Jungle tamer

I’m on a roll out there.

Yesterday’s load has been dumped, and a second and bigger one just before lunch. I went out earlyish and held forth with secateurs, loppers and the little electric chainsaw. The trick, I find, is to load the trailer as I go, rather than making a heap and then having to pick it all up again and put it in the trailer.

Screen Shot 2015-04-12 at 4.40.16 pm

Yesterday. I bottled out and called it a day .

Screen Shot 2015-04-13 at 12.40.06 pm

Cleared all the way to the fence at the back. The trunk of the ficus at left marks the fenceline. Now the mandarin can get some air and sunlight.

I found the fence! It seems to be in reasonable condition, no big holes or gaps, which is a relief. I think if I can keep up the momentum, I’ll have that mini jungle tamed by the end of the week!

Screen Shot 2015-04-13 at 12.40.23 pm

Here’s where it all went. Doesn’t look like much, but it was a solid 3 hours of work, and I was glad to stop…

I’m already mentally earmarking areas for planting – ones which are not part of Chookonia. It’s beginning, slowly, to come together.

 Time for a quick nap before I start sewing…

23 thoughts on “Jungle tamer

  1. EllaDee says:

    I was just about to comment on yesterday’s post when I saw you had done MORE!
    I love an overgrown messy garden but sometimes enough is enough. You’ve made great in-roads, and have room for what you choose to plan rather than what’s opportunistically taking up space.
    Do you get ticks in your garden? I ask as I have 3 bites as a result of our Easter Monday gardening efforts… the G.O. got the little buggers off me but I have itchy lumps. Nasty.

    • katechiconi says:

      The area I’ve cleared is just on the edge of the chook area, and will be somewhere for planting rather than chook scratching. I’m thinking a lovely clump of shell ginger and maybe a bird of paradise or two. Further left, beyond the tree, is in the chook yard, so there’s no point planting anything there! I’m loving the tree I’m uncovering, all twined around the trunk with creepers. We do get ticks, but I work out there in boots, long sleeves and long pants on account of the green ants, so I’m fairly safe!

      • EllaDee says:

        We’ve been eyeing off the MIL’s blue ginger and bird of paradise. She assures us we will need to buy nothing… our garden will become an outpost of hers.

    • katechiconi says:

      PS: I’m told the safest way of removing ticks is to smother them with Vaseline so they suffocate. They die, release their jaws and fall off. Any digging out procedure runs a risk of leaving bits in you and a bit of infection…

      • EllaDee says:

        We smothered the ticks with lemon myrtle oil then the G.O. plucked them out… I was covered from head to toe. I’d never had a tick before so didn’t realize… I had a sore inner ear, the side of my face went numb then I felt the lump under my ear, and a second. The next day one came up on my back. The G.O. said the lumps take a couple of weeks to go down. The rose thorns, mozzles & ants were savage too. Gardening isn’t for woosses!

      • katechiconi says:

        It certainly isn’t! If you survive the sharp scratchy bits, the bitey things and the prolonged stooping and bending, you’ll have a place of beauty, but so many people fall over at the first couple of hurdles and thing gardening is too hard. It’s not hard, just demanding!

  2. Ah, the fabled fence! Glad to see it is in tact 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It had reached almost mythical status, but it’s really there, and I don’t need to do a thing to it! Guess the jungle had some use in protecting it from wear and tear….

  3. modflowers says:

    Wow, you’re Autumn cleaning is a bit more intense than my Spring version! Do you get snakes? I must admit, I would be wary of doing any sort of gardening having seen the sort of critters that inhabit the wilderness around my sister’s house! Here the worst I have to cope with is getting the odd slug smeared across my fingers whilst weeding – and that’s bad enough!

    • katechiconi says:

      We do get snakes, but being aware of the potential issue helps to keep you safe. I don’t clear brush or thick undergrowth in shorts and sandals; quite apart from the snakes, there’s spiders and green ants, who can give you a nasty nip. I can console myself with the idea that once it’s cleared I can plant stuff I want there, which I can leave undisturbed because it can look after itself.

  4. You live in such a beautiful place – hard work I know, but clearing up as you go along does indeed help!

  5. impressive. a well-earned nap, I believe.

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    For some reason, I had you living in a desert outback. Glad to see the reality is more leafy. That is despite the gardening headache.
    Best,
    Conor

  7. This is going to GREAT!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s hard work, but is going to be so worth it! We’ve had a downpour this morning which has stopped me getting back out there straight away, but once it’s stopped I’ll be back on track. Soon, I’ll be able to start choosing some plants to go in there. Gingers, strelitzias, helliconias, that sort of thing.

  8. pattisj says:

    Isn’t nice to look around and see that you’ve accomplished something? I was on a roll last week, until my back gave out. It’s better than in the past when I’ve bent over the wrong way.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m stiff and sore in the mornings, but I get a great deal of satisfaction looking at the progress I’ve made, and thinking that it means I’ll be able to instal the chickens soon!

  9. Ah a jungle garden that’s what I like !!! ofcourse you need space for other things as well, I know…

Leave a Reply

