The Vagabond Eye

Do you ever have days when all sorts of stuff catches your eye, and announces itself as inspiration?

Today, pecking away at WWF, my mind wandered, my eye followed, and the camera trailed not far behind. I ended up taking half an hour out from stitching and just walked around the house taking photos of things which appealed to my eye. I’ve eliminated about 80% of the images as being too messy, complicated, repetitive or just whatever…

Since I really can’t face the idea of posting yet more blue and red hexies until there’s a significant landmark to share, I thought I’d show you what my distraction produced. I think there are about three quilt ideas in there. I’m particularly liking the carved Chinese screen and the book case. I have a niece who keeps a blog about the books she’s reading (called The Unlikely Bookworm) and I’ll be owing her a quilt soon, since her older sister is getting one later this year. I think I see inspiration for a quilt for her in there somewhere.

Anyway, I’ve wasted quite enough time on displacement activity. Back to the torture chamber sewing room for another round of quilting.

28 thoughts on “The Vagabond Eye

  1. Well, I am not sure what WWF stands for. The only thing that comes to mind is World Wrestling Federation. Somehow, I don’t think that’s what you had in mind.

  2. tialys says:

    That Chinese screen looks pretty inspirational to me. Maybe you fancy something a bit simpler though after all those hexies?

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m thinking rectangles and sashing for that one… it’s an interesting repeat pattern. The next quilt I make is definitely going to be simpler, it’s all squares in rugby team colours for a mad fan, and it needs to be completed and in Sydney by 15th October. So I have a while…

  3. I don’t blame you for the distraction – my torture chamber/sewing room is spread all over with papers and files and despair, as I attempt to prepare the annual tax return. This comment is displacement activity, too.

    Your scrap corner: your scraps are enormous compared with mine, most of which are too small to fold! I covet that screen.

    • katechiconi says:

      The scraps are really getting seriously out of control and I’m very aware I need to use them up in some constructive way instead of starting yet another shoebox full. One day I’ll be posting a postage stamp quilt or five made from all my scraps… I have a pair of the Chinese screens, hanging on the wall in the spare room. The screens have sliding sections at the bottom and original brass hinges. I love them!

  4. wow, you have colourful clothes !! but what with the hot and warm weather you have over there you can wear them ! lovely pictures !

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s funny, but those strong, bright colours look quite normal under the brilliant tropical sun. Also, now that my hair is grey and I always have a slight tan, bright colours look much better on me, so I’m taking full advantage!

      • oh yes, bright colours look a lot better under the sun, when we see all the lovely bright coloured houses and all sorts of things on vacation in a sunny country we want that for our home too but once we are back we see it wouldn’t look as nice over here cos we don’t have that brightness you have

  5. Grannymar says:

    I love the Chinese screen, I see it as a grid with different forms of quilting in the spaces…. folded stars, cathedral windows, log cabin and even yo-yos!

    • katechiconi says:

      I love the idea of fabulous ‘Chinese’ colours: lacquer red, sulphur yellow and jade all used together, surrounded by black sashing in that grid pattern. Maybe some fussy cut blocks with flowers in the centre? Perhaps I should take the time to measure and draw it up, and then people can use it if they want to. What do you think?

  6. your own personal sweat shop hahahaha

  7. Kirsten says:

    I love the shelf of little bags – very organised and cute!

    • katechiconi says:

      There’s actually a second row of bags behind the front ones…. But you know, they’re not nearly big enough! I shall have to get some clear plastic boxes for the rest of the scraps…

  8. knettycraft says:

    Obviously there is inspiration everywhere around you… few weeks ago I read a quote by an American philosopher – Mortimer Adler – I read it translated into German and can’t find the original words, but he said one have to be lazy from time to time for the reason to catch new ideas… I think “lazy” could be replaced by “sneaking around with a camera”. 🙂

  9. claire93 says:

    I was thinking the same thing as Gwennie – you have a really colourful selection of clothes in your wardrobe! but yes, climate isn’t quite the same and we only have a relatively short season in which to wear bright and summery outfits.

    • katechiconi says:

      Well, I did choose the most colourful end of the shirt rail… lots of white, pale pink and pale blue shirts isn’t nearly as fun to look at! This lot gets worn all year round; I don’t have that European thing of summer and winter wardrobes!

  10. Magpie Sue says:

    I was also struck by your colorful wardrobe. That’s how I want to dress all the time! You are aware, aren’t you, of the “bookshelf quilts” that are out there? Might not be as simple to make as you’d like but they sure are fun to look at. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I remembered them once I’d seen the bookshelf photo. I think that’s what she’s getting! You can dress this way all the time, but it will be more noticeable there In the softer light than it is here, where everyone is in tropical plumage!

  11. EllaDee says:

    What a wonderful collage. I love that inspiration is all around you in colour and pattern, layed away until it’s required.

    • katechiconi says:

      You’re right, it’s all there, you just need to have the ‘right eyes’ in at the time. And having a nice camera makes all the difference because it makes even casual snaps look so much better!

  12. rutigt says:

    Inspiration are found everywhere! I like to look out from a window and try to find a quiltpattern outside. Sometimes I get inspired, sometimes I don´t 🙂
    Gun

  13. pattisj says:

    It’ll be interesting to see what you come up with for your niece’s quilt design.

Leave a Reply

