Five shirts and a rotary cutter…

… look like this after a day of sewing.

Screen Shot 2015-07-11 at 4.17.34 pmThe top of Truck Quilt is pieced. I don’t think I’ve ever put one together so quickly – it’s strangely liberating to be making for an audience whose only priority is warmth and comfort, not design and sewing excellence!  Not that I’ve flung it together exactly, but I gave myself permission not to match seams and for things to be a little wonky. And despite the freedom, it’s actually not bad!

Screen Shot 2015-07-11 at 4.19.02 pmI’ll start the quilt sandwich tomorrow, and if it goes well, I’ll be able to start quilting soon after. The plan is to have it ready to hand stitch the binding when I go to the sewing group on Wednesday morning. And then, when the Husband starts night shift at the end of the week, it’ll be done, and he’ll have a warm and comfortable bunk for his break.

That reminds me. I need to dig out that navy solid for the binding…

41 thoughts on “Five shirts and a rotary cutter…

  1. You’re incredible – and you’ll be sharing their journeys with them now!

  2. It doesn’t look wonky at all, in fact I am highly impressed at the way you have managed to make a coherent design from all the elements. Bravo. Are you feeling more yourself now?

    • katechiconi says:

      Absolutely! I still get tired quickly, but it’s just a matter of pacing myself. The shirts lent themselves to being divided into 12″, 6″ and 4″ squares with minimum waste, hence the design.

  3. I agree with Chica, you are incredible !!!! what are the pockets for ?????

  4. Grannymar says:

    I love that you added in the pocket flaps. It is fantastic already, never mind all the work ahead to complete it. Each stitch a work of love and comfort. Will you name it?

  5. Jen Gardener says:

    Cool pockets! Very creative!

  6. tialys says:

    A very ‘manly’ quilt. Perfect.

  7. manicmumdays says:

    Looks fantastic Kate!

  8. nanacathy2 says:

    I think it is a proper quilt and he will love it.

  9. Kate, that looks great! Aren’t these ‘I wonder what I could do with that’ projects fun? I love the way it turned out, and perfect for the purpose.

    • katechiconi says:

      It was a case of looking at a pile of shirts I’d repaired round the collar, the pockets, under the arms and now finally they were giving way, and having a lightbulb moment about the large square piece in the middle of the back that wasn’t discoloured, frayed, torn or rubbed by his seatbelt! After that, it just snowballed in a very enjoyable way. A word of warning about workshirts though; they’re made from tough, rip-resistant cotton with a very close weave to give high UV protection. I had to sew the whole quilt with a denim needle, and throw out the rotary cutter blade after…

  10. Nanette says:

    Great job, and very timely for warmth and comfort with the super-cold low heading north during the week.

    • katechiconi says:

      As you say – although I’m not sure how low we’ll go up here! I’m thinking I might also give him an old blanket to put under the sheet – the mattress has a crackly plastic cover they have to leave on, and the blanket will help to mute that as well as adding warmth.

  11. EllaDee says:

    Fantastic. I love seeing it pegged on the line so it shows its size. And I too think the pockets look great. It looks like a big abstract shirt collage. So creative… it too would have won a prize at the show 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve just spent the better part of the afternoon quilting, and I rather wish we were having your cold snap… And I also sort of wish I hadn’t had the bright idea about the pockets, because I have to stop and start the quilting to avoid them! Ah well, it does add to the quirkiness of the design even if it is a bit more work..

  12. cas arthur says:

    Hi Kate! Looks good, and I’m sure TH will appreciate it. He comes from crafty lineage…. =) …. I’ve managed to finish the holiday doily, just haven’t managed to update the blog yet…. hmm maybe should do that……BTW, how’s the tatting going? =) Cas x

    • katechiconi says:

      Hi, welcome to Chiconia! I’ve been dipping in and out of your blog from time to time to see if there’s anything new, but I do appreciate you don’t have as much time on your hands as I do! I managed to get my tatting yarn in a irretrievable knot on several occasions. I think the answer is to start working with something thicker, so it’s easier to see what I’m doing and where I’m going wrong. No. 10 crochet yarn it is…

      • cas arthur says:

        I’ve gone mad and cleaned up my craft corner a bit…. and the “holiday doily” has run off and hid itself, argh!!! Never mind, I’m sure I can find *something* to post…. =)

  13. rutigt says:

    Wow, I´m impressed!!! It´s really a great quilt you have created, so nice 🙂

  14. Emmely says:

    I love that you included the pocket flaps.

  15. Nanette says:

    Will the truck…and therefore the quilt….come home with the Mister?…..if so, you could tuck little love notes and treats in the pockets. Just so long as the right husband found them lol

    • katechiconi says:

      No, sadly not. Big Girl has three ‘husbands’, and they all drive her in turn – she’s never off the road for long. The quilt will stay in the truck until it needs a wash, and will then come home to me. I had thought about putting emergency contact info in each pocket, but it was rightly pointed out that no one would think to look in there in the event it was needed. I shall put my makers label on the underside of one of the pocket flaps, though… The Husband of Chiconia already takes more treats to work than is strictly good for him!

  16. Kirsten says:

    I like the little pockets. Are they still usable? If so, perfect place to store a little something for a midnight snack!

  17. dezertsuz says:

    Way cool, Kate!

  18. […] the early days of Big Girl 2, I made the boys a quilt for the truck, assembled from their recycled work shirts. Yesterday, we transferred that, his two matching […]

Leave a Reply

