Blue Ribbons and Huge Grins!

To everyone who encouraged, supported, donated fabric, wrote haiku and put up with me whinging — THANK YOU!

Worldwide Friends has won First Prize in its category and Best Exhibit of Show.

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 1.11.41 pm

I’m totally stoked (if you’re not Australian, this translates as delighted, thrilled, very happy, chuffed and gratified). Can you tell?

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 1.07.19 pm

To all the Worldwide Friends: I couldn’t have done it without you.

Carla, Australia: https://grannymaudsgirl.wordpress.com
Tracey, Australia
Nanette, Australia: http://stitchandsow-homeandgarden.blogspot.com.au
Dale, Australia: https://elladeewords.wordpress.com
Rita, Belgium: https://gwenniesgarden.wordpress.com
Jan, Wales: http://thesnailofhappiness.com
Lynn, France: https://thetialys.wordpress.com
Viv, France: https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com
Gun, Sweden: https://rutigt.wordpress.com
Cath, USA: http://wombatquilts.com
Sue, USA: http://sewingmagpie.blogspot.com.au
Esther, Netherlands: https://ipatchandquilt.wordpress.com
Emmely, Netherlands: https://infectiousstitches.wordpress.com
Jule, Germany: https://jule62.wordpress.com
Annett, Germany: https://knettycraft.wordpress.com
Carole, UK: https://aslightobsessionwithbooks.wordpress.com
Kirsten, UK: http://thepinkrosebakery.com

The most remarkable outcome is that the Judging Team have asked me if I will please attend their next sewing group day on Wednesday next week, bringing the quilt with me to give a talk on how it came to be, how I made it, etc. And would I please like to join them every week after that….?

The Husband thinks it’s hysterically funny that when I first turned the corner and saw the quilt and its ribbons, the first word out of my mouth was a rude one. Not a very, very rude one, but not ladylike, nonetheless!

PS: we’re keeping blue ribbons in the family. Auntie Marion’s tatting took First Prize as well!

 

84 thoughts on “Blue Ribbons and Huge Grins!

  1. EllaDee says:

    Wow… a huge congratulations to you. We all knew WWF and you were prize-winners, so it’s not such a surprise but it is truly wonderful that your talents and efforts have been recognised and rewarded more widely. Well done too to Auntie Marion 🙂

  2. Fantastic! Congratulations on your win!

  3. ordinarygood says:

    “oh Sweeeet”…..another Antipodean saying! This is fantastic, well done to you …..and all the World Wide assistants and to A. Marion. I love that you will get to tell the story behind it too. It was great to see a pic of you with the impressive quilt!

  4. Hip hip whoop whoop hooray!!!
    Hugs
    Esther

  5. Dawn says:

    Your quilt is so totally absolutely bleedin worth it!
    Bathe in all the accolades you wholeheartedly deserve them all.
    Well done Kate.

  6. Anlina says:

    Wow, well done Kate. So nice to have your creativity and hard work recognised. Enjoy the sewing group, sounds right up your ally! I must say I rather like this one too 🙂

  7. claire93 says:

    “wow” is the first word that pops out of my mouth ^^ and “félicitations” is the next! We all knew it was a fabulous quilt but we didn’t know the judges would feel the same way. I’m so happy for you! And I think it’s wonderful that you’ve been invited to talk about it and to join the group! Lots of new friends in the making, I’d say !

  8. tialys says:

    That is just brilliant! Although, all of us who have followed your progress from the beginning and know how hard you have worked on this masterpiece are not as surprised as you are. I know we talked about sewing groups before and you were a little reluctant but, even if you decide you don’t want to attend on a regular basis, it will give you a wonderful opportunity to talk about your process and, who knows, you might find you like it!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s enough to have been asked, I feel. And, as you say, even if I don’t want to go regularly, at least I’ll have had a chance to test the waters. It’s funny, everyone who stopped to look at the quilt spent quite a while reading the story, so everyone’s contribution is becoming well known!

      • I’ll echo what I said in my email:
        Fantastic, Whoo Hoo and Yay with knobs on. You deserve 1st for the beauty you have created, for the perseverance through pain and adversity which beat all shortages of time and materials. Congratulations.
        lots of love
        and leaping about in happiness,
        ViV
        PS Sewing groups are the best fun, companionship, inspiration, gossip, goodies – I could go on and on. I miss mine now that most of the sewers (!) have moved away. Do join them.

      • katechiconi says:

        Well, seeing I’ve been invited it seems rude not to! I must say, it’s been so encouraging that I’ll definitely enter one again next year, but perhaps not such a complicated one, to save wear and tear on *everyone’s* nerves…

  9. Well done and how brilliant to be able to share the story at the sewing group… that should give you another big buzz 🙂

  10. I.N.S.A.N.E.L.Y delighted for you 🙂
    And of course I know what stoked means, it was part of the South African vernacular loooong before it came your way….

  11. manicmumdays says:

    YAAAYYY!!!
    Congratulations Kate!!! 😀

  12. Grannymar says:

    Fantastic News! Congratulations on winning the Best Exhibit of Show and First Prize in its category! My heart went out to you the day you discovered a little cutting error. It was meant to be … to lead you on to the unusual finished edge and the Best in Show. Onward and upward my gal!

  13. Emmely says:

    Wow, congratulations! It makes all your hard work even more special!

  14. knettycraft says:

    CONGRATULATIONS… I’m so happy (with you & for you)… and, yes, “stoked” is a super cool word!!!!!

