Tatting Toolkit completed

Here it is, ready and waiting for Auntie M’s birthday at the weekend.

Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 9.19.08 pm

Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 9.20.03 pm Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 9.20.46 pm Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 9.22.07 pmIt’s smaller than the original toolkit, because as I said in my earlier post, the tools are different, and she doesn’t want TV remote control pockets.

So I’ve given her pockets for scissors, crochet hook, tweezers and a spare shuttle, and on the other side, a buttoned pocket for her threaded tatting shuttle and work in progress.

I’ve also given her ribbon ties for folding it up and taking it with her when she goes to her Fibre Arts handwork group each week.

I’m pleased with this one. I like the colours, which helps a lot, it’s small and neat, and was quick and easy to make. I was able to refine some of the detail on this version, with the benefit of hindsight.

I hope she’ll be pleased with it too.

23 thoughts on “Tatting Toolkit completed

  1. claire93 says:

    I love the fabric ^^
    a gorgeous, useful gift. Happy birthday Auntie M.

    • katechiconi says:

      I love it too, but it just didn’t work in any of my projects, so this was a perfect use for it. I also love that I’m able to give her something she really wants and will find useful, rather than the usual ‘desperation gifts’.

  2. That was quick. I’m sure your Aunt will be thrilled.

    • katechiconi says:

      She will, since she’s mentioned several times in a hopeful sort of way that she’d really love something like this… And I’m well overdue some small, quickly finished projects, I feel!

  3. And what a great button too – just right for that fabric

  4. Ooh, how interesting… WordPress has decided my comments need moderating! Honestly I haven’t been naughty.

  5. lucyannluna says:

    That looks really handy. Love the colours

  6. Lucy Mustoe says:

    Just saw the title of this post & thought you were doing your own tattoos now!
    Lx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  7. tialys says:

    How lovely to receive a gift somebody has really given some thought to!

  8. EllaDee says:

    Auntie M.’s gift is gorgeous. I’m sure there’ll be requests for more.

  9. Birthday gift and blue ribbon in quick succession. Auntie M is having a good week!

    • katechiconi says:

      She is indeed, especially as her super-tatter daughter is up from Melbourne with husband and sprogs for a week. Daughter is now getting her own kit, after lavish admiration and hinting at dinner on Sunday…

  10. I bet your aunt was over the moon with this present !!! Soooo pretty !!

  11. rutigt says:

    I like it!!! The fabrics are great and it seams very neat!

  12. […] top Lilac top Black spot dress Laptop cover for me Tablet cover for the Husband Crochet tool kit, tatting tool kits 1 and 2 Octagonal sewing box tested for Tialys, same box made for the Dowager Gerbera bag AHQ […]

Leave a Reply

