SAL 18: A brief break from khaki

I’ve been a bit busy in the sewing department recently.

I picked up the ANZAC piece, looked at it, and promptly returned it to its basket. With so much else swirling around in my head, it was just too hard; you need to concentrate a lot to make sure you get it right, and as this is a gift for the Husband, I don’t want to mess it up.

Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 7.19.16 amSo I’m giving myself a holiday from multiple colours. This is a small, simple dark blue sampler I’ve started as a respite from the khaki frenzy that is ANZAC. It’s small enough to be fun, simple enough to be soothing, and as I don’t have a recipient in mind or a deadline to meet, it’s perfect for my current state of mind. I will get back to ANZAC soon, but preferably when I don’t have a delivery deadline for a quilt, another for baking and some surgery to look forward to later this week!

As always, it’s worth your while visiting the other SAL stitchers, who have, I’m sure, been much more industrious than I… Don’t forget about the difference in time zones; you’ll need to drop in a bit later to give them a chance to get their posts up.

Avis at http://sewingbesidethesea.wordpress.com

Claire at http://claire93.wordpress.com

Gun at http://rutigt.wordpress.com

Carole at http://aslightobsessionwithbooks.wordpress.com

Jule at http://fromtheboudoir.wordpress.com

Elizabeth at http://stitch4therapy.wordpress.com

Wendy at http://thecraftersapprentice.blogspot.co.uk

Lucy at https://lucyannluna.wordpress.com

Cathy at http://nanacathydotcom.wordpress.com

Jacqui at http://thestitchingline.com

Jess at https://everthecrafter.wordpress.com

31 thoughts on “SAL 18: A brief break from khaki

  1. I don’t know how you fit it all in. Bon courage for the surgery, I hope it achieves everything youre hoping for.
    love,
    ViV xox

  2. claire93 says:

    an excellent idea to start something simple.
    Fingers crossed for surgery ^^

  3. lucyannluna says:

    Love that Angel at the top,& good luck hope all goes well

  4. tialys says:

    Sometimes simple is good.
    I hope all goes well with the surgery – nothing serious I hope

    • katechiconi says:

      Nope, just the last gasp of cancer reconstructive surgery. Once this is done, I can forget the whole nasty business. It’s a simple day procedure, but I’ll be even vaguer than usual next day.

  5. rutigt says:

    You don´t have to be on the top every day! Just take it easy and take care of yourself 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, Gun, I shall try. I feel good when I’m creating something, but it can be very tiring if I work too long and try and do too much in one day. ‘Resting’ is no fun for me, I am much happier when I’m ‘doing’.

  6. Best wishes for an easy, comfortable week. Hugs!

  7. Kirsten says:

    Sometimes simple is better.

  8. Emmely says:

    Good luck with the surgery! Sometimes simple things work best and it will only lead to trouble later on when you ignore that so I think it wise that you ignore the various shades of khaki for a bit.

  9. Carole says:

    Good idea to pick up something simple while you feel you can’t concentrate enough on ANZAC.
    Wishing you all the best for the surgery 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Not having to worry about messing up the colour does allow me to ensure I get the counting right, at any rate. Thanks for the good wishes, I’m sure it will be a breeze, but it’ll be uncomfortable for a few days at least.

  10. Remember, the SAL isn’t meant to put anyone under pressure. You sew when you want to and what you want to and only when you feel up to it. I hope you’ll have a quick recovery after the surgery. I’ll be thinking of you Kate 🙂

  11. Grannymar says:

    You need some ‘me’ time and let the body rest for a few days, I hate to be idle, but it paid off for me, listen to gun she is talking good sense! Will be thinking of you on Friday.

    • katechiconi says:

      You’re not wrong. What I really need is a major lie in, but while the Husband is on day shift, it’s a 3.30am start, so that’s out until I actually go into hospital! It’s a baking day today, but tomorrow, I’m going to try for lazy…

      • Grannymar says:

        Being lazy now and then is not a sin… that only happens when you become addicted and I guess there is no fear of that! 😉

      • katechiconi says:

        Your guess would be right! As I write, I have just finished the day’s baking and all is in order to be delivered tomorrow. So I’m taking my ease on the sofa with my feet up, drinking ginger beer and eating a small chicken and avocado mini-quiche… I give it 10 minutes before I think of something I *have* to do!

  12. Grannymar says:

    Enjoy, I am off for my shower and breakfast!

  13. I’ll be keeping good thoughts for your surgery. I can attest the fact that even the simplest of surgeries can take it’s tole on the body. help it out and give it all the rest it needs. I’m like you, I’d rather be doing but even the tiny surgery I had, required more rest than I expected. I decided to enjoy it. I love cross stitch but can no longer do it. I found it relaxing once upon a time.

    • katechiconi says:

      I always come round slowly and stay groggy for a day or so after, so I’m not going to ask too much of myself the next day. Once I’ve made my deliveries this morning, I’m free for the rest of the week, and plan to make good use of it – doing as little as possible!

  14. nanacathy2 says:

    Well I am just impressed by you.

Leave a Reply

