Doggies, Doggies, Doggies!

Done, done, done!*

Here it is.

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 3.59.34 amAnd my room is cleared of blue and white threads, scraps, bits of batting and fluff. The floor is swept, and I’ve cleaned my sewing machine of a huge cloud of lint – it’s worked hard in the last couple of months. I’m going to take a bit of a break from quilting for a few days. Time to think about something else for a few days, give my back and hands a rest.

I’m happy to see it go, for several reasons: having made this pattern 4 times now, it’s not a fresh challenge; I don’t become emotionally attached (luckily!); and I enjoy finishing and sending out something that will give someone else so much pleasure.  Plus it clears the decks for the next big thing. More on that another time.

Best of all, I’m done in loads of time for the birthday!

 

*For the non-Australians, this is based on the Aussie sports chant “Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, oi, oi, oi!”, frequently heard at international rugby and cricket matches… (By the way, did you notice I didn’t do a single gloat about the England – Australia Rugby World Cup match result?)

39 thoughts on “Doggies, Doggies, Doggies!

  1. claire93 says:

    brilliant job Kate
    and feel welcome to gloat ^^

  2. Carole says:

    That looks brilliant, and how good it will be going back to sew something new with a lovely clean craft room 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Sadly the room won’t stay clean for long, but I’m hugely excited about the next project. It’s a biggie, so I’m going to wait a while before I actually start working on it. More thinking time needed…

  3. pattisj says:

    I like the colors in this.

  4. Good job! My daughter is lucky enough to have had the fates come together for her to go to the World Cup. She’ll be leaving Tuesday and managing to spend time in France, England and Ireland……..not that I’m jealous or anything……….

  5. I know that finally finished and done feeling. That sense of accomplishment is like no other. Enjoy your down time.

  6. Bravo, that’s a big achievement, specially given the time constraints.
    Few days rest of not, I bet the cogs are whirring with the next project!

    Rugby? No comment.

    • katechiconi says:

      Whirring they are, and multi tasking at that. In addition to the big project I really want to start, I’ve agreed to make another Aussie Hero Quilt for a young corporal in the ADF; a perfect use for all the Doggy scraps, and the deadline is beginning of December, so not at all difficult, bearing in mind it’s only 70 x 42″ to fit his ‘rack’.

  7. tialys says:

    I’m sure that is going to be very well received!
    Don’t you have mixed loyalties when it comes to sporting events?

  8. Lovely quilt, Kate! I need to use more strong blues, you have inspired me!
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      There’s a whole lot more strong blue there than I would normally use, but some of those prints are gorgeous – I particularly love the dark blue with a large teal spot, the greenish one with tiny spirals and of course the three feature prints. I have lots of lovely scraps to play with, and already one idea of what to use them for!

  9. rutigt says:

    Congrats to another finshed quilt!!! It´s a great quilt. I love the blue fabrics. Have always loved the blue colour, but it took me years before I sew my own blue quilt 🙂

  10. EllaDee says:

    Your blue & white cheering might have gotten lost in the roar from North Queensland and a sea of navy, yellow, grey & white celebrations after Sunday night 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, it’s been interesting to observe the stunned silence as everyone south of Brisbane realised that there are people in North Queensland too… and actually, they play rugby rather well – and sorry, but you’re not invited! Hopefully the Doggies quilt and its Swans consort will sit side by side on the same sofa, consoling each other that there’s always next year…

  11. anne54 says:

    All the rugby comments are leaving me, a southerner who has been away from any news for 3 weeks now, rather bemused ☺️, but I love the quilt, Kate.

    • katechiconi says:

      The grand final was between two north Queensland teams… Those of us who live north of Brisbane finally get a look in!

      • anne54 says:

        That is impressive! I bet there were many Sydneysiders mumbling that the game will never be the same. I say this because I know that if there is not a Melbourne team in the AFL grand final many think the world is going to explode!

  12. katechiconi says:

    There was quite a lot of muttering on the part of Queenslanders, who felt the final ought to be played up here – with some reason, I feel! I rarely pay much attention to sport, but this one was a bit of a biggie!

  13. My goodness, I think I you made something that is both football related and attractive in its own right. Wow! The blues are lovely and vibrant. Spotlight, you say?
    I read the extra border around the middle was an oopsie, but I really like it. Perfect call on the chevron/mitre problem too – corner stones!

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, Spotlight. The range is Singin’ the Blues, and there are quite a few very nice co-ordinating prints, some faintly Moorish-tile in feel, which I like a lot. However, I’m depriving myself of further fabric purchases until I’ve done at least *some* of the quilt projects lined up in boxes in my cupboard!

  14. […] & quilted, large lap size Bookcase Quilt for my niece: machine stitched & quilted, lap size Bulldogs Quilt for a birthday: machine stitched & quilted, queen size The start of The Cloths of […]

Leave a Reply

