Booking a slot

Yet another quilt is jumping the queue on my To Do list, but for the nicest possible reason, so it’s something to celebrate.

My brother’s second daughter is coming to Australia. Originally it was going to be a 3-month visit on a visitor’s visa; she’s doing a yoga-teaching course in Manly, and was going to come and stay with us for a week before it started. Now, she’s getting a working visa, and will stay for a year, which means we’ll see a bit more of her!

As well as her interest in yoga, she’s extremely keen to work in the publishing industry, is a huge reader, and has a book review blog which began when she took on the BBC’s Big Read challenge (which she has almost completed). She travels very light, and will be short of home comforts for quite a long time, so I’m going to make her something homey. A quilt, of course – but not just any sort. She’s getting a book case quilt. In case you’re wondering what that is, take a look here – a great example. There are some lovely ones out there, of all different shapes, sizes, layouts and colours.

bookcase quilt designI’ll be using bright colours, a black background and white sashing for the book case, and it’ll be about 60″ square, a nice snuggling-up size. I’m not linking to her blog, because I want it to be a surprise, but if you want to take a look, the link to her blog is on the left, about halfway down, the one called The Unlikely Bookworm, with the ‘selfie avatar’ in a Geek t-shirt, near the Snail of Happiness.

She’s arriving at the beginning of September, so that’s how long I’ve got to make it. However, it shouldn’t be too taxing, since the whole thing is strip-pieced. I’m debating a few bits of appliqué to add some shelf ornaments/souvenirs/postcards, etc. You know: all that stuff that collects in front of the books on your book cases… The quilting will, as always with me, will be simple, straight lines and mostly invisible. I’m also going to make the whole quilt top from fabric I have on hand, except possibly for the back, which will be kept as simple as possible. I’d like to make it from stash, but may end up buying wideback if I run short of time.

I’m loving the idea that my favourite hobby is about to cross over to embrace hers!

45 thoughts on “Booking a slot

  1. What a brilliant and loving idea!

  2. Superb – right up my readaholic alley! I’m sure she’ll love it.

  3. tialys says:

    What a fantastic quilt this will be and a superb gift. I’ve seen this on your pinterest page haven’t I? Have you been plotting for a while? Another pun opportunity didn’t get by you I see 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      You’ve seen something like it, but I have a folder *full* of them on my desktop. I have indeed been plotting it for a while, and when did you ever know me to post without exercising my right to pun to the fullest?

  4. Magpie Sue says:

    How perfect! And what fun you’ll have. Will you ink titles onto any of the book spines?

  5. claire93 says:

    you do realise you’ve just set yourself another deadline, don’t you ?
    lol
    look forward to seeing this take shape

  6. Carole says:

    What a lovely idea for a quilt. I shall enjoy seeing this one.
    I’ve just had a look at her blog as I’m reading the Big Read books too.

    • katechiconi says:

      Have you saved all your least favourite books for last as well…? I think that’s why she hasn’t finished yet!

      • Carole says:

        I’ve only got two left in the top 100, and it’s more that I’m slightly intimidated by them than anything else. The nine left in the second 100 are mostly kid’s books. I will get around to them all soon though 🙂

  7. dayphoto says:

    What a clever idea! She will be delighted I”m sure!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  8. EllaDee says:

    What lovely news, extra long visit by your niece, a wonderful (very clever, you can never have too many books!) new quilt to work on… oh and maybe just maybe… it might mean we’ll see you here in Sydney for a visit?

  9. knettycraft says:

    Oh it is such a lovely idea Kate. … I just told about it here at home and was answered it should be the next quilt I have to make for our living room…. it is really nice!

    • katechiconi says:

      Lovely idea! I think if anyone else wants to make one, we should have a book case quilt gallery! I think I’m going to do a tutorial for this one, to show how to piece and assemble the book squares.

  10. lucyannluna says:

    I like the book case idea, should be really great

  11. this one will be a KNOCK OUT 🙂

  12. How gorgeous! Lucky niece.

  13. What a great idea, and a fun quilt to make. I’ve thought about putting one together, but it’s still on my “one of these days” list.

    • katechiconi says:

      It looks like a pretty straightforward job (famous last words), so I don’t expect it to eat into my time too much. I think it will end up a fun quilt, and one I’ll be glad to have made because it was a pleasure to work on.

  14. I love your drawing and interpretation of a bookcase quilt.
    Feel free to put her in touch with me if she wants publishing insights. Mind you, my stepdaughter did work experience at my office during high school and then ran screaming to the police force. Can addicts and criminals be easier to work with than authors and graphic designers?

    • katechiconi says:

      She has interned at various publishers in the UK, so I imagine she has quite a clear idea of what goes on, but seems undeterred. Most recently she’s been on a contract, but it hasn’t been renewed as they’re now looking for a different skill set. I hope she finds something when she gets back to the UK – unless she decides her heart lies here, of course: it has been known to happen…

  15. anne54 says:

    It will be such a special quilt for her — one she will treasure, I am sure. You clever thing, knowing that you will be able to whip it up in time. I would love to see a tutorial on making the squares.

    • katechiconi says:

      Then you shall! The nice thing is that you can use up all sorts of small strips of nice fabric to make up the book spines. I’ll hopefully be making a start this afternoon, and will take photos as I go.

  16. rutigt says:

    This is a wonderful idea! What a lovely quilt. My brain started working: who do I know that could like a quilt like that 🙂 Still no answer, but I´m working on it!

    • katechiconi says:

      You get a really interesting result from quite a simple technique, just lots and lots of strips and the occasional triangle. You must have a friend with lots of books who needs a quilt…

  17. Lucy says:

    Oh Aunty Kate I’ve only just seen this! How lovely of you – can’t wait to see you (and the quilt)! xx

    • katechiconi says:

      Ah rats! I was hoping to sneak it under the radar so it would be a surprise! Never mind, I’m glad you like it… Something to read under, sleep under and do yoga and have picnics on…

  18. this is going to be another stunner !!!

  19. Lynda says:

    Kate, I saw your fabric lineup in your latest post and went mining for your design plan… I knew there would be one. This is going to be F.U.N. fun!!! 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I think so! And your comment has prompted me to remember to link back to the original idea when I post sequentially, so people don’t have to go searching – thank you!

      • Lynda says:

        I didn’t mind, Kate. It gave me the opportunity to see all the other wonderful things that I have been missing of late. 🙂

  20. […] has begun on The Unexpected Bookworm’s quilt. Sadly, she’s seen the earlier post and knows what’s in store for her. I’m glad […]

Leave a Reply

