A new clothe

It’s been a busy couple of days, what with the ghastly marathon to prepare our tax return and subsequent visit to the accountant, but it’s done for another year.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 5.39.01 pmI haven’t been able to get near the sewing machine for a few days, and was starting to get withdrawal symptoms. So when an opportunity presented itself this afternoon, I got cracking. And here is the result. That pretty cotton lace around the neckline came from Annett in Germany; I’d been looking for something to use it for, and this is perfect. I’ve made a couple of patch pockets to go on this tunic, trimmed with the same lace, but I think I prefer it plain…. I love the colour, the feel of the fabric and the scale of the print, and it’s going to be a comfortable thing to wear when it’s very hot. Happy!

I’m not going to spend all my time stitching garments now, as I have a couple of quilts waiting for me to put cutter to fabric, but I’m going to work my way through the stack of fabrics bit by bit.

And you know what? Dressmaking makes some fabulous scraps!

34 thoughts on “A new clothe

  1. tialys says:

    It’s lovely Kate – so fresh and cool looking.
    Is ‘clothe’ a word – in the noun sense? I remember when I was little and trying to express the singular of ‘clothes’ – I can’t think now in what circumstance I would have needed to – but I came up with ‘clo’ which definitely isn’t a word 😉

  2. EllaDee says:

    Lovely. Very cool and elegant. The fabric is pretty but the lace simply sets it off.
    Gahh tax… always feels so much better when it’s done.

  3. Grannymar says:

    I love the colour. You enjoy wearing it while I might be hidden under multiple layers to try and keep the heat in me.

  4. this is very very VERY pretty, I can see myself in it quite easily, actually! Do the neck and armholes have facings? I’m not much of a facing person but sometimes one has no choice.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, it has facings, but actually you could easily finish the neck and armholes with bias binding. It’s a very easy pattern: Burda 7390, comes in 3 lengths. This is variant C, the tunic.

  5. claire93 says:

    a lovely tunic Kate
    I too was wondering about “clothe” ^^

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! My logic is as follows: if you dress yourself in a dress, then you clothe yourself in a clothe. Putting on your clothes refers to several items, so a singular one must be a clothe…

  6. knettycraft says:

    What a cute tunic! And what a fun to read that I gave the lace… I didn’t noticed it on the picture (reading your post with my mobile … obviously too small to see the details). AndcI absolutely can follow your “clothe” logic… in German we have also “a trouser” and I go to buy a nice new “piece”.

  7. Lorij says:

    The top is gorgeous. I love Dotted Swiss or anything dotted. The lace makes it so delicate. It will be pretty with white slacks, shorts or skirt. or even with something in a darker purple. I made 3 dresses, 2 shrug length jackets, a royal blue satin short jacket and lined skirt with pockets, a skirt and a blouse earlier this summer.
    The satin suit was worn to a wedding. Clothes really do make wonderful scraps. Some of mine have been used in a quilt already, and I’m putting the rest in a strip quilt that is in progress that is actually for me.
    I have a quilt in the hoop that I’m trying to get done asap because, I have another that I need to do as soon as this one’s finished, two bags, a lap quilt and a suit to do. I’d like to have this all completed by the week before Thanksgiving if not before. I may do the suit next as I work on the strip quilt because It does not take me long to make clothes. Happy sewing

  8. anne54 says:

    I have to add my comment too, to say how pretty it is. The fabric looks great, and falls perfectly. And quilting scraps — definitely a win/win for you!

  9. Oooh gorgeous! I love the colour and how it drapes. As for scraps from clothes making…my friend recently altered a wedding dress. She was making the couple a wedding quilt and she put one small patch of the dress fabric scraps into the quilt. She’s waiting for someone to spot it 🙂

  10. Well, your singular, lovely tunic has sent me on a dictionary journey. I love the color and the drape of it. Very delicate looking. I had to look up the word clothes and it’s one of 11 words listed with no singular version. Clothe is used as a verb according to them and I figure if they can’t come up with a singular, maybe one of the genius wordsmiths out there can. You are right, garment seems pretentious. Why must languages be so difficult. So not only did I learn all about Black Turkeys today, but also about words that are only plural. 🙂 I wish a shirt would hang that nice when I put it on. 😦 It’s going to look perfect on you.

  11. rutigt says:

    Love the colour!! It wil be nice to wear in the summer I guess 🙂

  12. Oh dear. My eyes glazed over at the words ‘tax return’ but I perked up again at ‘lace’. I love the start of the wardrobe makeover.

    • katechiconi says:

      My conscience is nagging me to do something about the Corporal’s quilt tomorrow, but after that I’m going to make a dress from the black, cream and red spot print. No lace on that one, and I’m going to use bias binding instead of using a facing to keep it nice and supple.

  13. […] sewing projects: Grey & white Riley Blake dress Blue floral Amy Butler top Lilac top Black spot dress Laptop cover for me Tablet cover for the Husband Crochet tool kit, tatting tool […]

Leave a Reply

