53 thoughts on “Go the Doggies! Damage control

  1. and seam rippers shouldn’t be underestimated !!! i’ve had many a foul up…..

  2. Jule says:

    I like how the blue border makes the logo stand out a little more. 🙂

  3. tialys says:

    I actually prefer it like that too.
    What a good wife you are btw. Mr. T. gets up at 4.15 Monday mornings to fly over to the U.K. but I don’t get up with him. He leaves it right to the last minute and doesn’t want any breakfast so I’d only get in his way 😉 Even then, I find it very difficult to get back to sleep again afterwards but, so far, have only read a book and not staggered – uncaffeined – into my workroom.

    • katechiconi says:

      We have it down to a fine art now. By the time he emerges from the shower and gets dressed, there’s hot soup, coffee, juice, water, fruit, a sandwich and some nuts to see him through a 12-14 hour shift. Since there’s nothing much else going on at such an ungodly hour of the morning, I get quite a lot done if I get cracking!

  4. Grannymar says:

    ‘Every fault is a fashion’ comes to mind and the extra border looks just fine as if it was meant to be there. Excellent progress,

  5. claire93 says:

    Mr C gets up at 5 every morning and I don’t even hear him leave ^^ Just roll over and carry on snorring lol.
    Well done on finding a rapid solution to the accident

  6. I positively prefer the extra border! The treatment for not enough sleep is to give up coffee! I’m not allowed caffeine and seem to sleep a great deal of the time!

  7. Essential tools for any craft work in my house… and even then success is not guaranteed. I have now frogged the socks made with the hand-dyed wool three times despite ample coffee and sleep… finally I think they are right.
    Anyway, the quilt does look lovely and that extra border does not look in any way like a fix.

  8. katechiconi says:

    If it hadn’t turned out so well, I’d *still* be kicking myself for fiddling around with the ripper – I was trying to unpick a few wonky stitches to straighten a seam. In the end, the whole thing had to be unpicked…

  9. Kirsten says:

    Whoopsie! I think you solved it perfectly.
    My nemesis with seam rippers are button holes, so easy to accidentally ‘extend’ them . . .

  10. It was meant to be. Much better with the blue 🙂

  11. Oh dear Kate, I tried so hard to not tell you it was a medallion quilt, and now you’ve found it out anyway! Love the blue edge. Some of my best design decisions are unintended ones, too. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      So actually everything surrounding the logo is just the world’s largest medallion quilt border…! I like the blue border too, I just wish it hadn’t arrived as a result of such stupidity!

  12. Debbierose says:

    Lovely blue hues. Yes lack of sleep makes frogging for me too

  13. knitnkwilt says:

    Cheers for the errors that end up improving a piece! (Would that they all did.)

  14. knettycraft says:

    Happy accident. I really like the contrast the blue strip gives to the center piece.

  15. Magpie Sue says:

    Great save. 🙂 I agree with the others, I think it actually looks better now. Maybe this accident was meant to happen? (Bet you won’t forget your coffee the next time!)

    • katechiconi says:

      …Even the Husband is now checking I’ve had my coffee when he knows I’ll be sewing early! I think it must have been meant, both to improve the look of the quilt, and to teach me a valuable lesson about getting my brain in gear!

  16. Lorij says:

    Kate,
    First off, let me say I’m not one who loves blue. I love cobalt, bright royal blue and deep aquamarine. That has been my blue limit. But, I really, really, really like this quilt. I think that because it has a great mixture of the blues I like and very little white It’s beautiful. Accidents birth masterpieces! ! ! !
    And, the way you added the borders simply makes it pop.
    Stop beating your self up and be happy. You did good😄😄😄😄

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s funny, but there are actually just as many fabrics with a white/pale background as there are solid blue ones, in the small squares at any rate. It’s just that the blues are so rich that they work harder. I’m so glad you like it, and that you’ve changed your mind a little about blue – it’s one of my favourites!

  17. EllaDee says:

    Nice save… you could have just gone along with the story of an inspired variation.
    I need 2 morning coffees before I contemplate anything, and I learned early on that the G.O. is a grumpy bugger on early workday mornings, and to stay safely in bed.

    • katechiconi says:

      I thought about just pretending I’d meant it all along, but thought that would be a bit, well, devious… and anyway, it turned out better than it would if I hadn’t been such a klutz. I won’t be missing my morning cuppa again in a hurry.

  18. Emmely says:

    I think I really like the extra blue border, but I know exactly how you must have felt when the accident happened!
    The workscheme of your husband sounds awful though. I would not be able to do that. When my boyfriend started his first job I tried to wake up and have breakfast with him. The getting up worked out alright, I actually managed to complete a lot of homework before going to classes which made me feel completely on top of stuff. It also meant I wanted to go to bed before 9 pm, which wasn’t so great for my social life so now we get up at different times.

    • katechiconi says:

      We tend to go to bed at 9.30 on work nights, but the good thing is that he works 4 day shifts, 4 night shifts (starting at 7pm), and then 4 days off. So we don’t have to do it all the time, and can have a lie in on the night shift and off days!

  19. What a happy accident that turned out to be. The consensus seems to be hooray for the new border and I have to agree. Also have to agree with the coffee. Absolutely nothing gets accomplished around here until coffee has been consumed. And the quilted coffee coaster is very cute, btw.

  20. dayphoto says:

    I’m a huge fan of seam rippers, or if in a pinch, a razor blade.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  21. Enough sleep and coffee are prerequisites for nearly every endeavor. May you have enough of both!

  22. rutigt says:

    Early mornings are not for me 🙂 I once worked at a hotel, at breakfast. It was a great job, but I had to go up at three am and that wasn´t fun at all.
    Like your dogquilt!

Leave a Reply

