Go the Doggies! Time out…

I have one more day of quilting to get through…

It’s quite strenuous; the quilt is more than 10 feet long on the diagonal, and hauling that through the machine, rolling and unrolling, resisting the stubborn forces of gravity and generally getting a flat working surface all take it out of you a bit. On the upside, I have had extra time to work on it and am making good progress. But it was beginning to hurt my back, and I decided to stop for the day and finish it tomorrow. There’s really nothing to show you in a photo, and maybe you’ll enjoy a break from blue and white too!

Since we are not having our trip to Cairns and all the fun that entails, we decided to make the next 4 days an assembly of small pleasures to make up for it. So today we had a sushi picnic at the beach. Not that I’m gloating or anything, but I just want to share the view with you…

Flat Top and Round TopTonight we’re off to the movies. Tomorrow morning we’re taking the scooters out for a run in the sunshine. Simple pleasures… And then in the afternoon, back to quilting, ready for the last stage, the binding.

I enjoyed my little break. Now, back to the ruck.

28 thoughts on “Go the Doggies! Time out…

  1. claire93 says:

    let me know when you plan the next sushi picnic, I’ll be there ^^

  2. EllaDee says:

    A staycation… and you’re in the loveliest place to make the most of it 🙂 I’m Kermit green with envy at that pic of the beach.

  3. rutigt says:

    I´m also quilting today, but only an hour or so. I easily make mistakes if I sit to long at the sewingmachine 🙂 This afternoon DH and I are going out in the woods looking for berries and muchroooms. No picnic, just work!

  4. Lovely view… still plenty of blue!

  5. rutigt says:

    I´m also quilting today, but only for a while, cause I easily et tired and start making lots of mistakes 🙂 This afternoon DH and I are heading out in the Woods for bearies and muchrooms.

  6. tialys says:

    Definitely a view worth sharing. I’m just a teensy bit jealous.

  7. Fabulous beach. Was that a casuarina tree I spied on the right of the picture? I too had a day off hand quilting yesterday, a dental morning and pm we had one lot of uexpected visitors after another. This morning I saw the orthopod, and pm I’m making Christmas cakes, but after that, it’s snuggle down and sew.
    Enjoy your special things and don’t work too hard.

  8. Simple pleasures are indeed wonderful things – and look at that stunning beach…sigh!

  9. Kirsten says:

    Ooo, a sushi picnic on the beach sounds amazing, especially as it is so pretty!

  10. Lorij says:

    I’m glad you got a wonderful break. Sometimes a vacation is better at home. You don’t have to pay for a hotel room and you get to sleep in your own bed and you’re able to enjoy a break from the normal routine of things.

Leave a Reply

