ScrapHappy September

Woo hoo!  I’m on time! (It must be all the cake…)

Once again, it’s the 15th of the month, the day Gun and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps – no new fabrics. It can be a random or formal quilt block, a pillow or pincushion, a bag or hat, a collage or rag rug. Anything made of scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address shown on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join.

ScrapHappySep2015Here’s this month’s scrap block, nice and random. The observant among you will notice that the fabrics are all ones which featured in the Bookcase Quilt, and the block has eaten up all the very small pieces nicely! Twice happy! There are lots of long strips left, so I’m pretty sure you’ll see the same fabrics again, but this 12″ block has used everything shorter than 6″ long.

Linking with

Gun at https://rutigt.wordpress.com (in English and Swedish)

Titti at http://tittisquiltlek.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

Helena at http://www.helenaahman.se (in Swedish only)

and a last-minute addition!

Sue at http://sewingmagpie.blogspot.com.au

 

31 thoughts on “ScrapHappy September

  1. tialys says:

    Lovely! Will you be making all the scrappy blocks you make into one quilt eventually?

    • katechiconi says:

      I think so. So far the three blocks I’ve done work well together. The second one, last month’s offering, is very large and may get cut down into several more manageable pieces. But I don’t think the hexie one I did will be the last – it’s such a great portable project.

  2. EllaDee says:

    You answered my thought… that looks familiar… before I could barely think it 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      As I said in another comment, it’s a totally random arrangement of all the smallest scraps. I don’t think it’s the last time those fabrics will appear, as I have plenty of large strips left!

  3. A vibrant block. You have great scraps! My current scrap quilt is now lingering somewhere between single and double size! Here is the largest crumb (small scrap) quilt I’ve ever made: https://vivinfrance.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/half-of-sallys-sofa-cover1.jpg?w=640&h=401

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t think I’ll be catching up any time very soon, but I’ll keep plugging away. I’m trying to use my smallest pieces first, which makes for laborious work but rather interesting blocks. Join us again next month?

  4. knettycraft says:

    Very lovely and colourful. Meanwhile I have different scrappy projects so I’m thinking about entering the ScrappyHappy Month group. I am off from work this week (I catched a stomach flue), so I would join from next month on (a post at 15th of the month about a progress in a scrappy project and links to the other participants?).

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s it. Just email me a day or so before to let me know if you have anything to show, and I will put in a link to your blog in my post and let Gun know. I’ll let you know if anyone else is doing it so you can link to them too. No pressure, just a way to munch those scraps! I hope you’ll be feeling better very soon. xxxx

  5. rutigt says:

    Great block! Hope we´ll have more blogs to link to in Otober 🙂

  6. So what do you do with the one block? I love it.

  7. Magpie Sue says:

    I’ve managed to whip up turn some tiny scraps into small blocks and posted it on my blog. Too late to be linked up?

  8. knitnkwilt says:

    I spy a fabric I used for an outfit for my kids when they were aroun 2,4! Always fun to reconize a scrap.

  9. katechiconi says:

    Yes, I know which one you mean. I do love this stripe, and I have only a few scraps left. I’ll be using the last large piece in the scrappy binding for the Bookcase Quilt.

  10. Lorij says:

    I don’t have a blog but I’ll send a photo of the blocks I made with scraps if that’s okay. They’re strips on one side and a brown print on the other side. Both are scraps.

  11. […] can make it one scrappy block at a time, I can do it almost by stealth, and as part of the monthly ScrapHappy block post that Gun and I do on the 15th of each month. Watch this space. One of these days, I’ll be […]

Leave a Reply

