Worldwide Friends: The back’s going forward

Screen Shot 2015-04-13 at 11.03.35 pmJust because I’ve been hacking at the under-growth it doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy with my needle once the sun’s gone down. I’ve got a Show to enter!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You’ve seen the two right hand panels already. I’ve added two more columns, including the haiku section. And clearly, I’ve been unable to resist making more hexies, even if they are giant ones. I had a lot of fun with them, and got them stitched onto the background last night. The borders on the hexie panel are still ‘drafts’ which is why they’re wonky – in case you were wondering if I’d gone a little slapdash here. The haiku panel is stitched together but still needs to be sewn on to the section on the right. Some of you should also recognised fabric contributions, too! I’m actually enjoying the wonkiness and lack of things lining up properly here. The back is a series of columns that don’t match, align or relate to each other in any way, in a truly scrappy back. Given the strict discipline of the front of the quilt, I thought it was time to play a little…

Visualise the whole back surrounded by red hexies. I don’t know yet whether it’ll be a single row, or a row of flowers; it’s going to depend on fabric supplies, time and whether my hands hold up..

Short post this morning, I’ve got a jungle to sort out.

12 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: The back’s going forward

  1. claire93 says:

    oooh you are getting crazy ^^
    make sure you leave yourself enough time to quilting though!

  2. Magpie Sue says:

    I love that the back is going to be so free and easy compared to the regulation of the front. Excited to see the whole back complete!

  3. knettycraft says:

    It is going to be a great quilt’s back!!!!

  4. EllaDee says:

    I love the collage effect of various elements that are complimentary. It’s really interesting to the eye, and like a story of the quilt.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s been fun so far, like an opportunity to play after the repetition and discipline of the hexies. Plus the chance to use the sewing machine is resting my sewing hand, and producing nice quick results!

  5. Kirsten says:

    Ooh, it’s getting there!

    • katechiconi says:

      Slowly but surely. I’ve been doing a spot of embroidery too; I have the Stitch Along post due on Sunday and must have something to show after sitting out for two consecutive episodes!

Leave a Reply

