AHQ: Border patrol

Forward progress continues…

Stars & bordersI have completed the foundation pieced stars, so the Southern Cross is ready. After a lot of twiddling around, I worked out the sizes of the all bits I needed for the border. Not having much of a head for arithmetic, I do hate all the calculations needed, and as I don’t have Electric Quilt I need to work it out old-school style, with pencil, paper and calculator.  Still, it’s over, job done.

I have the border elements two-thirds completed. The plan is for a repeat of pinwheel, 4-patch and diagonal strip piecing. As you can see, I’m making full use of all the scraps and strips from the Doggies quilt, with a random seasoning of kangaroo fabric, always popular with the boys and girls in uniform. It doesn’t look like a whole lot of progress, but it’s 20 blocks and a whole lot of cutting, sewing and pressing.

Strips for blockAll that’s left to do on the main part of the front is the diagonal strip piecing, 4 strips per block, 8 blocks in total. The cutting is done, so I can just crank out the blocks tomorrow, and then at last I can start piecing it together. The appliqué is going to take some time and careful work, so I don’t want to rush it. I’m making good enough progress that I don’t feel I need to be in a hurry.

Time to put my feet up for 10 minutes before I have to head to the kitchen to sort out something to feed us both for dinner tonight. I’m thinking pork and fennel Italian-style meatballs in tomato sauce with pasta…

Right, cup of coffee and a cook book.

28 thoughts on “AHQ: Border patrol

  1. I’m with you about not liking the arithmetical side of quilting. I tend these days to do everything by eye, guesswork and hope, but you can only do that with simple designs. Your quilt is looking terrific.

    • katechiconi says:

      Sadly, you can’t eyeball it with pinwheels or stars! You basically draw what you want to scale on paper, cut out each piece separately, add 1/4″ seam allowance and then work out if you can cut it out several bits at a time, like making HSTs two at a time by stitching squares together on the diagonal and then slicing them apart. I am NOT good at this stuff… But it’s coming along.

      • No but you can make multi HSTs for borders and pinwheel or broken dishes blocks : 1 light 1 dark rectangle with a grid drawn on the light back, each square 7/8″ more than your finished size. Draw diagonal lines top left to bottom right, going through all the intersections. Small stitch 1/4″ each side of the diagonals, then cut on each line of the grid. There’s a similar method for 1/4STs but it’s more fiddly

      • katechiconi says:

        Yes, that’s the basic method I was using, but I didn’t want to make multiples of the same thing, I wanted more variety in the fabric, so I did the micro instead of macro version!

      • I understand. It came in useful when I made a king-sized quilt with same fabric stars round multicoloured 16-quare blocks.

      • katechiconi says:

        Yes, that sort of situation is where that method really comes into its own. 🙂

  2. EllaDee says:

    I think besides my cack-handedness I also lack mathematical aptitude… a future in quilting isn’t looking good for me. I’m happy to leave it to the experts which you are in the good company of 🙂
    I like the Southern Cross… I had wondered on an earlier pic how you were going to depict it.

    • katechiconi says:

      You don’t really need advanced maths, you just need to be organised and thorough. The shortcuts are where you need the tricky stuff, if you do it the ‘long’ way, it’s pretty straightforward. And if you just sew squares, no maths at all!

  3. rutigt says:

    Still eating icecream! But I´ll soon head down to my sewingroom and through at the cat 🙂

  4. tialys says:

    I always feel strangely virtuous when working out measurements, etc. and wonder why I worry about it – until, invariably, it doesn’t work out after all and I have to beg for help from Mr. T.

  5. claire93 says:

    all those blues look really good together

  6. anne54 says:

    “Doesn’t look like a lot of progress…”?! Is this the same woman who recently had surgery? Who has done a whole pile of baking? Who has just finished another quilt? I am learning that beneath that quilting exterior lies SuperWoman!

    • katechiconi says:

      Ooer, blush… I do like something noticeable to show, and comparing the before and after photos, it didn’t seem all that exciting! I’m back in the sewing room this afternoon, so look out for a more visible change…

  7. The quilt will be stunning and well loved. I’m with you on the arithmetic. Never was my strong suit. That’s why they made computers. 🙂

  8. Lorij says:

    Maybe if I did quilts that required a lot of measurements my quilts would be different. I make pretty ones but 10 or 12 inch blocks are easy.

    • katechiconi says:

      My quilts tend not to need lots of measurements because I don’t use ‘traditional’ blocks a great deal. Hence getting in a spin (pardon the pun!) when I want to make pinwheels…

  9. Magpie Sue says:

    It’s looking good Kate. Making blocks for borders always feels like making another whole quilt to me. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Very true, but luckily it’s a small, narrow quilt so not too many of them are needed. I should get the top finished tonight (aargh! endless appliqué, what was I thinking?).

  10. dezertsuz says:

    I love it! I like that you, too, have that kind of organization that you are involved in.

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t make quilts for AHQ all the time, but when I do, I like to pull the stops out a bit and make something really personalised. We get a few bits of information about colour choice, favourite sports teams, etc, and then once we’ve committed, we find out a name and the operation they’re serving in. It makes them real to us, which I find better than just making a quilt for an unknown person.

Leave a Reply

