AHQ: sneaking in a quick one

I needed some displacement activity yesterday.

It was a poor time to be starting the Corporal’s quilt, my head was all over the place. But while going through my AHQ supplies, I found something I’d created many months earlier for one of the AHQ laundry bags we also make. These are bright and colourful, and personalised. The forces issue plain boring green, blue and white ones, all identical, and it’s all too easy for the wrong one to be collected and uniforms to go astray. I’d made a humorous panel to go on the front of one, so I emailed AHQ to ask if they had a random someone who needed one. Back came the reply, and a lucky Flight Sergeant is getting this:Biohazard LB

Biohazard LB closeupThe fabric of laundry bags needs to be durable, since they get a hell of a beating in the laundry.

I had some denim and some small blue and white check for the lining, plus a little of my favourite roo fabric for a band at the top.

I thought the biohazard panel still needed some zing, so I bordered it with hi-vis orange reflective tape and appliquéd some freehand initials, and it was done.

The bag still needs a cord, I had none left, but I can get some over the weekend and it can go off on Monday, together with some goodies, up to the maximum 2kg weight limit Australia Post will carry for free for the armed forces.  I’m thinking bickies, Pringles, cuppa-soups and Cheesy Vegemite Dippers…

In case you’re wondering, that chemical formula is laundry detergent…!


49 thoughts on “AHQ: sneaking in a quick one

  1. Grannymar says:

    I like the humour!

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I thought it might be appropriate! The Husband and nephew were/are in the Reserves, and the socks that come back from exercises are just feral!

      • Grannymar says:

        I grew up in the middle of four brothers and the laundry and cooking fell to me. Guys don’t need to be in the Military to have stinky socks… maybe it is one of the reasons I took so long to get married! 😉

      • katechiconi says:

        My condolences. I’m one of 5 girls and 2 boys, and I don’t believe the boys (and in this I include my father and grandfather) knew how to use the washing machine…

      • Grannymar says:

        I did have one sister a late tail-ender. My father was allergic to the kitchen and all things ‘household’. My mother had a serious heart attack when I was nine, I was the eldest in the house at the time. so had to deal with her and look after my younger siblings, Daddy and the two older brothers we off somewhere and I had no way to locate them. I grew up fast! She was also a martyr to migraine so I was called to cook meals for the gang, do the washing, starching and ironing… before my homework. Sure it never killed me and Now I can face whatever life throws at me. Hope you are recovering from the surgery and taking it a little easier today.

      • katechiconi says:

        The School of Hard Knocks is often the most valuable education, even if it was tough at the time…
        Lounging on the bed, reading blogs and drinking ginger beer. It’s tough being me!

      • katechiconi says:

        I think stuff like that should be a bit fun for the guys and girls on active duty. I’ve done one or two others before, also humorous.

  2. claire93 says:

    one Lucky flight sergeant indeed ^^

  3. You could go into business with this – it’s brilliant.
    Love,
    ViV

  4. tialys says:

    The only reason this will go missing in the laundry is if somebody nicks it! I love the label and, of course, those roos.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’ll be hard to steal, it has his initials on it, and I purposely stitched them on really strongly so they’ll be hard to come undone and a real pain to unpick!

  5. Lorij says:

    What are bickies? It’s a nice bag.
    How did your surgery go? For some reason I’m not getting the posts, so I read all of them from 27 September until ttoday. I hope things are going well

    • katechiconi says:

      Bickies are Aussie slang for biscuits or, as you’d call them, cookies! I’m feeling pretty good for someone who had an hour’s surgery this morning! Just easily tired…

      • Lorij says:

        I’m so pleased that all went well. I found out why I wasn’t receiving the blog, it was going to the spam box. Bickies is a cute name for cookies. I hope you take it easy for a couple of days so that when you’re strengthen you’ll be up and running.:) I went back and read each post up until well last night here. So happy the blue is completed and you have something that’s an easy go to tinker on. Mend quickly!!!!

      • katechiconi says:

        Thanks, I’m trying to take care of myself, but it’s tricky when I want to go into my sewing room and play!

  6. Dawn says:

    Klever Kate! You are a legend!

  7. Clare says:

    The biohazard sign is truly hilarious! My father (who was, coincidentally, a chemist and would appreciate the humor) recently died, and as we celebrated his life I recalled that he had done every basket of laundry in our house for the last 40 years. My mom was really upset because she didn’t even know how to use the washing machine, and she was a full time stay-at-home mom. I’m still not sure why he insisted on doing the laundry, but I grew up thinking that laundry was “man’s work.”

  8. knitnkwilt says:

    The biohazard panel is just too perfect for a laundry bag! I’m sure it will brighten the service man’s day. I like that you are paired up to make for a specific person. Sounds like you are treating yourself well–a good idea.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s the hope!
      I’m obeying the doctor’s instructions – for now! I can see a time when sleeping elevated, not turning on my side, not raising my arm above shoulder height and other unreasonable demands will be tossed out of the window and I’ll just get on with it!

  9. anne54 says:

    Fantastic Kate. I love your sense of humour.
    How are you feeling now? As right as nine pence, I hope.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yesterday afternoon I was unbelievably dopey until I’d had a long, long nap. After that, I was wobbly but awake. This morning I’m fine, a bit sore and chafing at the restrictions placed on my physical activity, but pretty good otherwise. Thank you so much for asking! 🙂

  10. Lorij says:

    Yes, take it easy and obey the Dr. It’s for your own good. you’ll be mended in a short bit. Let the hubby pamper you a bit. You deserve it.

    • katechiconi says:

      I find it very hard to hold still for being pampered! When I’m well enough to enjoy the attention, I’m also well enough to get up, or that’s what my head tells me!

  11. EllaDee says:

    Fantastic laundry bag, I love the humor and the lucky recipient will as well 🙂
    Glad to see as I scrolled through the comments you are on the mend, evidenced by your wish to get sewing… maybe tomorrow… I hope you’re doing something relaxing but nice for Saturday evening in the meantime 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      The Husband’s on a double shift today, so it’s a quiet evening alone till he gets home at about 9pm… The laundry bag will go off on Monday now that it has its cord; first I have to get some goodies to pack with it when I do the grocery shop tomorrow.

  12. rutigt says:

    Ha……it took me a while to fully understand the biohazard panel, but finally I got it 🙂 Someone will be very happy recieving this bag, I think!

  13. This is pretty wonderful and will be a great joke for the new owner. I’ve enjoyed reading a few of the comments on who in the household does/did laundry. In my home I usually initiate it, but Jim does about as much of the work. In fact these days there is little work to it since the machines do most of it.

    • katechiconi says:

      Hmm, sorting, loading, unloading, hanging out, bringing in, folding and putting away… Mostly that falls to me rather than machinery, although the Husband does sometimes help with hanging out and bringing in the dry clothes. But yes, I think that laundry bag will make the FltSgt laugh, even if he just has to load it up and carry it to the laundry!

  14. Jule says:

    Love the panel 😀 Good to hear you’re feeling better.

  15. Kirsten says:

    Love that bio-hazard panel! 🙂

  16. Kirsten says:

    PS – hope you are feeling better.

  17. Emmely says:

    This will certainly be appreciated by the recipient and his collegues are bound to get jealous!
    Hope you’ll recover soon, am glad to read the surgery went well.

  18. Great label. Someone will be pleased to own this.

  19. […] kits 1 and 2 Octagonal sewing box tested for Tialys, same box made for the Dowager Gerbera bag AHQ laundry bag Striped tuffet Paper pieced tea pot and cups heat pad and mug […]

Leave a Reply

