The Gardens of Chiconia 41: Little red power packs

At last, something I CAN show you!

I’ve spent the last three days working on things which are either secret, not due for posting yet, or simply too mundane to warrant a post. Blocks for F2F, blocks for my ScrapHappy post on 15th of this month, a blackout lining for curtains at my sister-in-law’s new house, a blackout-lined curtain for the window in the western wall of our bathroom to reduce the heat of the afternoon sun, a little embroidery for the stitch-along due on Sunday next week. The result has been a distinct lack of Tall Tales From Chiconia…

Amongst all the stitching, we’ve been enjoying a couple of brief thunderstorms, with more on the way. The resulting downpours have been so very welcome, and have resulted in some beautiful greening in the garden. Chief amongst the new surge of growth has been a wave of tomatoes from the three plants I put in a year ago. Still cropping, still growing, frequently chopped back but undeterred.

beforeThis is one day’s picking of cherry tomatoes. Too many for a salad, too few to preserve. I’ve found the best way of using them is to toss them in olive oil, sprinkle them with a grind of sea salt, black pepper and dried oregano and roast them in the oven. The flavour concentrates and sweetens, and a dollop of the resulting squishy loveliness is outstanding in sauces, stews, over pasta and in salads. It freezes brilliantly well in ziploc bags too.

AfterIt may be the driest start to the Wet for years, but the garden is just waiting for the smallest encouragement to get going…

17 thoughts on “The Gardens of Chiconia 41: Little red power packs

  1. I always think there’s more flavour in cherry toms than the big ones. With any spare toms I make batches for the freezer of pepper and tom sauce to have with pasta.or add to a chicken dish.

    • katechiconi says:

      I agree! Their size precludes peeling them, and roasting is, I’ve found, the best way of both intensifying the flavour and softening them enough to form the base for a sauce.

  2. tialys says:

    I love roasted tomatoes – the little ones especially – and, if it’s to hand, I like to tear a few basil leaves on top. Actually, I did buy some basil infused olive oil so that does the job well too. Bon Appetit!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s going into a salad tomorrow with baby leaves, some Ceylon spinach, avocado, grated carrot and zucchini and shreds of ham off the bone and boiled free range eggs. I shall investigate the health of my basil plant and add that if I think it will survive some leaf harvesting. Num num!

  3. Love those wee cherry tomatoes, they look dee-licious. 😊

  4. Grannymar says:

    Time I was thinking of preparing and cooking my Sunday lunch. Your photos have me salivating… Do you do home delivery?

  5. EllaDee says:

    I think we’re finally getting proper summer, I just hope it doesn’t go OTT now. Your cherry toms look delicious and I love them similarly. We add them to salads & snacks and cook what’s left for sauce/condiment. Yesterday at Bunnings I saw a ‘hanging’ cherry tomato plant in a pot… so versatile you can grown them just about anywhere.

  6. Debbierose says:

    I never think to cook and freeze these. I just do a batch as required, however not home grown lovelies, as I have black thumbs 😂

    • katechiconi says:

      We would soon have a glut if we didn’t pick about this amount every couple of days! And really, I don’t have to do much with the plants; they are irrigated, and occasionally I chop them back hard, but that’s it. A batch of roasted tomatoes is a real pleasure; in winter (when we still get tomatoes!), I use them for roast tomato soup, which the Husband loves. The recipe’s on the blog if you’re interested.

  7. Lynda says:

    Mmmm… roasted tomatoes…

  8. dezertsuz says:

    Your tomatoes are lovely and look so delicious. I never get that many in the entire summer. Tomato plants and I are not friends!

    • katechiconi says:

      We finished them off last night, and they were indeed delicious. The tomato plants and I have an agreement: I will leave them alone apart from occasional haircuts, and in return, they will give me lots of tomatoes and fight their own battles against the bugs. It seems to work, this regime of benign neglect!

Leave a Reply

