Not just revvin’ my engine

I haven’t been operating at full horsepower in the past week with the many things on my To Do list.

But at least I’m motoring with the Truck Quilt. It was a slow start, but now I’m winding my way up through the gears.  Sorry, sorry, it’s all this associating with truck drivers, it does something to my metaphors.

Truck Quilt blocksThe quilt is fully cut out, and is being pieced together. Cutting was pretty unexciting: I had to dismember shirts, press and square up the pieces, cut carefully to capture logos and names, and cut even more carefully to ensure I got enough pieces of the right size. That said, I was quite relaxed about cutting because they were just rag bag shirts, and I wasn’t going to destroy some fabric treasure by a careless slip of the rotary cutter. A clear case of ‘measure once, cut… whatever’!

Because the three guys (with the possible exception of the Husband) have never even heard of the Quilt Police, I’m operating on the ‘finished is better than perfect’ principle and they will have a quilt soon instead of perfectly matched seams. Possibly, in fact, by the time the Husband goes back on shift in 4 days’ time. It’s hard to get a good photo, because all the reflective tape reads as either white or grey, but never all white or all grey, so it looks messy.

The backing is a blue and white flannelette sheet I already have, so no piecing needed there. The binding is the only thing exercising my mind – I don’t want to buy fabric to finish it (this is a recycled quilt, after all!), so I either have to fish something suitable out of the stash, or make up a very, very scrappy binding from leftover bits, none of them much more than 6″ long. Soooooo many seams… I think I have some navy solid somewhere!

The Tialys box is making gentle progress. You have to wait for glue to dry at this stage, and it’s strong fabric adhesive that needs a while, so I won’t be finishing that in a tearing hurry. I think I need to invest in some quilter’s binding clips, those clothespegs do the job but they catch on things; the clips are neater.

Now I just have to resist the temptation to start yet another project before these two are done. Beginnings are always easier than endings, for me at any rate.

27 thoughts on “Not just revvin’ my engine

  1. It looks just fine. I don’t believe in UFOs: I try to finish one thing before |I start another – with the exception of hand-sewing is done in the evenings, so days are free for cutting and machine assembly. I’m glad you’re feeling a bit more energetic.
    love,
    ViV

  2. claire93 says:

    be careful or all the truckers will want one ^^

    • katechiconi says:

      Yeah…. I’m getting a bit nervous about that. There are 28 trucks in his work yard. I can’t see myself making one for each! But I wouldn’t mind cranking a few quick and dirty ones out for some fabric money!

  3. tialys says:

    I’m with you Kate. In an ideal world I would finish one thing before starting another but my enthusiasm (and impatience) keep tripping me up. One of the things I like about making the sewing boxes is you can do one stage and put it aside for a while and do something else or assemble another part of it – I sometimes have two on the go at once. I’m glad you are being ‘sensible’ about over doing things but in the meantime ‘Keep On Trucking Baby……..’ sorry, couldn’t resist the flashback to the 70s.

  4. knettycraft says:

    Your qilt is going to be absolutely gorgeous Kate! Such a unique and modern style! Love the colours too.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m not sure about gorgeous, but I’ll settle for useful, comfortable, and a good use of recycled materials! And it’s definitely not girly, so the guys will be happy using it. The colours are from their work shirts, so I had no control over that, but at least I don’t hate the colours!

  5. EllaDee says:

    It’s a brilliant quilt. And I think usability is primary… it’s a great creation but not too precious for relaxed everyday comfort.
    I love ticking off finished projects/jobs… have managed a couple myself this week, and it feels good.
    Enjoy a little R&R as well before hubby goes back on shift 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      You’re exactly right. I wanted not to worry about dirty work clothes and boots in contact with the quilt, I wanted it to add some comfort to night shift, which is pretty comfortless as it is, and I wanted it easy and quick to make. So far, all boxes ticked!

  6. anne54 says:

    What a fantastic idea, Kate. I love it. However, I seem to have been out of the loop (full time working for two weeks) and am wondering how the quilt will be used in the workshop.

    • katechiconi says:

      The Husband is a truck driver, and shares a huge rig with two other drivers. It’s a new one, and has the novelty of a bunk in a sleeper unit behind the seats. This means the guys can actually get a decent short sleep while they’re driving on night shift, and the quilt is to add comfort and a little warmth on cold nights. It will live in the truck, and has the names of each driver, the company and the truck on it. And best of all, it’s made from old work shirts from the three of them, so no money spent!

  7. The important thing is not the quilt or the box, but your health. Glad to hear that you are starting to get back to normal and have a bit more energy.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I turned the corner some time on Tuesday, and it’s all getting easier and less painful. It’s nice not to suddenly run out of steam in the middle of something!

  8. This is looking good. Can you use the backing flannel as the binding? Either cut into strips as a “normal” binding, or just wrapped to the front and turned under? In the old days, THAT would have been normal.

    • katechiconi says:

      I considered this, but the flannel is too soft and a little too loosely woven to make good binding, especially considering the wear it’ll get. I have dug out some good navy homespun which will do the trick. Thanks for the suggestion, though!

  9. Good call on the flannelette backing. One side will be snuggly and the other side will be safe (all that hi-vis reflective tape).

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly! And in an emergency, they can use the quilt as a hazard sign – anyone driving up to *that* in the dark is going to think ‘Whattha…?’ I must do some night time product testing, I think.

  10. Grannymar says:

    Gosh, you are getting on at super quick speed, Kate. Glad you are improving and feeling so much better.

  11. dayphoto says:

    I”m so glad you are starting to feel a little better, Kate!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  12. pattisj says:

    That went quickly! At least your sewing foot is up to speed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

