Tatting Toolkit

A while ago, I made a sofa-arm tool kit for the Dowager. 

The original tutorial can be found here. I’ve been asked to make another, for a different set of tools. The Husband’s aunt, the Dowager’s sister, is a demon tatter. Tatting (or frivolité, or occhi, depending on your country of origin) is done with fine cotton yarn, and a small shuttle, and is used to make lace. Auntie Marion wins prizes, as does her daughter, who ran away with the tatting ribbon at the Melbourne Show. Here’s an example of her work:

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 8.00.12 am

Now, Auntie Marion wants her own tool kit, still with a spool holder and pincushion, but also with a pocket for the shuttle, another for scissors and a third for a small crochet hook. She doesn’t watch much TV, so no TV remote pockets are needed, and it’ll be an altogether smaller item. She’s also given me a free hand with the fabric I use, and I picked out a lovely Robert Kaufman print of native Australian flowers, with a blending solid for the back and binding. It’s a fabric I bought on impulse years ago and will never use because the scale’s all wrong for my work. It’s her birthday at the end of the month, her daughter, SIL and grandchildren are coming up from Melbourne for the event, and we’re having a big gathering here (I’ve got the biggest dining table in the tribe), so I need to have it ready for then. No pressure… Still, considering the Dowager’s only took a couple of hours, it shouldn’t be too tricky.

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 8.00.50 am

We’re off to the Mackay Show this morning. I can inspect the hanging of my quilt and make sure they’ve put the artist statement up with it (I have my doubts about the impartiality and efficiency of the hanging and judging crew…). I’m also going to look at the preserves, baking, poultry, tatting (Auntie Marion has an entry and should carry off the ribbon) and painting sections.

The Husband is on night shift and will be asleep all afternoon, so I can sew to my heart’s content.

20 thoughts on “Tatting Toolkit

  1. What beautiful work she does! My mother taught herself to tat. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve tried, but my sore hands no longer have the control to do all the small movements needed. My mother was quite good at it too, but Marion is a genius – and we found out today she’d won the blue ribbon!

  2. EllaDee says:

    I love the lacework, and the fabric you have chosen is lovely 🙂
    Lucky Melbournites heading north to your warm weather and dining table!
    Exciting that it’s hanging day. That seemed to come around quick.

  3. claire93 says:

    little did you know when you wrote this . . . that blue runs in the family ^^

  4. hehe… reading your posts in the wrong order… not so dubious about the judges now?

  5. I too am reading posts in the wrong order! This looks like a nice relaxing project after recent stresses.

  6. tialys says:

    Me too – reading in the wrong order I mean. ‘Tatting’ is such a funny word isn’t it? Beautiful work – although the sort of thing, like counted cross stitch, that would have me reaching for the aspirin bottle

    • katechiconi says:

      I didn’t expect to be posting about the quilt, I confess, but the news was too good not to share straight away. I can’t pretend to be all cool and ‘whatever’ about this, I’m afraid!

  7. Kirsten says:

    That tatting is divine! Although I must confess that I kept reading the post title as Tattooing Kit . . . opps!

  8. Magpie Sue says:

    Cheers for Aunt Marion’s blue ribbon! I hope not, but it seems to me that tatting is a dying art here in the USA. Maybe it’s just because I have no contact with those who practice the art. Lovely, lovely work.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think it is a dying art. Like so many other handmade crafts, lacemaking is under valued and under appreciated by most, and I’m fortunate to live as part of a family where tatting and fine crochet are still practiced and appreciated. I feel it’s important to keep these things alive.

  9. Your aunt must have the patience of an angel, her work is just awsome !!

  10. Tatting is frivolité? I love that word. Much of what I do is frivolous.

    • katechiconi says:

      Isn’t it lovely? Much nicer than tatting, which doesn’t sound as pretty as the finished thing generally is! I would *love* to be able to do it, but I think my hands probably aren’t dextrous enough any more…

Leave a Reply

