42 thoughts on “Go the Doggies! Top’s done

  1. knettycraft says:

    It looks beautiful! Blue is normally not my favourite. … but I like the colours in your quilt.

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t think I’d make a quilt in just blue and white for myself unless the fabrics were very special. I couldn’t face doing such a big quilt in plain blues and whites, so I tried to mix it up a little and introduce slightly different blues and patterns of different scale. I’m glad you like it, I think it works well!

  2. Jeepers creepers, I really hope the rain comes soon for you. Don’t want to go on like that for too long 😦

    • katechiconi says:

      No… everything’s crispy apart from the vegie garden and things in tubs and pots. Even the acacia has lost its leaves – gasp! They told us it would be an El Niño year, so it’ll be hotter, drier and the Wet will start late. Happy days…

  3. EllaDee says:

    That’s a nice plain pattern… if you know what I mean. Now you have the quilt in off the line I’ll send rainy thoughts your way… it’s been heavy showery and cold (feels like 10 deg c cold) here for days.

    • katechiconi says:

      The forecast is for rain in the second half of next week. Just in time for our 4 day trip to Cairns on Miss Scarlett… I do know what you mean about the quilt, and as it’s for a bloke, and a team quilt, it was specially designed that way!

  4. Wow, Those blues are so fun! They are so cheery!
    Hugs
    Esther

  5. You’ve done a beautiful job on this one and the fella getting it will love it. I get the fire danger. We’ve just come through that and we have been there many times over the years but this year has come to a whole new level of danger. Anxious to see what you are working on next.

  6. Oooh, those blues are luscious! The backing, I think, will be just perfect.

  7. Emmely says:

    Love the colours, it turned out great! I’m sure it will be greatly appreciated.
    I’ll happily send you some of our rain. It feels as if I’ve worn my raincoat, or wished I had brought it so I could put it on, more in the past month than all months of last year combined.

  8. Your work rate is phenomenal! And I really love those bright blues. Praying for rain for you.
    love,
    ViV xox

  9. Magpie Sue says:

    It looks great! The recipient will love it. Finding the right fabric for the back of a quilt can indeed be a challenge. I just bought six yards to cut and repiece for the large medallion quilt I’m working on. All I have to do now is recover from the trip to the store.
    We’re desperate for rain around here too. Or even snow in the mountains. Unfortunately the forecast doesn’t look promising.

    • katechiconi says:

      It will rain again eventually, it’s just disheartening to see the hardship of the farmers, and to watch all my lush garden greenery turn dry and brown. Hope your chemical overload passes soon!

  10. Lorij says:

    Because of the drought in California there have been awful fires. Not to far away from here 400 families lost their homes and cars. The fires break out and then they move where folk are living. Sometimes when driving down the highway the grass will just start to burn. I’m hoping that you all get some rain, not too much just enough and CA too.
    When you do the back it’s better to do three sections or 4 instead of a seam down the middle. It fares better with age.
    I’ll send a photo of the little one I’m doing for my sister. I only have to do the edges. 😊

    • katechiconi says:

      Normally that’s how I’d piece the back, but I’m desperately short of time, this quilt will not see daily use, and because I’m using fabric someone else is paying for, I feel obliged to be as economical as possible. A central seam makes a backing exactly the right width with no waste.

  11. rutigt says:

    That backing fabric is gorgeous! Almost too gorgeous for a quiltbacking 🙂

  12. claire93 says:

    it looks great and I love your choice of backing fabric

  13. tialys says:

    Another gorgeous quilt put together in super quick time. I love that fabric range and it has worked so well in this project.

  14. Would look lovely in a white room.

Leave a Reply

