to finish the quilting on the one for my daughter’s Christmas gift. And, yesterday my youngest Grandaughter says Gramma I’d like you to make me something Christmasey for a gift! Like a skirt or maybe a dress!!! Lord have mercy! 😄 So, I’ll have to fit that in between this and, the other quilt waiting to be quilted and 8 bags that need to be done by the 30th. No idle time here.

  17. Debbierose says:

    Stunning, and amazingly neat lettering. Well done

  18. Magpie Sue says:

    It looks wonderful – well done! A bit of steam might help coax those bias edges back into place, as you may well know.

    • katechiconi says:

      At present, they are stay stitched and steamed into as much submission as I can achieve. The quilting will take care of both hiding issues and finally stabilising it, but I have a little way to go before I can do that, so I’m trying to handle it as little as possible.

  19. Wow, that is just gorgeous ! Love that lettering. It is a bit mysterious and so elegant!
    Esther

  20. Kirsten says:

    It looks so pretty!

  21. […] that’s my creative space.  At present, it’s fully occupied with my latest project, the Cloths of Heaven quilt, which my followers know as a long term piece I’m hoping to have finished by the start of May […]

Leave a Reply

