Another clothe

It’s hot here, and the humidity is wicked.

We’re facing a string of thunderstorms marching from inland towards the coast. Some dissipate over the range, but the rest come and drop their load, accompanied by much fuss and heavenly fireworks. When it’s rain, it’s welcome, but hail, less so… Given that the heat through all this remains above 30°C/86°F, you start sweating the minute you walk out of the door.

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 4.35.31 pmI retreated to the cool of my sewing room, and whacked together a dress suited to the conditions. It’s the same Burda pattern as the lilac spotty top previously posted, but longer, and I’ve made it in a very lightweight viscose. Instead of putting in a facing to finish the armholes and neck, I’ve used bias binding to keep the weight and warmth down. It’s lovely! Touches at the shoulders, skims the rest.

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 4.36.21 pmMeanwhile, outside, the Husband was hurtling up and down the back yard on the ride-on mower, with an eye cocked at the sky. He got the last of the grass cut just before the heavens opened…

It’s starting to be the time of year when I don’t leave the house without an umbrella but at least now I can be cool and comfy..

48 thoughts on “Another clothe

  1. My eye read “another cloche” and I thought Now what is that nutty woman doing making hats !!!
    Lovely frock 🙂

  2. tialys says:

    Funny that I’ve just been thinking that I must put away my summer clothes and get out the winter ones. Having said that, it’s been up in the mid 20s for a couple of weeks with lovely blue skies and, I know that doesn’t sound very hot to you, but it is making for a rather gorgeous autumn in the midi Pyrenées.

    • katechiconi says:

      My winter wardrobe consists of shoving a cardigan on over my summer clothes when necessary, so migrating my wardrobe isn’t much of a chore. I do own winter clothes, but they’re hanging in the spare room, untouched for 3 years. I will probably find them totally moth-eaten if I investigate…

  3. tialys says:

    Meant to say also, your frock looks cool in more ways than one. Good idea with the bias binding – facing can be a pain, especially with summer clothing.

    • katechiconi says:

      I find facings never lie properly flat after the first wash, and I’ve become quite good at getting the binding to look nice, so I’m thinking this is the way to go with future sleeveless, collarless items.

  4. nice one !!! love the fabric ! looks merry !

  5. Grannymar says:

    Your dress looks very comfortable for the hot weather. I was smiling at the comments above…. we regularly have summers where the dresses and light tops remain unworn in the wardrobe. Enjoy wearing the dress.

  6. claire93 says:

    ooh that’s lovely
    yes to “dress it up” I’m thinking a lovely thin red belt to bring it in at the waist. because fabric is so light, it will still hang beautifully

  7. Your new clothe brings back happy memories.

    Moving from the English Midlands to tropical Seychelles, I thought all I’d need would be shorts and Ts and swimsuits. Then I got a job teaching in the Polytechnic, so an urgent need for frocks! I made 7 light polycotton shifts just like yours, touching only at the shoulders. I didn’t know there was a pattern – I just made mine up using newspaper. Every food shop had piles of fabrics to buy, at the equivalent of £1 per metre.

    Having no sewing machine there, they were all made by hand, with French seams and bias facings, one a day during the week waiting to start work. Never going out without an umbrella takes on a new meaning when the use varies from sunshade to protection from monsoon rain! Many of the locals used banana leaves the same way.

    • katechiconi says:

      In the summer, my favourite shade hat is made of paper twine, so I cannot wear it on days when rain is at all likely – it would turn to pulp! So an umbrella for those days is indeed dual purpose. I’m fortunate that ‘longs’ (knee length shorts) are completely acceptable everywhere as casual officewear down to beachwear. This dress is knee length, and if I go out on my bicycle, I’ll put a pair of black longs on underneath to maintain decency!

  8. Oh, I wish I had your skills… still a deft hand with yarn is probably more useful here since the winter woollies are only rarely stood down during summer!

  9. katechiconi says:

    I seem to recall some nighties being crafted chez Snail….? This pattern would make a very comfy nightie, especially in a thin cotton lawn. I’d be adding a bit of lace and a pocket, but then I can’t resist details!

