Worldwide Friends: the Posse speaks!

I said last time that I didn’t promise to act on your thoughts about the rectangularity of WWF…

But your voices have been so clear and emphatic in favour of leaving it the way it is that that’s what I’m going to do! WWF is staying landscape and rectangular. I’m really enjoying this participative form of creativity, and the blog makes a great forum for airing thoughts and ideas and getting informed, engaged and knowledgeable feedback. It’s not so much design by committee as raising a child by community.

Screen Shot 2015-04-01 at 6.59.39 am

The top left corner has been stitched together since this shot. I’ll have the whole top strip done by the end of the week, and can then assemble all the pieces into a whole piece to be measured and then taken down to make room for the back.

So, wide and proud it is. Have you had a zoom-in yet to find your fabrics? So many, so different, but they all play happily together.

19 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: the Posse speaks!

  1. Kim says:

    I think wide is good, like a beautiful, wide landscape painting. I have a large, wide landscape painting above our bed which looks very pretty. It belonged to my husband’s father. A possible idea for this quilt’s ultimate home. Variety is good. To be honest, I haven’t made that many wider quilts, but they are always a treat. In fact, there is one hanging in the closet waiting to be quilted, a Christmas theme. Now that I have sold my longarm, I will have to decide how to quilt it. Maybe by hand! I came across a hexi die cut at school that I forgot we had. It has several different sizes on the same block. It started my mind to thinkin’. 🙂 Happy Stitching!

    • katechiconi says:

      Our own bed has quite a lot of our art collection hanging above it, which I wouldn’t want to move, but the spare room – which is incidentally called the blue room for the obvious reason – has a large space only occupied by a medium sized print, which is easily moved. I had been considering hanging some antique wooden Chinese window screens there, but I think WWF would look a lot better! It’s definitely going to be hand quilted, in a hoop. I have a Flynn quilting frame sitting in pieces in a cupboard, waiting for me to have the time to assemble and test it, but as it’s 2 metres/78 inches wide, it’s not something to be pulled out and loaded lightly! Plus a hoop lets me sit with the Husband in the evening while he watches TV, whereas the frame has to be used upstairs in my sewing room. As for hexies, you go, girl. It’s the ultimate portable….

  2. Grannymar says:

    It will be unique!

  3. tialys says:

    The spare room might be the ideal place to hang Worldwide Friends in case any of us ever come to visit and need to sleep over! 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      If any of you come to visit, I should sincerely hope you’re planning to stay at least one night! We’d hardly scratch the surface of what we have to talk about otherwise…

  4. EllaDee says:

    I love the community input, both on WWF and just about any thoughts we come up with… other perspectives are always welcome it seems in our blog world. Imagine if we could unleash that power on the real world!

  5. Ginormous bunnies! No zooming required! 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I am secretly (whoops, not so secret any more) debating giving them fluffy white tails… The carp will feature prominently on the back. And the fan and dragonfly fabrics are everywhere!

  6. Kirsten says:

    To be honest I think you could turn this portrait and it will still work / look as it should!

  7. Moon on his back, wind in his lap….

  8. it is perfect as it is !

Leave a Reply

