The Bookcase Quilt: a short story

It’s short and sweet today.

I haven’t had much time for sewing in the last 3 or 4 days, and what time I’ve had was earmarked for completing my F²F August blocks for Susan so they could go off before we went away. They’re now done and in the mail, and with a couple of hours in hand, I’ve powered on and got another shelf done on the Bookcase Quilt. It’s the one at bottom right. I have the colours sorted for two more.

Book case progress 25-8I’m just over halfway through making blocks; 4 more to go, then I shall make sandwiches of all of them, quilt, cut and sew on the sashing front and back, and then bind it. I shall get it done before Lucy goes back to Sydney if all goes well.

I’ll post while I’m away, but I’m not sure when and on what subject. I’m sure I’ll find something to share with you!

Right, time to go and start packing!  

25 thoughts on “The Bookcase Quilt: a short story

  1. EllaDee says:

    It’s coming together very nicely. Safe travels 🙂

  2. rutigt says:

    I thinl it looks good so far 🙂 This is a brilliant idea for a bookworm!

  3. You have made great progress!
    Have a lovely holiday, REST and forget about us!
    love,
    ViV

  4. Yes, what Viv says! Have a break from everything – that’s the definition of a holiday, surely? Travel safe x

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, I’m really looking forward to it. Family, friends old and new, lots of gossip and good conversation, sleeping, eating, drinking and enjoying a complete change of scene…

  5. Jule says:

    Have some nice ‘couple days off’ and relax. 🙂

  6. This is really coming along beautifully – love the mug on the shelf. Enjoy your time away!

  7. Magpie Sue says:

    Lookin’ good! Have a fun holiday!

  8. Kirsten says:

    Have a lovely trip 🙂

  9. anne54 says:

    The mug and the bowl make your book shelves even more perfect! It is going to be one gorgeous quilt. Hope your trip is going well.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying it – I have a family photo and her owl bookends to add to future shelves! We’ve now arrived at our destination, and look forward to relaxing a bit…

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m glad you like it – I’ll need to work hard on it when I get back so it’s done for when she has to go back to Sydney, but I reckon I’ll get it done in time…

  10. dezertsuz says:

    I do like the way you have the black labels on the books. That is a nice touch I haven’t seen in these quilts before.

Leave a Reply

