ScrapHappy August

After last month’s unimpressive start, I made a point of being ready this time!

I have a lot of long skinny strips in my scrap baskets, bits of leftover binding, trimmings and offcuts. You can’t do much with them – except make a scrappy block. So here it is.  It’s a big one, at 17″ square, and the seams aren’t totally straight, but then, nor were the scraps! It’s not wonky, just a bit crooked, and I’m fine with that! Nor is it a very complicated block, but there are no rules here, and it’s done.

August scrappy blockIt’s up on the design wall next to last month’s hexie block, and already I’m loving the contrast between the stripes and the hexies, and wondering what weird and wonderful idea will emerge next.

Maybe something like the Scrap Vortex quilt being created in brilliant Technicolour by Amanda Jean over at Crazy Mom Quilts…. And then there’s Cath’s version over at Wombat Quilts. She’s gone for low value fabrics, and it’s gorgeous. Whichever version I went with would certainly take care of some of the tinier pieces! It seems everyone is catching the scrappy bug, and it’s such a good thing, because otherwise these treasures sit unloved and unused in a bag or box and never see the light of day.

Linking with

Gun at https://rutigt.wordpress.com (in English and Swedish)

Sue at http://sewingmagpie.blogspot.com

Viv at https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2015/08/08/quilty-progress

Helena at http://www.helenaåhman.se (in Swedish only, but lovely pictures!)

Titti at http://tittisquiltlek.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

If anyone else wants to join us, just drop me or Gun an email or comment on the 14th of next month, so we can add you to the list.

 

 

22 thoughts on “ScrapHappy August

  1. claire93 says:

    wow lovely and bright ^^

  2. rutigt says:

    When I see your block, I almost reach for the knife 🙂 I feel the urge to cut it up in different pieces. Triangles, squares, rectangles. Might have something to do with the scrap vortex I´m working on right now LOL!!!

  3. tialys says:

    Looks a bit like more book spines!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s actually the other way round. I made this before I started the Bookcase Quilt, and thought it looked a bit like books. And that was it, the idea took root!

  4. anne54 says:

    I thought of book spines too! It make a bright and cheery block and is a great way to use all those little scraps that are usually tossed away.

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t throw the scraps out, but there again, I generally don’t do much with them otherwise, so this is a really good exercise! As I said to Tialys, making this block actually triggered the idea for the bookcase!

      • anne54 says:

        Sometimes scraps are just too, well, scrappy, so you have to be quite sure of how you are using them. This block is a great idea.

      • katechiconi says:

        The good thing is that all these scrap blocks are being made without any preconceived ideas or intended use, so they are truly spontaneous. Nothing is discarded because it’s not quite right…

      • anne54 says:

        It is a wonderful feeling to be that free with artistic work — no pressure, no preconceived thoughts. Are you finding that some delicious things are happening?

      • katechiconi says:

        Certainly some unexpected combinations I would perhaps have rejected elsewhere! It’s a strange feeling to let go of the aesthetic sense and just let things happen…

  5. This looks like fun. I haven’t done much with my scraps lately, though I do go through them carefully when I’m looking for bits of a color. I have one big drawer for scraps and it’s generally in stacks by color, or color groups. For example, I have one big bunch in reds, oranges, pinks. Another in blues and greens, another in “lights.” I’ve wondered how I can use them just for fun and have thought of doing color blocks. I could make several red blocks… 🙂

  6. Lynda says:

    Finishing up two ‘have-tos’ and then I’ll be ready for some fun. Thanks for the fun and the links, Kate. I can’t wait to dive in!

    • katechiconi says:

      We’ll be glad to see you, same time next month! Gun and I send each other reminders, and I schedule a post for 15th of the month, which prompts me to actually do something and take a photo. Just let me know a day or so in advance if you’ll be joining us, and I’ll add your link to the list.

  7. A block like this would empty my scrap box. Obviously, I am not sewing enough to generate scraps.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have about 8 boxes to your one, and they’re jammed full. I’m not sufficiently disciplined to deal with scraps as I generate them, so everything is higgledy piggledy and one day, when I have time or enough motivation, I will go through and cut things into usable sizes. One day…

Leave a Reply

