The Bookcase Quilt: shelving begins

Isn’t it fun when you unpack books you haven’t seen for weeks or months after a move, and reacquaint yourself with old friends?

Shelf 1Shelving books is one of my favourite activities, and today, I ‘unpacked’ the first shelf of the Bookcase Quilt, and have begun the process with the second. I’ve also made the final fabric selections for most of the other shelves.

Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 5.04.56 pm Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 5.05.45 pm Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 5.04.40 pm Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 5.05.10 pm Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 5.05.27 pm

 

Penguin Classics

 

 

 

Wonder of wonders, I’ve also found a simple orange print fabric which reads from a distance as Penguin Classic orange, and have retrieved from my stash a cream on cream print which will work with it. I’m still debating whether to make iron-on transfers of classic titles my niece has read to apply to the spines of the row of paperbacks. It will add another layer of detail and realism which I think is going to be needed if the spines are to look like books rather than a row of orange and cream strips, but I’m not going to attempt Penguin logos, quite apart from the copyright issue!

The next shelf is one where the books are both upright and tilted, which is going to make for slightly more complex piecing, but is going to look great. I’m also looking forward to doing the one after that, where there are big, thick books piled in a stack which will have something appliquéd on top as a sort of paperweight.

Finally, a reminder that this coming Saturday is ScrapHappy post day, and Gun and I will be posting this month’s scrap blocks. If anyone has a scrappy block they’d like to celebrate, do join us by emailing or commenting to either me or Gun, and we will add a link to your ScrapHappy post in ours.

 

32 thoughts on “The Bookcase Quilt: shelving begins

  1. Only scrap happy hats here!
    The bookcase quilt is going to look amazing… you’ve very brave to even consider the titles, but I’m not convinced they will be necessary.

    • katechiconi says:

      We might stretch a point and include other things scrappy… If you wanted to join in, that is?
      The titles might not actually be necessary, but I really like that they would totally personalise the quilt for my niece!

  2. EllaDee says:

    Being a lover of books, bookcases, and sticky-beaking people’s shelves I love seeing how you interpret this in a quilt 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m almost, almost wishing for a bit of gold leaf to do some titles on the black spine name plates. But that would truly be several steps too far down the road of obsession!

  3. rutigt says:

    Ah……there´s one thing I had almost forgotten. Thank you for reminding me 🙂 Must write about it on my blog as well!!
    Your bookshelf seems to come along well!

  4. Wonderful. and Yes, I think a few titles on the bookplates would give the whole thing a taste of realism. I’m assembling scrap blocks like mad just now, and really enjoying it.

  5. tialys says:

    I’ve been looking on Pinterest and, depending on how they’ve been done, I do like a lot of the ones that have used titles. You’ve mentioned a paperweight but will you be putting other things on like photo frames, bookends, etc?

    • katechiconi says:

      Definitely a paperweight, definitely a coffee cup, possibly a photo frame (with a photo of the niece in it). Looking at my own bookcases, the clutter’s a bit esoteric: a weather station, a sextant, a candlestick, a pair of walkie-talkies, a travel plug… well, you get the idea. I will definitely be using knicknacks, though.

  6. Debbierose says:

    Amazing,are you ysing a pattern or design it yourself. Either way its lovely

  7. Grannymar says:

    Don’t forget a book mark! The fabric at the end of the top row reminded me of one I made years ago for Elly.

  8. Jule says:

    Someday I will have my own bookcase quilt (hopefully). Yours is coming along great. You could use a length of gift lace for the bookmark or one from an old book if you have the heart and courage to cut it out. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve been thinking since I read Grannymar’s comment – I think it will have to be a book that’s lying down, and the bookmark ‘escapes’ into the edge of the shelf/frame as if it were hanging down… More thought needed, I think…

  9. I look forward to see this one finished !!!

  10. knettycraft says:

    Imagine you would represent your real bookcase in a quilt…. you already have a fabric for your penguin books… It is looking great so far.

  11. You found orange! Ignore my previous comment.

    • katechiconi says:

      Not ignore, gratefully acknowledge help proffered! The Penguins look promising, don’t they, and I’m hoping a double line of stitching between each one will make the individual books pop a bit more. I’m also thinking the background should be quite densely quilted to emphasise the shapes of the books by contrast.

Leave a Reply

