A brief interlude for cake

I do feel the world is a nicer place with cake in it. And I’m not that picky about what actually constitutes cake.

Today, I felt the need for something delicious to provide some oomph to my stitching. So I baked. It was a quick and easy one, and with metaphorical crumby face and sticky fingers, I can return to the quilt with a peaceful mind.

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 4.26.26 pmThe pantry was a bit bare of inspiration, but I’d had a large can of red plums sitting at the back for quite a while. I love plum crumble, but this is just as good.

Plum Frangipane Tart.

1 large can of plums in syrup
200g/7oz almond meal
200g/7oz butter, softened
200g/7oz caster sugar
2 large eggs
Good pinch of cinnamon
Enough pastry to line a 20cm/8″ loose base flan tin; I used about 300g/10oz

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 4.27.38 pm

Roll out the pastry, line the flan tin and bake blind for about 20 minutes at 180°C/350°F, or until the edges are golden. Beat together the butter and sugar till pale and fluffy. Add the eggs and blend in thoroughly. Add the almond meal and cinnamon and blend again. You could also mix some flaked almonds through the frangipane for textural interest. Pour this batter into the baked flan case.

Drain the plums, halve and de-stone. Arrange the halves cut side up on top of the frangipane batter. Tap the bottom of the flan tin gently on the bench to settle the slices. Bake in a 180°C/350°F oven for about 40-50 minutes, watching that the top doesn’t colour too quickly. If it does and the frangipane isn’t set yet, cover with a sheet of foil and finish baking. You’ll notice that mine is rather sunburned; I’m sharing my acquired knowledge here!

This is very delicious warm out of the oven with a dollop of cream (mine’s lactose free, and none the worse for that), but I reckon vanilla icecream would make it the food of the gods.

This would also work well with fresh or canned peaches, dried apricots plumped up with boiling water or cherries if you can be bothered to de-stone them, rhubarb, gooseberries, in fact anything a little tart in flavour…

Now, excuse me please, there’s a slice of tart calling my name.

 

 

36 thoughts on “A brief interlude for cake

  1. tialys says:

    A very French recipe! Bon Appetit!

  2. knettycraft says:

    Looks very delicious….

  3. claire93 says:

    lol you’ll never guess what I made yesterday – cherry clafoutis with ground almonds ^^ I thought for a second you’d done the same but I see it’s with plums!

  4. It looked like a pizza as I was scrolling down. Pizza is probably the thing I love more than cake. Actually no, wait, chocolate. I love chocolate then pizza then cake, in that order.

  5. EllaDee says:

    What a wonderful thing to do and eat on a Friday afternoon… especially after all the baking you did earlier in the week but not for eating yourself. I saw it while I was at work and even though I’m not partaking, it brightened me up that you were baking and enjoying. I’m quite tentative about pastry but clafloutis looks similar and like something I could manage.

    • katechiconi says:

      It all arose out of my refusal to throw out food. I had leftover pastry from Tuesday, and I wanted to use it. As well as the plum tart, I made a bacon, egg and mushroom tart with caramelised onion, balsamic vinegar and swiss cheese, and then a vegie version with leftover quinoa, broccoli, carrot, onion, mushroom and a mixture of mozzarella and parmesan. I can’t seem to help myself. I love to cook! You could make the plum tart without the pastry, just pour the batter into a buttered pie dish and plonk the plums on top. Same recipe, quick and easy.

      • EllaDee says:

        That sounds like me. I make lots of crust-less tarts of the savory kind which in my younger days were called Impossible Pie, and frittata.
        I have a bag of almond meal, I think. The plums appealed to me. And I thought of custard with it.

      • katechiconi says:

        Now you’re talking! Go for it!

  6. Yummy – I’ve printed the recipe to do later. Thank you.

    • katechiconi says:

      My pleasure! The Husband confirms that vanilla icecream is indeed the bee’s knees with this, but I thought thick unsweetened cream was pretty nice too, especially with the tart slightly warmed…

  7. Lovely – I have a bowl of loquats sitting on my kitchen counter which are calling out to me to be made into this cake!

    • katechiconi says:

      That sounds divine! It can be made so quickly, and as I said in an earlier comment to Ella Dee, you can just bake it in a buttered pie dish and not bother with pastry, for an even quicker and easier version.

  8. rutigt says:

    Looks good! Me, I just have to leave the almond out. Too allergic to that 🙂
    Gun

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    There’s always time for cake, Kate. I would give up the quilting that seems to rile so many and just make these. I can send you my address….

  10. Emmely says:

    Do you think it would survive shipping to the Netherlands? 😉 Mmmm, now I want to have some cake too!

  11. Grannymar says:

    That cake looks good, but I would have to twiddle the recipe. time to don the thinkng cap.

  12. Kirsten says:

    Yum, yum, that looks delicious!

    • katechiconi says:

      It didn’t last long, always a good sign. This evening, I have been ‘testing’ muffins for the coffee shop: banana, orange & poppyseed and choc chip & orange. Oh, the suffering…. The two orangey ones are lovely, I’ve used a whole confit orange, blitzed down to a pulp, to give the mixture moistness. Hmmm. I might just need to go and test just one more. Just to make sure, you understand…

Leave a Reply

