Foot²Freestyle: August progress

The F²F blocks for August have begun to roll out.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pm**Susan, your blocks are starting to go up in the gallery, so it’s time for you to start avoiding it if you want to keep what’s coming a surprise!**

For this month, Susan from Desert Sky Quilts has chosen variations on blue/white and red/white or all three, a classic combination most of us will not have any trouble sourcing from our stashes – I know I won’t! So far, the diversity and originality of the blocks and colour use continues unabated, and I think August is going to be a great month.

Go and check out the gallery; August has kicked off beautifully with blocks already from Annett and Avis.  Why is it so long till my turn….?

13 thoughts on “Foot²Freestyle: August progress

  1. knettycraft says:

    Oh I am so glad I am allowed to spy out all the month’s blocks!!!

  2. anne54 says:

    There are some awesome blocks in the gallery. Can’t wait to see the finished quilts.

    • katechiconi says:

      The finished ones may take a while for some of us; it’s not a massive commitment of time to put together three blocks each month, but to assemble a whole top and then finish it is a bigger undertaking… Also, some of us may be making something other than a quilt. We’ll just have to wait and see!

  3. I must be dim, but I couldn’t find the blocks in the gallery, only some enchanting blogs.

    • katechiconi says:

      The link should take you to the F2F page. If you then scroll all the way down to the end of the page, after all the wordy stuff and before the comments, you should see all the blocks, ending with Annett’s and Avis’ blocks for August. I just tried the link, and it seemed to be OK… Maybe you just didn’t go down quite far enough?

      • Oh thank you, Kate. That’s what I hadn’t done! What a wonderful treat – such subtle colour choices, such complex piecing – just WOWOW.

      • katechiconi says:

        I find it so exciting that such diversity and beauty can come out of such a simple and straightforward idea: here are three colours, do anything you like so long as you end up with a 12.5″ square. Some are simple, some are full of technical fireworks, but the colour story ties them together.

  4. tialys says:

    I’ve made one of Susan’s so far and must do the other two this week as we are off on a week’s holiday at the end of August. I’ve just started sorting out my workroom and the usual ‘domino effect’ means that things are all out of their usual places and there is no clear space anywhere. However, while I can still get to my stash and my machine, there is hope!

Leave a Reply

