AHQ: …. Ad Astra

The Corporal’s Quilt, front and centre!*

AHQ-TheCorporalsQuilt

Once again, the wind made a straight shot impossible, but at least the sun obliged with some shadows to show up the (somewhat wobbly) quilting. The Corporal won’t care… Started 8 October, completed 28 October.

It’s done. Once I’d taken it down from the line I folded and packed it in the prescribed manner, to fit the free posting box and allow a little room for home comforts and edibles. It’s on its way to Iraq, to give chilly winter night-time comfort, something to wrap up in, and most of all, to remind the Corporal that his service is gratefully appreciated and remembered by those at home, even total strangers.

My next job will be to test a block for Esther at ipatchandquilt; she has designed a lovely new paper piecing pattern, and it will make a nice little break between this and the next quilt, which is going to be large, complicated and long-term – the deadline is the beginning of May 2016.

*front and centre!
(idiomatic) A command to come to the centre of attention of an assemblage of military personnel.
(From Wikipedia)

30 thoughts on “AHQ: …. Ad Astra

  1. pattisj says:

    Blessings to the Corporal, may it warm him inside and out.

  2. Great work, Kate!
    Large, complicated and long-term means a deadline in the beginning of May 2016? Me, I would be aiming for May 2020! 🙂

  3. Lynda says:

    You are amazingly fast and that is a lovely quilt, Kate!

  4. Kate, Your star quilt is really awesome. It will warm not only his body but also his heart!

  5. The quilting really enhances the design. Bravo, Kate.

  6. claire93 says:

    well done Kate, I love the splash of red with the ‘roo and the binding!

  7. tialys says:

    Definitely fit for heroes!
    I saw that you volunteered to test Esther’s pattern. It’s awesome isn’t it? I can’t believe I’m getting one in my colours for F2F :):)

    • katechiconi says:

      Glad you like the quilt. Yes, I’ve stuck my hand up, hope I can live up to the design! The version she showed in your colours is so gorgeous, I think in your position I’d save it for a cushion so it can star by itself, and make another one for the quilt…

  8. The quilt and the quilting are stunning! You did a really wonderful job and anyone would appreciate it. Good luck with the next long term project. Now I must get to work myself. I’ve lollygagged enough.

  9. rutigt says:

    There´ll be one lucky Corporal out there, I guess 🙂

  10. Magpie Sue says:

    The Corporal’s quilt is wonderful – he will love it.(I know it’s made to specifications but it sure looks skinny!)

  11. […] completed in 2015: Worldwide Friends: hand stitched & quilted, queen size The AHQ Corporal’s Quilt: machine stitched & quilted, bunk size Aimée for my sister: machine stitched & quilted, […]

Leave a Reply

