The Gardens of Chiconia 38: An orange sort of day…

A theme is emerging here, people.

Screen Shot 2015-07-18 at 1.02.26 pmFirstly, the Truck Quilt is finished. The quilting is spectacularly ordinary, but it does the job of holding everything together, and boy, is it cosy. I finished stitching down the binding last night, and the Husband will be taking it to work on night shift tonight. I regret not being able to get it done last night, as the temperature went down to 2°C/35°F and was certainly chilly enough to make it very welcome. But at least he’ll be cosy tonight.

And now for the rest of the orange.

Screen Shot 2015-07-18 at 1.00.21 pmScreen Shot 2015-07-18 at 1.01.29 pmI have harvested the last of the mandarins, beating the bloody thieving lorikeets to it. They have gobbled up a lot of them, getting to the fruit before they were fully ripe, and leaving evidence of their marauding on the ground. The fruit smells wonderful, and some of them will be going into a mandarin syrup cake, some will be juiced for the freezer. The remainder will be scoffed pretty quickly.

 

Screen Shot 2015-07-18 at 1.03.02 pmElsewhere, the garden is doing its best, considering it’s winter. The tomatoes are flowering very enthusiastically, but we’re having to move fast to save them from the birds and bugs, and are picking the fruit half ripe to finish off inside. My zucchini have given up in the bout of cold weather we’re having – cold for the tropics, that is. The yellow dendrobium orchid on the palm tree, however, is sending out flower shoots, as are my white and purple phalaenopsis orchids in the sun porch. I have some potting on to do: some of my custard apple seeds have germinated, and the angel trumpet cuttings have long, long roots. Time to give them a pot to play in!

The sun is shining, there’s a fresh, cool breeze, and in Europe, I’d call this a lovely spring day!

37 thoughts on “The Gardens of Chiconia 38: An orange sort of day…

  1. EllaDee says:

    2 to 35 is quite a disparity in night-day temps and a little chilly. Even chillier than here where there is snow on the surrounding ranges.
    Rainbow lorries are cute little buggers until they set their sights on your fruit trees. At least they left you some mandarins. Which if it’s been chilly will be all the sweeter. The quilt looks great, and mandarin syrup cake sounds nice with a cup of hot something 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s only in the low 20s during the day just now, which is about as much as we’re sharing your cold snap.
      We’ve had more fruit off the tree than I feared, and while the early stuff was tart, the latest ones are, as you say, much sweeter. Would you like the recipe for the mandarin syrup cake? I can email it to you, and if I tell you that the Dowager asks for seconds and a portion to take home, I think you’ll get the idea it’s pretty popular round here…

  2. claire93 says:

    a lovely truckers’ quilt Kate ^^ Well done.
    And good th see the lorikeets let you harvest some fruit at least.
    Today we have woken up to rain – it’s wonderful and refreshing lol

  3. tialys says:

    On the other hand, it’s too hot here at night at the moment. I’m sure you wouldn’t consider it to be but we don’t have air conditioning in this old French house. Plus, I don’t have mandarins on my trees – although I do have figs and some plums coming ripe.

    • katechiconi says:

      Ah, figs…. I envy you those, as it’s too humid here for them to do well. We don’t have heating as such, so when it’s cold at night, we just pile quilts and blankets on the bed, and during the day I’m usually beetling around too much to feel cold!

  4. Grannymar says:

    You had a spring day in winter while I saw all four seasons yesterday. I drove to Dublin for a funeral (125 miles) with the low sun at eye level on one side and a rainbow dancind along with me on the other. Ao one stage the road spray from a lorry on my left provided me with a second rainbow.

    The quilt looks great a real guy’s comforter. And yes the cake sounds yummy.

  5. Love the quilt. Such a brilliant idea, too. And Mr Chic will think only of you when he’s cocooned inside it 🙂
    I love citrus, and a mandarin syrup cake sounds too good to be true. But don’t send me the recipe, I’ll never get around to making it. Just send me a hefty slice of the next one you make instead.

  6. knettycraft says:

    Love that cool quilt you made for your husband… and as you know I love orange at all.

  7. rutigt says:

    Lovely quilt! I like the way you saved the pockets. July here in Sweden has been rain, rain, sun, rain, rain, sun and so on 🙂

  8. dezertsuz says:

    I love mandarins. How lucky to have them in your own yard, even with the lorikeets. =) The quilt is wonderful, and that sounds like the weather for it.

    • katechiconi says:

      It was family dinner at our house last night, and I was really happy to be able to give fresh fruit away, as well as have lots left for myself. The quilt got its first use last night, and performed well, so everyone is happy!

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    I have orange envy.

    • katechiconi says:

      They’re an old fashioned variety with lots of pips and deep orange flesh, but the flavour is outstanding and they make magnificent juice. Now my fingers are crossed for the mango blossom. In this cold weather it may not set, and if we get a sea fog or two before it starts warming up, it never will…

  10. that quilt looks great !!!

  11. What a great quilt! Are the boys going to leave little messages or treasures in the pockets for each other?

  12. Linne says:

    Gorgeous quilt! That cake sounds yummy; any chance you will post the recipe? 🙂 And I, too, am orange with envy . . .

  13. dayphoto says:

    I like what Linne said! I’m orange also! The recipe sounds yummy!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  14. pattisj says:

    I’m sure the husband appreciated that warm quilt and all the love that went into it.

  15. […] stitched & quilted, bunk size Aimée for my sister: machine stitched & quilted, lap size Truck Quilt for the Husband: machine stitched & quilted, large lap size Bookcase Quilt for my niece: […]

Leave a Reply

