Beyond the Blog

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a HUGE fan of blogging.
What, you’d noticed…?

But friends we make on blogs are at arm’s length. For many people, that’s the ideal distance. Blogging friends appear and disappear as they switch on or off the device of choice, and they are safely insulated from each other. That’s not enough for me, though. I like contact.

For some time now, I’ve been Skyping with friends I’ve made on this blog. Living where I do, in the north of Queensland, remote from the rest of Australia and indeed the rest of the world, it has been a lifeline. It’s so much more fun to exchange ideas, thoughts, jokes and suggestions in real time, face to face. Last year, I took the plunge and proposed a meeting in person with a blogging friend who lives en route when we were visiting friends and family in New South Wales. She was agreeable, despite the foreboding and dreadful warnings of her friends, who thought I might be a dangerous loony. As it turns out, neither of us is either dangerous or (more than average) lunatic, and we enjoyed our visit so much that it’s become a regular feature of our journeys south. I’ll be seeing her in a couple of days – Hi, Nanette!

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 6.50.39 am Screen Shot 2015-08-28 at 6.09.54 pm

Screen Shot 2015-08-28 at 6.09.41 pmOver the past half year, I’ve become friendly with another fellow blogger, this time someone who has a part-time home relatively close to where my sister lives. By lucky chance, we were both going to be in the same part of the world at the same time, so of course, a meeting had to be arranged! In a beautiful and peaceful corner of New South Wales, we drank coffee, ate cake, talked, took in fabulous views and in my case, suffered a bad case of verandah envy…  The Husbands bonded over home renovation and motor-bikes, and we talked about food, life, the tree-change lifestyle and places in the surrounding countryside we might visit together some time in the future. One day… when we’re both in the area for longer than a few days at a time – probably when the Husband and I have retired. It was a hugely enjoyable day, and I hope we’ll be able to catch up again some time soon. Thanks, Ella Dee, I had a wonderful time…

Neither of these nice people has been scary, weird, obsessive or a mistake to know better. I’m pretty sure the world is full of more like them. So I’m going to continue to look for friends Beyond the Blog.

49 thoughts on “Beyond the Blog

  1. I too have met a couple of fellow bloggers who have been wonderful folk and communicate regularly with others via e-mail, whatapp etc. It’s great and we know they are people who share interests with us as we read each other’s blogs 🙂

  2. claire93 says:

    I totally agree – I have met some internet friends in person and it’s been great!

  3. manicmumdays says:

    … One time when you’re meandering north you’re welcome to have a coffee stop here 😉

  4. How lovely! I’m a newcomer to blogging and this community of creative people – I’ve encountered nothing but support and encouragement. Oh, some very welcome comic relief!

    • katechiconi says:

      I encourage you to meet with blogging friends if you get the chance. It’s a great way to make friends with interests like yours, and gives you a chance to get to know them better through their blogs before you do. We have far less opportunity in ‘real life’, where meetings are random.

  5. anne54 says:

    It is great to hear that two of my blogging friends have met up in real time! I love how blogging gives us the opportunity to develop friendships that wouldn’t have been possible — unless it was in the old Pen Friend days! And drop by if you even make it as far south as Melbourne.

  6. alaskannancy says:

    You have something in common with Alaska: Somewhat remote!

  7. I’m glad you’re having a good time. Most likely you’ll find the people you meet to be pretty normal. 🙂
    I’ve had some very good experiences with other bloggers and have met many in person. One has stayed with us a couple of times; we’ve stayed with someone (who we now know to be a narcissist and though not dangerous, not someone we’re friends with;) we’ve hiked with one; and I count one as one of my best friends. I’ve also had one of the worst experiences of my life (literally), and that was with someone I didn’t meet in person. That experience took more than a year to recover from (literally), and it still spends too much time in the forefront of my brain. But because of that I am pretty cautious now. No more fast friends for me, unfortunately. And that’s enough of that…

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m so sorry you had such a bad experience; it’s clearly had a lasting effect. I have been fortunate in my blogging friends, and one particular experience has been the best one of my life: meeting the person who would become my husband in due course. I can see that you have solid grounds for caution, but I find the rewards of making contact much greater, and will happily continue to meet my blogging friends in person.

  8. pattisj says:

    I’ve been fortunate to meet several bloggers in my area. It’s like meeting with old friends.

  9. Agreed completely. I have met several of my virtual friends, and hit it off immediately. I also enjoy the network of bloggers we meet on other blogs, far away or near.. Communication is what it’s all about, and communication must be a forerunner to peace.
    love,
    ViV

    • katechiconi says:

      The blog enables us to make and keep friends in places we’ll never visit, as well as those closer to home. I wouldn’t say Ella Dee is just around the corner, a two day drive is far by any standards, but while she and I were in the same 200 square km, a meeting was called for!

  10. Great post, glad to know that other people don’t consider you “a dangerous loony”. 🙂
    Maybe one day you’ll get to visit this southernmost part of Africa, and we’ll take the cable car up Table mountain and have our coffee and cake up there.

