AHQ: Per ardua

The top of the Corporal’s quilt is done.

I gave myself a whole heap of trouble when I decided to have the RAAF motto and roundel at the top and initials at the bottom. 20 different appliqué elements – what was I thinking? ‘Per ardua ad astra: Through adversity to the stars’ indeed… Only on this quilt, the stars came first and the adversity followed!

finished topA day off sewing to fill a bakery order (Oh no! More cake…), and then I can look at getting the sandwich done. I’m going to use a blue and white checked flannelette for the back – the same stuff as I used for the Husband’s Truck Quilt. It makes it nice and cosy, and I have the fabric already so there’s sadly no need to expose myself to the temptation of going to my LQS, where there’s a new fabric line in stock I want to check out. Must…Not…Buy…Fabric…

You’ll be glad to learn that I got through the whole day yesterday without pricking, cutting,burning or otherwise injuring myself. No cake required… 😦

30 thoughts on “AHQ: Per ardua

  1. You have accomplished a great deal in a short time. Wonderful that it was all done injury free. Now you can enjoy a taste of cake.

  2. EllaDee says:

    It’s a striking quilt, and the amount of work and care you’ve put into it is apparent. I’m pleased it hasn’t taken any further physical toll. Enjoy the party… I know they’ll enjoy the cake 🙂

  3. claire93 says:

    the recipient is going to be over the moon with this quilt and all the attention to detail, so it’ll be well worth the effort!

  4. rutigt says:

    Wow! Sewing appliqué isn´t one of my favorites, so I´m impressed that you did all that. The quilt looks great!

    • katechiconi says:

      I didn’t think it through properly, and I was a bit nervous when I realised how much there was to do. But it worked out OK, and it didn’t make the background contract too much, which was what I was worried about.

  5. That is quite gorgeous. I am binding scrappy today, having finished the quilting last night, so now I am allowing my mind to churn over the next project. Good luck with your churning, and have a lovely evening.

  6. tialys says:

    Definitely an heirloom. I hope SS has kids so he can pass it on.

    • katechiconi says:

      I get the impression he’s only a young bloke, which means this quilt can travel with him for the rest of his RAAF career doing what it’s designed for. I will be very happy if it survives that journey and perhaps on into family life.

  7. I’m impressed! I have talents, but anything to do with thread or hooks is right out of my league. This looks amazing and will surely be treasured!

    • katechiconi says:

      I hope he likes it. It’s hard to make something like this for a stranger, but I think it’s important to show appreciation for a hard job well done. It’s not a very exciting quilt, but it fits the bill…

  8. Ha ha! What were you thinking? 😂
    At least you avoided adversity (burns, cuts, etc.).

    • katechiconi says:

      True. And it’s currently sandwiched, pinned and I’m marking up the quilting. So I’ll hope to get that done tomorrow and the binding shortly after that. Lots of potential for damage there, but so far it’s just a broken nail from all the pinning!

  9. Emmely says:

    I had to laugh at the applique. It looks great but yes, does it take time… Usually longer than you think it will. I have a special quilt planned that probably requires 150 characters or so, so I’ve decided to paint them on instead of doing applique. Otherwise I don’t think I’ll ever finish it, which would be a pity since I think the recipients will greatly appreciate the joke.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have one of those in the pipeline too, but I had already decided on painted calligraphy much earlier. A wise decision, I feel, given how long this appliqué took…

Leave a Reply

