Glad Rags

From the Collins English Dictionary:

plural noun: Glad Rags

  1. (informal) best clothes or clothes used on special occasions

I’m adding a new definition.

     2.  (informal) new clothes to celebrate a landmark event or achievement.

Friday’s surgery marked the very last event of the post-cancer medical-merry-go-round I’ve been on for the last three years. While I’m still sore and tired three days later, the operation has finally restored me to normal as normal as I’m ever going to get, and I’m totally thrilled. It’s time to stop hiding in baggy garments. I am going to ceremonially dispose of the frumpy, ugly undies, the high necked, high-armholed tops, the nana-nighties, all the clothes designed to make me invisible, or at least, extremely recessive. So obviously, replacements are going to be required.

I’m not proposing to start making undies, I think our very nice local lingerie shop has a better selection than I could hope to achieve. But I do want some pretty tops and nighties so I can retire the most ‘blah’ and outsize parts of my wardrobe, and once again be the outgoing, confident dresser I used to be. And I can sew. It’s a no-brainer, really…

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 7.14.50 pmFirst there was a rootle in my dressmaking fabrics box which turned up a black, white and red print. Then there was a repurposing of some pretty dark blue batik quilting fabric and a co-ordinating blender print. I have some lovely navy and white guitar-pick print kindly sent to me by Granny Maud’s Girl some time ago, which I shall team with white. I hauled out some sweet blue floral Japanese fine cotton, and found a pretty bright lilac with white spots in the oddments bin at Spotlight. I have a very easy, quick Burda pattern which can be made as a scoop-neck sleeveless dress, tunic or top, and another which will make a pretty nightie pattern in the right fabric. I am so ready for a change…

Time for some Glad Rags, I think…

50 thoughts on “Glad Rags

  1. NikkiM says:

    On ward and up ward we go!

  2. claire93 says:

    excellent news – I am so looking forward to seeing what you make

    • katechiconi says:

      Well, I think there’s at least two tunics to start with, the lilac spot and the flowery fabric. I have plenty of fabric for those, so I don’t have to fiddle about with the layouts like I will with a couple of the other fabrics.

  3. tialys says:

    Hoorah! Bring on the sexy beast 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      I definitely wouldn’t go that far, but I feel as if I can finally stop hiding the damage, because it’s no longer visible! Bring on the colour! Bring on the (slightly) lower necklines! Bring on the nicer nighties!

  4. rutigt says:

    I´m glad it all went well for you! Enjoy your new cloths. Nice dresses always makes me happy and I guess it´s the same for you 🙂

  5. Clare says:

    Very exciting, and congrats on the new chapter in your life! Can’t wait to see what comes out.

  6. Hooray for you and for recovery in multiple ways! Yes, enjoy pretty clothes that fit well. Remove those from your closet that remind you of unhappy things. Look forward now, while enjoying the present. xoxo

  7. knitnkwilt says:

    Good news is always good to hear. I await photos modeling the new clothes.

  8. lucyannluna says:

    Glad you feel back to ‘normal’, & are able to start to treat yourself, nothing beats a new dress, except more accessories to go with it. Looking forward to seeing what you make. So glad it is all going well.

    • katechiconi says:

      I feel like I can stop hiding now, which is a big thing. It’s no fun covering up in the tropics!

      • lucyannluna says:

        I’m not good in heat, & burn like crazy. I used to find it very difficult when I visited my parents when they lived in Atlanta (USA). At least you will have a cooler summer this year ( seem a bit weird to say this when I was really chilly this evening & I lit the fire, the dog enjoyed it)

      • katechiconi says:

        I’m definitely going to need cooler clothes; we have an El Niño summer on the way: hotter temperatures, less rain, late start to the Wet season… Bring on the cotton!

  9. Grannymar says:

    I am delighted for you and look forward to seeing the new wardrobe. I love new beginnings.

  10. knettycraft says:

    I’m so glad it went well for you. And I’m totally keen to see what you are going to make out of these wonderful fabrics!

  11. I’m so happy for you !!!

  12. Deborah says:

    I love the idea of sewing as a celebration! Can’t wait to see what you come up with. 🙂

  13. EllaDee says:

    Casting out the old and well-worn, and bringing in some new items of clothing is always uplifting. Congratulations on the successful conclusion of the surgery, and I agree no better way to celebrate that with bright new apparel 🙂 I love the colours you’ve chosen 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m drooling over that dark blue and turquoise batik print in particular, but that’ll have to be last; there’s not quite enough of it and I shall have to redraft the pattern to eke it out.

  14. How lovely that you have glad rags to look forward to, and the making will be such fun. Loking forward to seeing them.
    love,
    ViV xox

  15. vivjm says:

    Very pleased for you! And yes, make some pretty undies – what a fabulous way to celebrate being back to your “normal” self 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Sadly, my post-everything body requires the technical expertise of ‘proper’ undies, but by heaven, I’m going to buy the nicest I can! Meanwhile, I’ll be stitching myself some pretty, fresh, summery tops in readiness for the long hot tropical summer we’re told is on the way…

  16. So so very happy for you.

    Although I’m an unrepentant wearer of nana-nighties, I can imagine that ditching them could indeed be a celebratory event. I haven’t sewn nightclothes for anyone but kids before, your post has opened up some new musings. Hmmmm….

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m not visualising anything slinky, being very far from cougar territory, but pretty, a bit less covered up, the odd frill or pintuck… The existing jobs are utilitarian, and make me as invisible as possible. I think the Husband may enjoy the change!

  17. Nanster says:

    We are all excited for you and the patience you have shown is impressive !!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much! I’ve been walking around the last couple of days with my head out from under the grey rain cloud. I didn’t realise it was there until it had gone, and I could enjoy the sun again!

  18. Lorij says:

    Having great health news can really be awesomely motivational. New clothes all ways make a girl feel HAPPY.
    And, pretty undies make you feel pretty all under😆.
    All these things will put a little zip in your step.
    You go girl !!!!!
    Lorij

  19. Hurrah! I like the sound of the end of surgery for you. Long may you stay well and far away from any hospital.
    Another hurrah for new clothes in cheery colours. Life is too short to live in beige.

  20. Kirsten says:

    What a brilliant reason for a complete wardrobe overall! I hope you have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