  11. Emmely says:

    I think most people will turn out to be quite normal when you meet them in person. Although I don’t think you can ever get the complete picture of someone’s personality from only reading their blog, I hope that people that only know me from my blog won’t be surprised by how I really am when they meet me.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think it’s possible to get a sense of whether someone is friendly, or grumpy or a bit obsessive, though. A blog is a way of reaching out to others for me, but I do appreciate it doesn’t work that way for everyone…

      • Emmely says:

        Writing style already gives away quite a bit. And if someone uses pictures of themselves in their posts you’ll at least know what they look like in advance. 😉 Unless of course they steal those from someone else’s blog, but that does seem like a lot of work. It might happen though. Have you ever seen the MTV program catfish? In this program they visit people that are a bit suspicious because someone met them on Facebook and they developed a relationship, but they usually only have 1 or 2 pictures of themselves and don’t want to videochat or meet up. When they visit these people they usually turn out to look completely different from their pictures.

      • katechiconi says:

        I’ve never seen the program, but it sounds quite interesting – and serves as a warning to the creepy people out there! Most people I have met through the blog find my conversation very familiar, because I write exactly as I think and speak… What you read, is what you get.

  12. I was a bit nervous about our first Skype conversation, but really glad that you suggested it. I’m sure you are just as likely to meet dangerous loonies in real life as via the internet. The most unpleasant (and dangerous) people I have ever met have been in person… it’s a risk you take with any interaction.

  13. wombatquilts says:

    I loved meeting you and your darling husband. It was the first time my internet world had met the real world. I hope we get to do it again soon!

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, so do I! Please do tell us if you come back, and we’ll pull out all the stops to achieve another meeting. That’s the only problem with meeting bloggers; half the time they’re out of reach on the other side of the world, not exactly handy for meeting up for a coffee…!

  14. I had to stop by, just had to and lo and behold, I’m hooked. I’ve read through half of Augusts post already. I love the bookcase quilt. Have wanted to make one forever but not that good a quilter…yet. Yours is stunning. I’m with you on needing real people. Met another blogger in my area here and she turned out not to be a stalking lunatic either. :)) I’ve met some of the nicest people here and I think you can get to know someone quite well by how they write. BTW, you two ladies look a lot alike. I thought you might even pass for sisters in your smiles. I’m so glad I finally got a chance to stop by here. It’s been a long crazy summer here and I’m ready to see it wind down to get some inside work done. Like sewing. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I have to tell you, the book case quilt is so far one of the easiest I’ve made, it’s just strips. Go for it! Ella Dee is a wonderful person with her heart solidly in the right place and a great deal of care for the world and everything in it. She’s worth following too. xxx

      • Thanks, I’ll stop by. Almost done with the house cleaning so i get to sit a minute. When it rains, I can’t paint or work outside. :))) Not that I mind the work, it’s just nice to have a change.

  15. I will reserve final judgement about whether you are a dangerous loony until we meet in March. OK? You, of course, can also reserve judgement about me until then too! 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m not sure that two such dangerous loonies ought to be kept waiting so long. It might set off a crisis! But I seriously doubt that any character traits you display will cause regret that we met…

  16. Lorij says:

    I really like your blog. As you know, I didn’t know you had one at first. I’m really enjoying it. I’m a long way from home, although still in America and, when I visit here and with Tim Latimer it helps to not be so lonely. Even though I quilt, sew and cook a little bit, taxi my grandchildren where they need to go, it does get a bit lonely sometimes. I’m nearly 3,000 miles from home. It’s very nice to visit with folks who have some of the same interest as I do, sometimes I just get the best laugh. 😄
    Enjoyed the visit,
    Lorij

    • katechiconi says:

      Glad I was able to make you feel a bit more at home! As an emigrant to Australia, I know well how it feels to be very, very far from home and everything familiar…

  17. irmi says:

    It happened today that I switched over to your blog and found your post on blogger friendship. It’s so well done, Kate, full of emotion and love. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts to your readers, I mean it’s not a matter of course to give out ones personal thoughts and feelings. But great! Love your courage and openness.
    Wishing you and your new friends all the best and more pleasant and happy visits and meetings together…

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you very much, Irmi, I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I enjoy your comments on Celi’s blog too, and I’m grateful to her for bringing me and Ella Dee together! Blogging is so much more than a creative outlet, it’s a great way of finding friends who think and feel as you do. I very much enjoy going one step further, too!

      • irmi says:

        Yes, and I admire you for going one step further. You are so right with your thoughts concerning distance and safe insulation. I’m no blogger and Celi’s is the first one I commented (since about April). “Coming out” of one’s thoughts to completely unknown people costs some effort in the beginning. And once the outcoming is mastered it needs a bit of that remote state… – On the other hand it belongs to my character too, I think: Loving to be in contact but otherwise being a bit shy (or ashamed?) and timid where the remote state helps a bit – as Viv said it once – to hide oneself… But why?
        Maybe I’m late, but have a good night and nice dreams, Kate!

  18. EllaDee says:

    It’s been wonderful developing a blogging and real friendship, and Kate and her hubby’s visit was a highlight of our long weekend at TA. I wish we lived closer but hopefully that will come about in good time as well. Neither Kate nor I are “remotely dangerous or (more than average) lunatic” but we do love a chat, and it felt like catching up rather than meeting up for the first, but not the last time 🙂

  19. dayphoto says:

    I have LOVED(!) getting to meet my blogging friends. YAY For you!
    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  20. […] of all, In My Kitchen at Taylors Arm was blogger Kate from talltalesfromchiconia and her hubby who visited us while on a trip down […]

  21. mybrightlife says:

    I am a big EllaDee fan so I have Visiting EllaDee envy now!

    • katechiconi says:

      She has the most wonderful little slice of paradise out there in the country, and an old house which is now quite beautiful after years of work by the G.O. We enjoyed our visit enormously!

Leave a Reply

