Super citrus

I’m talking about cake, of course.

Orange poppyseed cakeWell, a person needs something to keep her going when in the final throes of quilting something. And I’d seen a perfectly yummy orange poppyseed cake on this post from The Cheergerm and The Silly Yak, which I felt morally obliged to try in a gluten free form. The Husband wasn’t too averse, either…

I’m not one bit sorry. It’s fabulous.

Get over there now and collect her recipe. The only thing I’d change is adding a bit more orange zest, but perhaps my orange was a bit weak and feeble and not zingy enough.  The juice wasn’t very tart either, so the icing sugar/orange juice frosting (1 cup icing sugar, 2 tblsp orange juice) I made for it wasn’t zingy enough. All useful learning. Next time I might add some lime or lemon juice if I don’t think it’s up to scratch. The other difference was that I substituted a commercial gluten free self-raising flour for the wheat flour, same volume, and it worked perfectly. The Cheergerm says she’s also going to experiment with different GF flours to get what she feels is a healthy and balanced equivalent.

And actually, I really want to try the same recipe with limes, and maybe half a cup of coconut flakes instead of poppyseeds. You see what happens when I get my teeth into a slice of cake…? Yup. More cake.

I’ll keep you posted.

27 thoughts on “Super citrus

  1. Stop distracting me. I have a quilt to finish. Today. No cake. 🙂

  2. claire93 says:

    looks delicious

  3. vivjm says:

    Cake!!! A lime and coconut version would be super too.

  4. tialys says:

    I love lime and coconut together.
    I also love the name of that blog.
    I made a pannetone and butter pudding last night in order to use up last year’s Christmas pannetone before starting on the one I’ve bought this year. Instead of butter I used my home made lemon curd and instead of milk and cream I used some home made coconut milk, I positively waddled up the stairs to bed last night 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      That sounds yum! When I was able to eat pannetone I used to do something similar but with apricot jam and crème anglaise. Alas, no-one has yet invented gf pannetone 😦

  5. rutigt says:

    I also have a quilt to finish. No cakes for me, however delicious they may seem 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I am sorry…. Very hard to work hard on the quilting with no reward.

      • rutigt says:

        Ha…..I didn´t say I can´t eat anything yummie 🙂 Just don´t have the time to bake a cake!

      • katechiconi says:

        It took me 15 minutes to assemble the ingredients, mix the cake and put it in the cake tin. Then 35 minutes in the oven, during which time I was sewing. Then the hard part: waiting for it to cool down. Finally 5 minutes to make the frosting. Can you spare 20 minutes away from the sewing machine? Perhaps another time…

  6. cheergerm says:

    Ha, fantastic, looks great and that glaze looks the business. Hope that a hearty squodge of that set you back upon your path of righteous quilting. Recipe sharing is fun! And before I get a chance to experiment I think I will just do a straight swap with a gf commercial blend, just to keep The Yak happy. (Glad you felt morally obliged.) 😀

    • katechiconi says:

      A large slice saw me get halfway through the quilting today. Another healthy slice for dessert… It would definitely have been better with more poppyseeds. And because of the GF flour, you definitely need to keep it in an airtight container, but probably not in the fridge or the topping disappears into the cake, a lesson learned from hard experience! Thank you for a great recipe, and I’ll tell you how I go with the lime and coconut version. We need to keep our Yaks happy…

  7. best way to get one’s daily dose of citrus 🙂

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    I will just have to move to the outback. What a glorious looking (and sounding) cake.

  9. Looks wonderful… I do find some oranges can be a bit wishy for cooking. I had some Seville oranges at the beginning of the year and they were fantastic – make the most amazing orange curd.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s not citrus season here, so I have to make do with out of season navel oranges that have probably been kept in cold storage. I’m going to look for some Seville or Valencias to see if it makes a difference.

  10. Lorij says:

    I love pound cake. This looks good only, I prefer no icing. It makes it too sweet for me.😊 If I ice cake I can only usually eat half a slice or less unless I eat it with my meal which, is what I generally do. I don’t really like bread much so, when I have dessert I eat it with my meal in place of bread😊. And, pound cake is my favorite dessert (not strawberry or banana). Lemon or orange Poppy seed pound cake or muffins are so good. Especially when you put butter on the slice or in the muffin while it’s still warm, yum.
    You’re working a bit faster than I am. I’ve nearly completed the top third of the queen quilt that I’m working on. The middle is quilted too. I’m hoping to be done with this one by Tuesday next week so that I can start with the other one and finish the strip quilt blocks. Maybe in between I can get the bags made😄. Have a wonderful day.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s good that we all like different things. For me, dessert is a bit of a highlight, a chance to enjoy the latest baking experiment, for example. I can’t imagine eating it at the same time as the rest of my meal, and I don’t have the habit of bread with my meal in any case, so that’s easy. I’ll be posting the finished Corporal’s quilt today, then a small break for something else before I start the next one.

  11. EllaDee says:

    Yuuummm. I love citrus and poppyseed cakes and I love that you’re enjoying baking and eating them, a wonderful vicarious pleasure for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

