36 thoughts on “Go the Doggies! The game plan

  1. EllaDee says:

    Great minds think alike… I thought a blue chevron around the logo is exactly what’s needed 🙂
    It’s incredible how much you accomplish, and the quilt looks amazing.

    • katechiconi says:

      It *will*, once all the pins are replaced by stitching. It’s a slow and meticulous process; you’re matching up hundreds of squares and need to get the seam allowances very accurate or it’ll go wonky very quickly. I have the top two rows together since posting, but I’m stopping now. The Husband has very kindly passed on his nasty cold, and I’m starting to feel extremely ordinary!

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    Yeah, I’ve had to redesign (or rip) a couple times because I got mixed up. I think I finally have a system now–at least I haven’t messed up since I started it. I don’t flip the blocks, but stack them in a row, all face up, picking them up left to right. The top one gets a pin to the left with an arrow pointing right (so that if I put it aside I can figure it out later. And I pin a piece of paper with the row number too. I either leap-frog between two rows or sew a leader/ender between each piece.

    I agree with reducing the white, and zig zag sounds like a great plan. Nice layout!

    • katechiconi says:

      That sounds like an excellent system, but I don’t underestimate my own capacity to stuff it up. As it is, I work with my laptop beside me and the image open on the screen. It’ll be several rows before I have to do anything about the white panel, so I’m letting the idea simmer on the back burner; my subconscious may come up with something even better…

  3. Magpie Sue says:

    Nothing like a simple, straightforward design plan. 🙂 Sending you good vibes for keeping the patches in their proper places.

  4. Great planning. How about reducing the white round the logo by adding a border to it or even an appliqued zigzag? Bon courage for the piecing.

  5. claire93 says:

    well done on getting your layout decided
    that’s one of the hardest parts

    • katechiconi says:

      It is indeed, which is why I leaped out of bed this morning and got started before I could think of any excuses. It wasn’t actually too hard because I had enough choice of fabrics.

  6. nanacathy2 says:

    It is very dramatic, I love it

  7. tialys says:

    Great idea to put a border round the central square – it will look even better than it does already.
    I’m not entirely sure you don’t make sports themed quilts just so you can capitalise on punning opportunities 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, I’ve barely scratched the surface… Console yourself with the idea that I’m working fast so it won’t last long, and I’m suffering just as much as you are thanks to the Husband’s kindly donated germs.

  8. Lorij says:

    😊 Husbands are wonderful most of the time but, when they have colds or flu they can keep their germ sharing to them
    selves !!!!!!!!😯

  9. rutigt says:

    Yes!! I know you´d do a great job with those blue squares. 🙂

  10. anne54 says:

    Looks great! Those aquas are very pleasing colours. 😊

  11. Kirsten says:

    Ooh, I like it! I feel as if those large squares of chevron fabric are trying to hypnotise me!

  12. This is very fun. I like the multiple sizes of squares to break up the layout. And yes, edging the logo will make it more important, not less. Good work!

  13. I just love these blue’s !

  14. knettycraft says:

    Wow… Mrs. Speedy… that looks great!

  15. knettycraft says:

    Kate, you described in several posts you printed motifs to transfer with your domestic printer… I suppose you iron it on your fabric afterwards… I would be very interested to know more about this method 🙂 what kind of transfer material is needed for that, do you use common ink?

  16. katechiconi says:

    I posted about this in the following: https://talltalesfromchiconia.wordpress.com/2015/08/13/the-bookcase-quilt-penguins-anyone
    You need to reverse the image you want to transfer, and if your printer does not have this option, you can do it in PicMonkey – the link is also in that post. I have an ordinary HP domestic inkjet print printer, which uses HP ink cartridges you can buy in the supermarket. I use either of the two papers shown in the post I’ve linked to above. The TAP is more expensive but produces a very nice result and works more quickly. You can also use it to apply images to all sorts of surfaces. However, the paper is a little smaller, so large designs can be tricky. The Epson paper is much cheaper, needs quite a lot of heat to work well, and the colours are not so bright and there’s a yellowish tinge in the background, but for some purposes that doesn’t matter. Plus you can use the full A4 size of the paper. It’s really only meant to be used on fabric. Both kinds of paper have very good instructions in the pack. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

