ScrapHappy October

Well hello again.

Once again, it’s the 15th of the month, the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps – no new fabrics. It can be a random or formal quilt block, a pillow or pincushion, a bag or hat, a collage or rag rug. Anything made of scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address shown on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. You don’t have to worry about a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance whether you’ll have something to show.

Postagestamps15Sep15

That’s a 12 inch (30cm) ruler at the right, to give you an idea of the scale of my new scrappy growth rate.

Scrappyworkstation

The assembly line

Here’s this month’s contribution – several of them, in fact! I have fallen victim to a serious addiction to the postage stamp blocks I posted about earlier. I enjoy the contemplative, peace-ful activity of cutting 25 just-short-of-2-inch squares on a small mat with a little ruler and a tiny cutter, the selection and placing of complementary colours and patterns, and the revelatory moment when I turn the block over and inspect all those perfect corners!

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 11.46.48 am

The offcuts: nothing bigger than half an inch wide.

It’s a fun, portable project I can take to my sewing group, put in an hour here and there, and best of all, it’s munching up my littlest scraps and forcing me to sort them out, bit by tiny bit. Win-win!

 

 

 

Linking with

Gun at https://rutigt.wordpress.com (in Swedish and English)

Sue at http://sewingmagpie.blogspot.com (In English)

Titti at http://tittisquiltlek.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

Annett at https://knettycraft.wordpress.com (In German and English)

If I learn of any other participants I will update this post as the information comes in!

Jill Hat 1 Jill Hat 2Jill didn’t have time to write a post for this month’s show and tell, so her gorgeous hat contribution is shown above – I adore that shade of blue! Do hop over and take a look at all her lovely stuff, which you can find at https://nicepieceofwork.wordpress.com (In English)

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 8.17.14 amFinally, LoriJ, who does not have a blog, has joined us, and the cute ScrapHappy bag she made for her lucky grand-daughter is also guest-featuring to the left. If you’d like to comment, please do so at this email address: designsbilorij(at)yahoo(dot)com (address disguised to fool the spambots).

See you next month with more scrappy loveliness!

 

29 thoughts on “ScrapHappy October

  1. tialys says:

    So many bits of teeny, tiny, fiddly bits of fabric you have turned into your postage stamp blocks. I’m not sure I could go there. I’m not patient enough for ‘fiddly bits’ and I’m too much of a control freak with colour to join so many random squares together without going into meltdown. The nearest I get to manipulating such small pieces is my hexies which are not growing very quickly, in fact they all still fit in the same box that I started with!

    • katechiconi says:

      It is a bit fiddly… I get to control what happens within each block, and I find cutting the squares quite soothing. I know what you mean about putting the blocks together, but so long as I don’t have same/similar colours next to each other I’ll be OK, and I should end up with enough blocks to get the variety I need. It’s not for everyone, but I love what I’m getting out of it!

  2. I love your postage stamp arrangements. I used to make watercolour quilts from those 1″ fabric samples, which make up even smaller because they are cut with pinking shears, but my eyes and my patience are not what they once were… My Scrappy quilt doesn’t look much different from this picture from 26th September: https://vivinfrance.files.wordpress.com/2015/09/scrappy-quilt-being-tacked.jpg?w=960&h=900 although it is about two thirds hand quilted now in a very simple design. Perhaps by 15th November it will be fit for a photograph.

  3. rutigt says:

    Great work! I´m so glad we can link to several other quilters 🙂 Long live the scraps!!!!!

  4. Thank you for featuring my scrappy hat. It is one of many, but they are never really planned so some of them get to leave home without having been photographed 🙂

  5. I might have something to show next month. I have a plan, or at least another project on my want-to-make list. The scraps made it to my desk. That’s a start, right?

  6. knettycraft says:

    Although I still can’t imagine to work with that technique I love how your postage stamp quilt blocks look! That will be a wonderful quilt!!!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      I would be very interested to see how it would work for a granny square, ruling all the lines on the diagonal. Perhaps I’ll try one and send you a picture. I think if any block has straight, continuous lines, it should work. I also like it very much because it strengthens some of the lighter, finer fabrics, without making the whole block stiff.

  7. Grannymar says:

    Kate, you need some patience to sew & quilt all those tiny squares. Viv’s mention of the 1″ fabric samples brought back a memory. Years ago, I made an envelope evening bag from a bagful of them. I did not trim the pinked edges, just placed them with tiny pieces of bondaweb to hold them in place and I attached them with free machining to a heavier weight Vilene and lined the bag with fine pink silk. The edges of the bag were trimmed with machine cords. The bag got plenty of use and I still have it for special occasions.

    • katechiconi says:

      That sounds absolutely gorgeous! I have a bag full of Japanese silk kimono scraps, and can visualise your method working to create something fabulous from them. I’m thinking an evening shawl, silk scraps on the outside and lawn or a thin silk taffeta on the inside, and all held together with hand-quilting in silk thread. It would need to be light because of our climate. Ooooh! Thank you so much for the inspiration!

  8. EllaDee says:

    I had to take a second look… taking in the ruler. Amazing. You’re incredible. Doing something like that would mess with my head…

    • katechiconi says:

      *Not* doing stuff like that messes with my head… I have to make stuff, and I find the little squares fun and the way they’re achieved interesting and an intelligent solution.

  9. it is pretty and colourful ! and I love that bag !

    • katechiconi says:

      LoriJ will be very happy to hear it! Her lucky granddaughter is its proud new owner. I’m really enjoying this ScrapHappy post once a month, it gives me a date to work to, and something to do with all those lovely bright colourful bits!

  10. Lorij says:

    Hi Kate, what happened to the quilt?
    The strip one?
    I’m pleased the bag is liked. Thank you.
    Lorij

    • katechiconi says:

      Hi LoriJ, I went back and looked through the photos you sent; I can only find one of a single strip-pieced block. Would you like that one in next month, or would you like to send one of the finished thing?

  11. Lorij says:

    Thanks for featuring my Granddaughter’s bag. She made a pillow from the purple and silver, the other pieces are just scraps from other bags I’ve made. My daughter was pleased when I showed her the post.

  12. Magpie Sue says:

    Do you know, I’m seriously thinking of going through my crumbs and cutting 1.5″ squares whenever possible for postage stamp blocks. I seem to be over the random piecing I was doing with them a few years back. I’ve even started throwing away scraps that I would have kept in the past!

    Love the hat and the little bag. How wonderful to have folks participating who don’t have blogs. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m just glad to have found a good use for all the beautiful bright fragments I couldn’t bear to throw out. I do still have one small ‘crumbs’ bag with pieces which are just a bit smaller than the scant 2″ I’m cutting, but I’m being very selective about what goes in there. It was a fun post, but I don’t want to start having too many guest features or it’ll end up not being my blog any more. One or two is fine.

  13. dezertsuz says:

    I should join! Almost everything I do is scrappy. I love your bright squares. That’s going to make someone feel good when life rains on them.

    • katechiconi says:

      The next post is on the 15th of November. If you do want to join in, just email me a day or so before to let me know you have something, and I’ll add a link to your blog. The bright squares will become a quilt which has already been promised, so I must keep it up!

Leave a Reply

