National Sewing Machine Day

I may be a little late with this, being in a different time zone, but today is National Sewing Machine Day.

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 8.39.56 amThe lovely Pat, who is a member of the FootFreestyle team, brought this to my attention, and I thought it was a timely reminder to show our faithful companions a bit of love. A bit of a dusting, perhaps, or a new needle, or if you’re feeling ambitious, how about an oiling and clean all the fluff and lint out of the shuttle race?

How about digging out all those accessories that came with it, which you’ve never used, don’t know how to use, or don’t know what to use for? How about trying some of the fancy stitches, putting in a zipper or making one of those schmantzy buttonholes with the round end? Have you ever sewn on a button with your sewing machine? Do you only quilt straight lines or send quilts out for quilting and have never dropped the feed dogs (or covered them over) and tried FMQ with the darning foot?

These babies work long, long hours with us creating the ‘works of the heart’ we call quilts. They come in for a fair bit of abuse when stitches are wonky, wobbly, bubbly and ragged, but they never go on holiday, get much TLC or are truly appreciated for the marvels they achieve. So let’s hear it for the sewing machine!

Thank you, Janome DC3018, I couldn’t have done it without you…

28 thoughts on “National Sewing Machine Day

  1. EllaDee says:

    I don’t have a sewing machine… I did, an unsolicited gift from my first husband, which I regifted to my aunt 30 years ago! But I appreciate the sentiment and affection for those go-to devices that make our lives more wonderful.
    One of my favourite memories is my Nanna and her treadle machine. I come from a family of sewers, but the gift missed me. My Dad used to do, using the treacle machine, my school sewing assignments!
    Have a great day 🙂

  2. Kim says:

    My Bernina 1031 workhorse is in the boot of the car as I make my way to the farmy. Twelve hours on the road yesterday and about five today and I will be there. No telling what projects C will think up for me and my machine. 🙂 If we have time with the animals, gardening, cooking, etc. I even brought fabric to finish up my blocks. The time got away from me! And some yarn in case the urge to crochet strikes me. Traveling by car allows me to bring so much stuff! My husband was amazed when I asked him to help him to help me load the car and pointed to the piles by the front door. All this, said he? Yep, said I. And it all fit beautifully.

    • katechiconi says:

      Ahhh! I’m soooo envious! You’re going to sleep in the Coupe and eat *that* food, and play with the peerless Tima and listen to the chicks of all nations peeping away in their warm home. Hopefully you’ll have a chance to sew – I’m so looking forward to seeing what everyone comes up with. So far, it’s looking wonderful! And I’m really looking forward to seeing what you and Celi get up to…

    • Ooooh, lucky you. I’m sure we’ll hear more about your visit (and your sewing) from Celie. You might even get to use a bit of my sewing and see some of Jock’s.

      Kate, I’ve just been very kind to my Bernina and given it the treat of a week at the miracle man’s maintenance shop, for a very small sum!

      • katechiconi says:

        Lucky Bernina, and lucky you – sewing machine maintenance is rather expensive here… If Kim had been going a bit later this year, she could have seen some of my sewing too!

  3. manicmumdays says:

    I clean my baby every couple of weeks and she does have a holiday – yearly to the shop for an oil n lube 😉
    Kim – I am green with envy!! Enjoy your time at the farmy!! ❤

  4. Grannymar says:

    I am a Pfaff girl and my little beauty has given twenty three years faithful service … from baby clothes, to wedding outfits, free maching and all other techniques it has more than paid its way! Three little jobs to be tackled later this afternoon. All the perfect excuse to rest after all the walking yesterday! I de-fluff and oil her on a regular basis. All that is missing is a name!

  5. Grannymar says:

    I see there are two days to celebrate the sewing machine: June 13th and September 10th. The latter will be easy to remember since it was the day my parents married!

  6. tialys says:

    I know I don’t give my little Janome enough TLC but I do cover her up at nights with her own specially made cover, shaped like a house.

  7. Thanks, Kate! And what a good idea to use this day to give our faithful companions a little TLC. I know mine would appreciate it.

  8. I did not know about the special day, but I sucked the fluff out of its insides with the dustbuster anyway. Happy coincidence!

  9. rutigt says:

    My Husquarna Viking, Emerald 183, came back some weeks ago from reparation and renovation and is now working fine! I´m so glad I have it. I´ve sewn sooo much on this machine 🙂

  10. I’ve been sewing with the faithful assistance of a very basic Singer made in the early 1960’s. I’ve made such things as lined drapes, a wool suit, stuffed animals — somehow jamming those bulky fabrics under the arm. Last winter my machine even very politely sewed a jeans quilt I made, chugging through thick layers with no more complaint than a few broken needles. But It refused to sew on the decorative edging, so I had to ask a friend with a Husquarna Viking to add that final bit. I haven’t seen that machine in action. Wow. I’m in no danger of affording it, but a girl can dream…

    • katechiconi says:

      Your faithful Singer is probably better made and more durable than most modern machines, and I beg you to nurture it! Having said that, I do enjoy some of the features of my Janome: automatic buttonholes, invisible hemming, feed dogs that drop so I can quilt on it, a few fancy stitches for pretty edgings on things, knot-off, and best of all, speed control, so you can go really, really slowly without fine foot action. It was about AU$600 new, but one of the best investments I’ve ever made. You can spend thousands on a sewing machine. I never will!

Leave a Reply