  15. Nanette says:

    Bonza news, Kate…..there’s another old Aussie super cool word, although I probably should’ve added “sheila” after it, as they often went together:) Bloomin’ marvellous!!
    I said ‘wow’ a lot in my email reply to you, and similar things to Viv…..so will say them again, just so I can see you blushing…..superb craftswomanship, eye for detail, vision, amazing needlework skills, tenacity and perserverance…….all these things and more won you those ribbons. Well done, you deserve it. And jolly good job to Aunt Marion.

  16. Conor Bofin says:

    Brilliant! Well done and well deserved Kate.

  17. Jule says:

    Congratulations! 👏

  18. Congratulations to Wonder Woman and all of your assistants from around the world :-).This was a massive undertaking. In fact, it was a totally crazy idea from the start! You battled through the pain and burned the midnight oil to get it finished and what a sensational result. You deserve all the glory. Feel free to wallow in it for a good while :-). Congratulations to Auntie Marion too. Avis x

    • katechiconi says:

      I am utterly convinced I couldn’t have done it without the encouragement and support of everyone, so I feel the kudos should be shared around fairly! For Auntie Marion, it’s another blue ribbon to add to her collection, but for me, it’s a first!

  19. Massive congratulations to you – it was so very much deserved and is such a unique piece of work!

    • katechiconi says:

      I guess its uniqueness is the reason they want me to tell them about it – it’s a truly collaborative quilt, even if mine were the hands that did all the stitching…

  20. Elizabeth says:

    All the work on the hexies – even on the bike! – certainly paid off! So wonderful that it all was appreciated by those judges, and all who have watched the progress. Congrats!

    • katechiconi says:

      It just goes to show that even these days when modern style and machine piecing and quilting are the norm, respect is still accorded to a hand pieced, hand quilted item. And this quilt would never have happened if all the Friends hadn’t caught fire from the idea and provided resources and encouragement. This ribbon is for all of them too.

  21. Unbelievably wonderful — I couldn’t be happier for you. SO well deserved!

    • katechiconi says:

      And best of all, totally unexpected! I have no illusions about the standard of the quilting, which reflects the state of my hands pretty accurately! I did NOT think it would win a thing!

  22. Barbara says:

    Dear Kate,

    Congratiulations! I followed this quilt from start to finish and admired you for not giving up. It was such a huge project. Whatever comes next may seem small and simple in comparison!

    With love from a proud sister,

    Barbara Xxx.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! It’s been so exciting to get such a lovely surprise today – the whole day has been coloured by the excitement and thrill. I’m happy that the next one I have to make is nice and simple, and will come together quickly!

  23. Kirsten says:

    Whoop, whoop! I’m soooooooooooooooo pleased for you. See, that’s what scepticism gets you . . . blue ribbons! And VIP invites. 🙂

  24. Carole says:

    Brilliant, fantastic news. I’m so very chuffed for you as you put so much work into this. You deserved to win 🙂

  25. Kim says:

    Kate, Best of Show is quite an achievement! Congratulations from Texas. All of your hard work and sore hands paid off. Kudos!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much! It’s been a big surprise, I confess, but a wonderful one. BTW, I tried to reply to your request on Celi’s blog for suggestions about what to do with the leftover rovings, but neither of my two attempts seemed to register. My suggestion is felted wool slippers!

  26. Magpie Sue says:

    I’m so happy for you! And at the same time I’m not surprised. 🙂 O happy, happy day!!!

  27. Eha says:

    Since I do not quilt have not followed your blog. Big mistake methinks 🙂 ! Heaps of congratulations on a beautiful job and all the very best for the future . . .

  28. katechiconi says:

    My dear Eha, it is not necessary to follow – we are all so busy there has to be a limit, but you are very welcome when you do dip in for a visit! Thank you so much for the congratulations, which I now send back out into the ether to be spread and shared amongst all the lovely contributors!

  29. pattisj says:

    I heard it through the farmy grapevine–congratulations!

  30. hurrayyyyyyy !!!!! and CONGRATS !!!!! well deserved !!!!!

  31. Well, congratulations Kate! I’ve enjoyed following the progress of WWF, and so pleased to hear it was so well-received.

    • katechiconi says:

      Even now, I’m still thrilled to bits! There was a little slip tucked into it when I went to collect it yesterday, which was the judging comments. The only adverse thing that was said was that the hand quilting needed refining, which I knew only too well! Sadly, I don’t think my arthritic hands are up to the very fine work any more – at least, not a big job like this.

  32. […] Kate who has just won first prize and a best in show rosette for her beautiful hexagon quilt called ‘Worldwide Friends’ made, in part, using fabric sent to her from her readers and adorned on the back with some Haiku […]

  33. BEST IN SHOW! Yes, I am shouting. That is so exciting. All your hard work and callouses paid off. Hurrah!
    Auntie Marion is a super-star too.

    • katechiconi says:

      … and I’m STILL grinning! Auntie Marion would be stunned if she didn’t win, seeing she’s carried off the ribbon every year since the category started at the Show!

  34. rutigt says:

    Of course you should win!!!! Haven´t seen the other quilts in the show, but I´m convinced your quilt was the greatest 🙂 Now I´m off to my exhibition (and some friends as well)!

  35. Penny says:

    Just catching up reading blogs today. Congratulations on the win. Fantastic. Penny (port macq)

Leave a Reply

