Worldwide Friends: the honour board

The front is complete.

I’ve spent a few peaceful hours adding to the quilt front the names of all the generous contributors who’ve given me fabric, encouragement, poetry and moral support when my enthusiasm flagged. Ladies, thank you! I couldn’t have done it without you.

Not only is it fully stitched together, with all the paper hexies removed except the ones at the outer edge, but the names of my collaborators, co-authors, conspirators, and contributors (ooh look, alliteration, my favourite!) are there, carefully hand-painted on in gold resist ink. In the interests of not ending up with an unattractive clump of names, I’ve spread them out evenly, so they don’t necessarily appear on the fabrics the named one has contributed. But the contributors know which are yours, don’t you?

We’re an international lot:

Australia: Me (QLD), Nanette, Dale and Tracey (NSW), Carla (WA)
France: Lynn and Viv
Belgium: Rita
Sweden: Gun
Germany: Jule and Annett
Netherlands: Emmely and Esther
UK: Jan, Carole, Kirsten
US: Cath and Sue

The most exciting part is the empty design wall, waiting for the back layout. I’m still not entirely sure what’s going to happen there, but I do know it isn’t going to be hand pieced. My right hand, which has borne the brunt of the work over the last few months with all the hand stitching, is starting to complain very loudly in the arthritic thumb and tattered long finger department. So whatever I do in the next couple of weeks, I need to give it a rest. The hand quilting is going to be major trial, and even there, I’m starting to wonder…

I have three months left to finish.  I should just about make it.

32 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: the honour board

  1. knettycraft says:

    Wow… oh Kate, it is so exciting, seing all the names you’ve written on it… isn’t that great 🙂 that so many people from all over the world sent fabric for your quilt (it is a wonderful experience, isn’t it?… I know from postcrossing quilt)… you stay there, look at it … and I suppose it is overwhelming again and again 🙂 … Be careful with your hands!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s lovely to see the names, and remember the excitement of opening an envelope and seeing what you’d all sent! The names don’t show very much from a distance, they somehow integrate themselves into the design, so I wanted to show them properly and acknowledge everyone who has contributed.

  2. EllaDee says:

    Wow, you’ve done so much… it looks great and I see my name… ooh ooh 🙂 Three months sounds quite a while but I know how much work you put in… (not going there again!)

  3. tialys says:

    Aaah! My first honour board. There was one at school but you only got to be on that if you were Head Girl. Give those hands a rest or, better still, get a good manicure that involves a hand and arm massage.

  4. Felicitations. This is so exciting seeing all the names. Thank you for the honour you do us.

    Please look after your hands. Perhaps hand quilting is a bridge too far?
    Love,
    ViV

    • katechiconi says:

      I think it has to be done, but perhaps at a sensible pace, and more lightly than I had originally planned. As for including you all, there’s no question. I couldn’t have got this far without everyone else!

  5. Kirsten says:

    Ooh, I can’t wait to see it in all its finished glory 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve cut some pieces for the back, and have done the haiku lettering on the small poem pieces, but I’ve spent most of the day looking at all the bits on the design wall, moving them around and then taking them down because I’m not happy. More ironing and cutting tomorrow. A plan is beginning to form…

  6. Grannymar says:

    Well done Kate! I would eat it first, though I have spent hours on little 3D items from my head. I look forward to seeing the completed Needle Art!

  7. Looking great! Take care of those hands.

  8. It’s wonderful – everything about it is so exciting. Maybe we should get all the world leaders to sit down together at a big table and make a quilt – that should sort the world out 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      Great idea, but you know they’d be arguing about colour and design. Still I suppose it’s better than international borders, religion and world domination!

  9. Magpie Sue says:

    Frankly, I don’t know how you can expect to get it hand quilted and bound in three month’s time. But if you become obsessive with your hand quilting the way I do with needlepoint I guess it could be done!

    • katechiconi says:

      I think I’m going to severely limit the quilting. This isn’t for a bed, so doesn’t need to be too robust, I just need to keep the layers together. I probably need to sit down and estimate realistically how much time I can devote to it, and then break that down into hours a day and see what can be done with that.

  10. Magpie Sue says:

    Meant to say that I think the names in gold look great. I bet they do blend in wonderfully across the surface of the quilt. Well done!

  11. Carole says:

    How exciting to see all the names there 🙂

    Careful with your hands. I know what it’s like when the thumbs start going but you want to keep on stitching.

  12. I missed the boat on this one unfortunately. It is such a fabulous labour of love. Thanks to all of the lovely people who contributed. Isn’t the world wide web wonderful?

    • katechiconi says:

      This one has been such fun, I don’t think it’ll be my last collaborative effort. Maybe next time? The www has made so many good things possible as well as the bad stuff, and has given us all access to each other’s creativity and inspiration. What would we do without it now?

  13. Emmely says:

    Exciting to see my name on a quilt! Good luck with the quilting!

  14. rutigt says:

    Such a good work! What a “friendly” quilt 🙂 Hope your hands aren´t too worn out.
    Gun

  15. Love these pictures!!! Thank you for sharing !
    I feel honored to be mentioned on your art piece!
    Esther

Leave a Reply

