Evidence of industry

It has been a baking day. A hot one.

I haven’t been able to get at the garden or sewing machine for days, all sorts of things have intervened. And last night was family dinner for 8 at Chiconia, with the works: roast pork, applesauce, baked pumpkin, vegies, mashed potato, proper gravy and a spiced applesauce cake with fudge frosting for dessert. That sort of ate a hole in my time…

But that doesn’t mean I’ve been idle.

Bakery orderYou’re looking at beef, bacon & cheese pies; breakfast pies (bacon, egg & mushroom); chicken & mushroom and chicken & sweetcorn tarts; date & ginger bread; banana bread; raspberry chocolate fudge brownie; cherry ripe slice; chocolate caramel shortbread; and chocolate mud cake. Today’s output, which will be delivered to the coffee shop at 8am tomorrow, ready for the start of the week. Home-made, tasty and gluten-free, the lot of it.

People sometimes ask how I manage to hand over all this yumminess without feeling a bit deprived. Well, I do enough tasting, testing, spoon- and bowl-licking to feel fine about handing over several dozen eggs, a couple of kilos of butter, several kilos of flour, half a kilo each of chocolate and almond meal, several bananas, cups of coconut, raspberries, cherries, crystallised ginger, condensed milk, heavy syrup, dates and cream. And that’s just the sweet stuff. See what I mean? Put that way, it just doesn’t sound that attractive, especially with the leftovers of last night’s cake and a cup of coffee waiting for me.

And now I need rest and an icepack for my feet. In the good old days, it would have been A Cup of Tea, A Bex and a Good Lie Down….

33 thoughts on “Evidence of industry

  1. This made me exhausted just reading it! But having gorged myself last night on roast leg of lamb with rosemary and garlic and all the trimmings, with blackberry and apple sponge pudding and cream to follow, I was able to resist feeling deprived because I couldn’t eat any of your fabulous array! Number 1 son is expecting his favourite meal today of shepherd’s pie.

    • katechiconi says:

      I confess to being somewhat weary… I have a fridge full of leftovers, so at least I don’t have to do much cooking tonight. I do like the sound of your dinner last night! But I’m mostly rubbing my hands in glee at the knowledge that after I’ve made the delivery, the day is mine and the cutting mat awaits me!

  2. Lorij says:

    Makes me miss home a bit Maybe I’ll make an almond pound cake next week. Yes,I think I will!!!!😄

  3. EllaDee says:

    Wow, you had a very productive day, there’ll be a lot of very happy cafe customers enjoying those goodies this week.
    We had a lovely long day out, I’m not sure where the time went.
    BTW we find a rub of Aspirin and Arnica cream restores sore feet.

  4. knettycraft says:

    Ohhh… that all sound and look so delicious…. just managed making an simple apple pie this weekend. Since I work fulltime cooking is only a necessity … and baking always a question of time.

  5. tialys says:

    It will be great – when you have your own chooks – to use your own freshly laid eggs but that will probably make your produce even harder to part with!

    • katechiconi says:

      I wouldn’t waste the superlative flavour of home produced eggs on baked goods for other people, not unless we have a massive surplus. And proper free range eggs make fabulous meringues, as Claire has already shown in her post a few days ago!

  6. I made chicken cacciatore last night for dinner, with leftovers for us and food parcels to take to Gran, and I felt like a domestic goddess. I cannot imagine how I would feel after your mammoth effort. Buggered?

    • katechiconi says:

      A bit weary, but satisfied. And actually, this wasn’t a massive order. You really do have to enjoy baking and have a bit of a talent for it, otherwise every blooper would get you down. I prefer to regard bloopers as the universe’s way of letting me eat my own baking for a change; it might not be pretty, but it tastes fine!

  7. mmm your savory tarts and pies look amazing! I’m more for them than sweets, can you tell?

    Have a good rest for a bit.

  8. I haven’t figured out how anyone bakes when the weather is warm. It all looks delicious and now I’m hungry enough to go find my breakfast. I can’t imagine you are ever idle. 🙂 Well, maybe for a moment to think about what to do next.

    • katechiconi says:

      If you live in the tropics, you do everything when the weather is warm, so I’m accustomed to operating in a muck sweat! Plenty of water and a nice cool shower when it’s all over… I do need a bit of a rest when I’m done, having been on my feet for 6-8 hours.

  9. Grannymar says:

    I hope you are finding time for a rest every day, you would not want to undo the good work of the surgeon. Stay well my friend.

  10. rutigt says:

    Maybe it doesn´t sound attractive, but it sure looks tasty 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      One of my customers has a word she uses: “floor-cake” or “floor-pie”. It means something she’s dropped or damaged and cannot serve to her customers, but she’s going to eat it herself because it’s too good to waste! Sometimes I have a floor cake or pie, and I can confirm it’s as tasty as it looks!

  11. Wow! Kate you put me to shame. I really must find time to post about my baking disaster in the kitchen today. They all look deeeeelicious 🙂

  12. cheergerm says:

    Wow! Now that is some gluten free baking, I kneel at your feet oh great one…..can’t wait to investigate your recipes further. Great to meet you ‘via blog’ and the fact that you met your hubby via blogging is also rather cool. 😊

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s actually quite a modest order! I do have some very good cake and slice recipes; not all of them have been featured on the blog, I keep them for my customers, but I’ll be happy to share if there’s something particular you’re after or need for a celebration.
      Meeting the Husband on a blog always makes people curious, but I’ve found plenty of people I like very much on blogs – we just took it a bit further!

Leave a Reply

