Worldwide Friends: running rings round rabbits

A tiny break from hexie-outlining was called for. The lure of the bunnies proved irresistible…

Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 3.18.19 pmScreen Shot 2015-04-30 at 3.18.37 pmI decided it was time to outline the bunnies in the centre panel. The moon got the same treatment, and there’s a banner outline round the name. They’re slightly puffy, which is pleasing — bunnies should be soft and puffy, I feel. Quilting these printed images on their wholecloth background showed me how much trouble I’d made for myself outlining the hexies, with their multiple seams. Another time, I’ll be doing something a lot simpler for a hexie quilt. And I’m starting to be seriously tempted to do a plain wholecloth quilt, perhaps just a small one, but one where the quilting is the point. Just to see if I can, you understand…

There is progress, as you can see. Soon, I’ll be able to start making hexies for the facing. Failing major obstacles and the siren call of the garden, I’ll make the deadline.

I’d have liked to quilt the fillers as well, but there just won’t be time. Maybe I can do it after the show, just for my personal satisfaction.

Time for a new needle. I’ve bent the last one…

24 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: running rings round rabbits

  1. claire93 says:

    don’t start thinking about after the show ^^ keep on quilting FOR the show ^^

  2. The outlined bunnies stand our much better with the slight puffiness. I made an elaborately quilted wholecloth baby quilt,for my great-nephew, and it was one of the nicest things I’ve ever made. The quilting looked like a lace layer on top of the background cloth. So go for it, Kate, you’ll enjoy it.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think you’re right. I keep getting mental images of what I might do. Reckon I’ll start with a large cushion cover, just to see how I go. Don’t have any babies to sew for just now and I’m definitely not taking on a full sized one, so that’s the best option. Do you have a photo of your wholecloth quilt on your blog so I can take a look?

      • I’ve searched everywhere, but can’t find my big album of quilt pictures since the house move, and too many digital ones were lost in the computer crash. I’ll ask my niece if she can send me a pic, but don’t hold your breath: William is 6 now, and the quilt may no longer be in a fit state!

      • katechiconi says:

        Well, it will have been well and thoroughly loved, so perhaps it’s not a surprise…

  3. tialys says:

    You definitely cannot have puffy bunnies but those hexies do sound like a lot of faff. This will be a ‘once in a lifetime’ quilt I expect 😉 I couldn’t possibly countenance a wholecloth quilt – what with my imperfect stitches – but I love the look of them and will content myself with looking at the one you might eventually do.

  4. I like the puffy bunny. I especially the like the way he’s looking over his shoulder to check out how all those hexies are coming along!

  5. Grannymar says:

    Looking well, Kate. I too like the puffy effect for the bunny. When is the deadline for the show?

  6. anne54 says:

    Yes to puffy bunny!

  7. EllaDee says:

    I like the bunny and the moon… the whole effect of the quilt is quite dynamic and tactile.

  8. Oh dear. When you started talking about the lure of bunnies, I started thinking of bunny stew and brussel sprouts. Let’s blame today’s wintry weather for that.

  9. pattisj says:

    I do love those puffy bunnies!

Leave a Reply

