AHQ: answering the call

Many of you know that from time to time, I make quilts and laundry bags for Aussie Hero Quilts and Laundry Bags, which go to our Australian service people, letting them know that people back home are thinking of them and appreciating the work they do on our behalf.

Yesterday, I got this email from AHQ’s founder (email quoted with her permission) with an urgent call to action:

Hi all

Just a quick request. I am wanting to increase the number of Fallen Warrior Quilts we have, preferably in time for ANZAC Day. No definite plans but I know that many of the families of the 41 fallen will be together this year and there is a lot of appreciation for our Fallen Warrior Quilts and I know that some of the families who have not received one (because their loved one died before we were formed) would dearly love to. We do not have much time and there is so much on but if you have time to make a few poppy blocks and send them to ME, not Caroline, that would be great.  You just never know what we might be capable of if we try.

The tutorial for the block is here:

 http://aussieheroquilts.blogspot.com.au/2014/11/november-bom-poppy-block.html

And the postal address is in my signature block below.
Anything you can do would be great.

 Cheers

Jan-Maree

 Jan-Maree Ball
Founder Aussie Hero Quilts (and Laundry Bags)
PO Box 248, Cherrybrook, NSW, 2126
Mobile 0422227019
Email: friendsofAHQ@gmail.com
www.aussieheroquilts.blogspot.com.au

image001

 Screen Shot 2015-03-10 at 7.56.07 pm

I’m making three of the poppy blocks explained in the tutorial.

Jan-Maree will collect blocks made by many, many AHQ contributors and have them assembled into commemorative quilts for the families of the fallen in time for presentation on ANZAC Day on 25 April. These quilts are always treasured and are an important way of showing appreciation and respect and support for the families left behind.

If any of you quilters out there feel able to join in, and  have time to make a very simple block or two in the next week or so, the tutorial and the address to send them to are right there. Even if you miss the deadline for ANZAC day, the blocks will be kept and used for the next Fallen Warrior quilt, so your efforts will not be wasted.

Go on, get involved and give the families left behind a poppy for remembrance…

18 thoughts on “AHQ: answering the call

  1. Nanette says:

    I got this ‘shout out’ email too and have my fabrics out ready to go. I usually make a pile of the monthly BOM to send off …..an easily manageable contribution. Are your reds left over from WWF?

    • katechiconi says:

      No, not from WWF, they’re from three other quilts! I have almost no red left from WWF apart from one large-ish piece from The Snail of Happiness, which I’m saving for the back – it’s almost as if everyone knew exactly how much I’d need. Love your latest post, btw, but Blogger’s still not letting me comment!

  2. Nanette says:

    Do you need any more red, if so, you can have a rummage on Monday. I’ve seen your footprints on my blog, so I know you’ve been 🙂 Blogger is a bugger!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d have loved to, but I’m literally going to have nowhere to put it! I want to feature a bit more red on the back and less dark blue, just for a completely different feel. Meanwhile, back to the poppies!

  3. Kim says:

    I would love to make some to send. Don’t know how long the post would take to get there, but I will get them sent before the end of the week. Thanks for posting this, Kate.

  4. Nanette says:

    I can’t think of anything…if you haven’t already gone…..light, pinks would be all, not sure if they’re you’re sort of colors? Not to worry this time, I’m sure one day there’ll be something 🙂

  5. tialys says:

    I might make a couple if I have the right colours in my stash – I’m sure I will. What size did you cut the green background squares? The AHQ website says 2 inches but the Craftsy download said 1.75 inches.

    • katechiconi says:

      I cut them to 2″ square. The AHQ version makes them look a bit more like poppies, I think, with more green background showing. Once cut, the blocks take about 15 minutes to put together, including stitching down the black centre with satin stitch. I posted my three this morning. The only thing to bear in mind is that they prefer fabric which is a bit less floral or girly, since most quilts commemorate male service people.

  6. Kirsten says:

    Such a lovely idea, I hadn’t heard of it before.

    • katechiconi says:

      AHQ is a great organisation, and these Fallen Warrior quilts are a wonderful way for the families to be reminded that their warrior’s sacrifice was not forgotten or taken for granted. The poppy blocks are quick and easy, and it’s a good way to contribute when you don’t have time for a whole quilt.

  7. I just included an article about this in the local WAQA newsletter. I hope it increases interest.

Leave a Reply

