The kindness of strangers

There’s nothing like a quilt to shrink the world and bring strangers together.

Some of the lovely people who’ve sent me fabrics for Worldwide Friends have sent still more when I mentioned that I was going to need some more in order to finish the front. I had imagined simply buying some more indigoes from my LQS, but no, I had offers to send more, treasures picked out from personal stashes all over the place. A hand held out, and help freely given. You’ve got to love the quilting fraternity – or perhaps I mean sorority? I don’t want to seem sexist, I know there are many, many talented male quilters out there, I follow some of their blogs, but all the help and kindness I have received has been at the hands of women.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 11.12.21 pmThe front of Worldwide Friends is in the home stretch. Today I received a second envelope from the kind and talented Jule, who has not one but two blogs to manage and write for, as well as all the beautiful handwork and photography she produces. Go and take a look at From the Boudoir and the UFO Garage & Fabric Depot, the two blogs I follow. She’s sent me some extremely beautiful indigoes, and rather than just show pieces of fabric, I’ve held off until I had made hexie flowers from them, just for something different. Thanks to the help of these and an earlier second donation from Viv, the final piece of the front is going to be as interesting and varied as the other parts.

A week should see the front done. Then I must piece the back, sandwich everything, and finally, hand quilt. WWF is not going to be bound but faced, with a strip of hexies around the outer edge of the back, stitched edge to edge with the outer hexies of the front. I’m putting in a totally concealed rod pocket, hidden between the layers, with only slots in the outer edge of the quilt to show it’s there. The quilting needs to hold it in place without seeming to to do so, and some sleight of hand is going to be needed there.

It’s all new, unknown territory, and I really wish I wasn’t testing myself on an exhibition quilt, but there you go. Quilters do these things to themselves…

8 thoughts on “The kindness of strangers

  1. I’m so glad you’ve enough fabric to finish. As for your plans for that finishing, the word masochist comes to mind!
    love,
    ViV

  2. Jule says:

    Wow, you’re quick! I love how you arranged the hexies in the one on the bottom left. 🙂

  3. EllaDee says:

    They are lovely – your benfactors, the fabric and the hexies 🙂
    The kimono lady was at the markets last weekend but didn’t have any baggies of offcuts 😦

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m still thinking about what I can do with the contents of the last bag; something is emerging, but I’m so one-track at the moment that I can’t give it any time. When I do, you’ll be the first to know, and probably the beneficiary!

  4. Check out my friend Phil’s blog for facing ideas. How she tackled the scallops would work for hexies too, I think: http://pippaquilt.blogspot.com.au/2015/02/dear-jane-scallops-3.html.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s a really good description, and I’ll keep a note of it – works much better than the rather unsuccessful binding I did last time on a scalloped quilt. However, on WWF I’m just going to use hexies for the facing too, so they should match up perfectly and I can whipstitch them together.

Leave a Reply