  10. EllaDee says:

    Humidity and the flies indicate summer is at last serious about putting in an appearance, although being not quite mid November nothing is certain in the southern states. You’ve chosen a lovely elegant fabric. It suits the simple dress design. You’ll enjoy wearing it all season 🙂

  11. Very smart looking. I haven’t worn anything sleeveless in eons. Heat and humidity would be my undoing. I also haven’t worn a dress but once in the last 15 years. But I’m thinking and have pattern and material for long, loose house dresses for summer and winter months. Just didn’t get them done. It’s going to say “She was gonna” on my tombstone. If I was going to have one. 🙂 Never tried bias binding instead of facings but that may be an interesting option. Right now, I need to cut out a shirt for my son hopefully for this years Christmas. 😦 You inspire me.

  12. dezertsuz says:

    Nice dress, and it does look cool. That’s the kind of weather I don’t like here in TN, but I’m not crazy about the current cool (10ish) and wet, either. LOL

    • katechiconi says:

      I see it as part of the price I pay for living in the tropics, and all the lovely things that go along with that. I like a little dressmaking to break up long bouts of quilt making, and it saves me buying clothes too!

  13. What a lovely simple summer dress, I am sure you will get a lot of use out of it. Good work!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve worn it and washed it already, and it’s good to go for a second round. And this afternoon I cut out another one, a different pattern but a very pretty printed cotton. Another one you can dress up if you need to.

  14. Debbierose says:

    Great style. I haven’t used viscose, obviously it must be cool unlike other synthetics

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s not as cool as its equivalent weight in cotton (lawn), but it’s light and floaty and doesn’t stick to you like other synthetics. It’s extremely comfortable for the hot, sweaty weather we have here.

  15. rutigt says:

    Beautiful!!!! I do like that style on dresses. Most of my dresses are sewn that way. I live my life in dresses and skirts. The fabric you´re using is lovely 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I spend a lot of time in shorts and pants, so a dress is a lovely – and cool – change. It is pretty fabric; I’ve been saving it for about 5 years, and finally I knew what to do with it!

  16. Lorij says:

    Your dress is very pretty. You can dress it up or down with any of the colors in it. I love loose dresses when is hot.
    Sunday after church I put away most of my summer clothes. It has finally gotten cooler here. It was 53°F when I went to church. I’m a bit cold natured so my Capris and short sleeved tops and summer weight things won’t work for me right now. Because of space I had the winter things in space bags which work well but, my suits are very wrinkled. One day this week I’ll toss them in the dryer on the cycle that gets rid of wrinkles. Modern appliances are wonderful years ago I would have had to press all of them and there are 10!
    We also got more rain which is marvelous because of the drought issue.
    I’m so glad you’re back to your old self. 😄

    • katechiconi says:

      I find it hard to image getting rugged up in warm clothes these days; it’s almost enough to make me break a sweat just thinking about it! I have another dress cut out and ready to go, which I think I’ll get done today, but after that I need to get back to the quilt, which is calling my name.

      • Lorij says:

        I hope to be finish with the quilting on my daughter’s Christmas quilt tonight, but, I’ve pieced 2 others in between. One 42x 42 lap quilt and one 80 L x 44 w. One Sunday afternoon and the other Thursday night in a couple of hours. Sunday I sandwiched and pinned the larger one and this morning I sandwiched and pinned the smaller one. I have about 2 hours of quilting left and I’ll be done with this king size one. Hopefully I’ll get it binded tomorrow. I’m trying to get my Christmas things finished. I’m crossing my list of a little bit each day .

  17. Nothing beats a dress that touches the shoulders and skims the rest on a hot day.

  18. […] sewing projects: Grey & white Riley Blake dress Blue floral Amy Butler top Lilac top Black spot dress Laptop cover for me Tablet cover for the Husband Crochet tool kit, tatting tool kits 1 and 2 […]

Leave a Reply

