Two years

Today is my wedding anniversary.

A beautiful clear pool with rock waterfall, fringed by palm trees, and a gentle breeze blowing off the ocean in the background. There was a kookaburra taking a bath, but I didn't manage to capture him.

A beautiful clear pool with rock waterfall, fringed by palm trees, and a gentle breeze blowing off the ocean in the background. There was a kookaburra taking a bath, but I didn’t manage to capture him.

Two wonderful years. Small change by comparison with some, but still, I’m somewhere I never thought I’d be, having married so late in life. I am very fortunate; I have a grand life and no regrets.

Tonight, we’re going out for dinner to this beautiful place. It’s where we got married, and has become our go-to place for celebrations.

I hope your day is as lovely as mine is!

47 thoughts on “Two years

  1. . What a lovely celebrating place. Many congratulations.
    love,
    ViV x

  2. Have a wonderful time – always! Love to you both ❤ ❤

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much! You know I get a lot of enjoyment out of life in the normal course of things, but today is just a great excuse to go out, have a lovely meal and have a bit of extra fun!

  3. Many congratulations to you both – the best things in life are very much worth waiting for x

  4. ordinarygood says:

    Enjoy your special day – that location looks very inviting.

  5. knettycraft says:

    🙂 I wish you and your husband a wonderful day. Congratulations. XX

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you very much! He’s at work, I’m stitching the last hexies for the front of WWF, but this evening is time to celebrate and look back over the fun things we’ve done over the past year.

  6. Congratulations and wishing you both a lovely, lovely day. It’s not the length of time that matters, but what you mean to each other, and your life together. And what a beautiful location for a celebration.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I had a very, very long wait to find the Husband, but now I have him, I appreciate him every day. An anniversary is just an excuse to go out for a lovely meal….

  7. EllaDee says:

    Congratulations 🙂 Your happiness comes through not just in today’s post but every day. It’s one of the many things I enjoy.
    Have a wonderful day today celebrating, and always.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have, I do, I shall! Thank you so much for the good wishes. It’s funny, people warned me there might be trouble ahead in our late marriage due to both of us being set in our ways. Nah. We’ve both learned the value of discussion, compromise and the joy of having someone else to put first!

  8. Michele Shea says:

    Happy Anniversary Kate,
    Have a wonderful day – looks like a beautiful spot for a celebration.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much. I’m crossing my fingers that the rain we need so much will hold off just long enough for our celebratory dinner to enjoy that lovely view out of the window!

  9. Magpie Sue says:

    Aw, congratulations! That is a beautiful spot in which to get married and then celebrate anniversaries. We just had our 31st anniversary. :- )

  10. tialys says:

    Two years! You’re practically still on honeymoon. I hope you had a wonderful evening and wish you many more years of happiness ahead.

  11. Sandi kirk says:

    What a beautiful setting for your ‘special place’. Enjoy being together forever. Xx

    • katechiconi says:

      The first two years bode well for the rest! It’s a very pretty place at night, too. They have the pool lit, fairy lights around the place and lights in the palm trees!

  12. Happy anniversary to you both. May your happiness strengthen and grow 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I’m constantly delighted and encouraged by how kind and lovely bloggers are to each other – with a few notable exceptions, of course – and today has been a case in point.

  13. Kirsten says:

    Happy Anniversary to you both! x

    That pool looks idyllic 🙂

  14. dayphoto says:

    Sorry about that please delete. I just wanted to wish you most happiness and a wonderful anniversary. (I was copying her idea so I could save it…sorry)

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    https://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/sherlock-boomer

  15. rutigt says:

    Happy Anniverary! It´s nice to be married, isn´t it 🙂 I also married late in life, but now we been married for 16 years and I´m still happy 🙂
    Gun

  16. Emmely says:

    Congratulations! To many more great years together!

  17. Congratulations !! Have fun !

  18. Congratulations on two years. May there be many more!
    Your ‘married late’ comment made me think of my Gran’s panic when I was unmarried and not reproducing by 30. One day I will tell you that funny story.

    • katechiconi says:

      Amen! My family lost hope when I got past 27 without a whisper of matrimony. All the others did the deed at 27, so the pressure was well and truly on. Getting to 50 confirmed my eccentric spinster aunt status, so I blew them all out of the water when we got married 2 years ago after a distinctly whirlwind and mostly long distance courtship! And you can tell me the story in June if all goes well!

  19. What a lucky guy to have you as his wife!

    At 18 I married the boy I’d been dating since I was 14. We’re still together. There were plenty of rough spots but I swear part of our motivation to get through them was simply to continue disproving detractors who assured us it would never last.

    • katechiconi says:

      We had a similar reaction when we decided in the space of about 6 weeks that we were getting married, having not met in person before that time. The doomsayers were in full voice, I was assured that I was too set in my ways, and we should wait at least a year to see how it all panned out. We looked at each other and said “blow that” (which isn’t as rude in Australian as it is in US English) and went ahead anyway. I consider us to be very fortunate to have found each other finally…

  20. pattisj says:

    Sorry I’m late–Happy Anniversary!

  21. Jen Gardener says:

    Happy Anniversary Kate!

Leave a Reply

