Boxing Clever

A while ago, Lynn of Tialys asked if I’d test a pattern for her.

It was for a rather gorgeous hexagonal sewing box, with a separate lid and sides that dropped open to reveal the contents. So I jumped at it. I made a good start, but then it had to be put aside while all sorts of other things intervened.

Top

Detail of lid band Sides 1 Sides 2 Interior empty Interior filledBut at last I’ve finished it. And it’s fabulous.

For the most part, the pattern and instructions were clear and pretty foolproof. In a couple of places I made silly mistakes, partly due to my own idiocy, and partly because Lynn is so experienced at making these things that she has built-in knowledge of how they go together, and the instructions need a little more detail.

She’s had two of us testing, so hopefully this has produced a definitive set of instructions and a refinement of the pattern. It didn’t require any unusual skills, just the ability to wield a pair of scissors and a pencil, a glue stick and a bottle of fabric glue, and finally, a bit of hand stitching.

The outer fabric is from Amy Butler’s Cameo collection for Westminster Fibers, the design called Josephine’s Bouquet in the dark grey and pink colourway. The lining fabric is an anonymous freebie from a while ago, and there was no selvedge to help me identify it.

So if you fancy one of these lovelies for yourself, hop over to Tialys and take a look in her online shop. She’s told me that if you quote BOXCLEVER, you will receive a $2 discount. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

32 thoughts on “Boxing Clever

  1. EllaDee says:

    What a beautiful result from a test pattern, which up until now those two words had for me simply evoked lines on a late night TV screen!

  2. tialys says:

    What a beautiful job of it you’ve made! Thank you for your very helpful involvement – I know you’ve had a busy and stressful time of it recently so I’m especially grateful for the time you have put in. May I put one of your photographs on a little ‘gallery’ I want to start?

  3. knitnkwilt says:

    And finding those moments of “insider knowledge” is what pattern testing is all about. One of my favorite stories is of a grade school teacher who had her students write the process for making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. To test their process writing she followed directions exactly. The students had fun as they saw what they knew that they didn’t realize they knew, so hadn’t said.

    Great box, BTW.

  4. modflowers says:

    I love the design of the box! For me though all sewing boxes are just too small to be functional – I have several, including one of those wooden ones on legs, but none can contain all the bits and bobs I need to have around me when I’m sewing, apart from taking a bit of hand-sewing away with me.
    I had a look at Lynn’s Tialys blog – really love those little house boxes of hers too.

    • katechiconi says:

      I know exactly what you mean. The virtue of this box is that it’s a lovely way to carry around the small bits and pieces I need for hand sewing projects I take out of the house. It’s surprisingly robust and doesn’t feel at all wobbly and home made, a tribute to Lynn’s design.

  5. rutigt says:

    Beautiful box. My friends has done a box almost like yours, but I don´t think it´s something for me to do 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m very proud of it, but it does take a long time, and I probably won’t make another one very quickly. Another time, it will be a very special gift for someone, I think.

  6. manicmumdays says:

    WOW!! That’s gorgeous Kate! 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m quite impressed with myself, but I can only take the credit for following instructions and a bit of neat hand sewing! The fabric is perfect for this size and shape of box, too.

  7. Ooooh! It looks AMAZING.
    No special skills apart from an ability to wield glue, eh? I could do that, but could I match your amazing fabric choice?

  8. Kirsten says:

    That is beautiful, I love the fabrics!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! knew it was the right fabric as soon as I saw the box pattern – the top was the perfect frame for the repeat – and I was glad to finally find something I wanted to use it for.

  9. Love the fabric, the three centered flowers on top are so nice. I’ve been to Lynn’s Etsy site, am eyeing one there…..or shall I attempt the make….time will tell. Yours is beautiful.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! As soon as I printed out the template for the lid, I knew this was the right fabric for the box. It had been sitting in my stash for nearly a year, waiting for a worthy purpose. My view is that if you buy a ready made box, you have a thing of beauty, but if you buy the pattern, you have the ability to make a thing of beauty for yourself – or several. That said, it’s a time-consuming and often slightly fiddly process, and Lynn is very skilled, so her boxes are very ‘finished’.

  10. what a sweet and handy box !

  11. […] click on this link to go to her Etsy shop. You’ll find the post about my finished box here. It appears the Dowager has been secretly coveting it ever […]

  12. […] dress Laptop cover for me Tablet cover for the Husband Crochet tool kit, tatting tool kits 1 and 2 Octagonal sewing box tested for Tialys, same box made for the Dowager Gerbera bag AHQ laundry bag Striped tuffet Paper pieced tea pot […]

Leave a Reply

